Hurricane Experts at the University of Delaware

Article ID: 580063

Released: 26-Aug-2011 4:10 PM EDT

Source Newsroom: University of Delaware

Dan Bautista, Director, Lasher Laboratory, Georgetown CampusTopics: Emergency poultry disease response, testing for poultry integratorsWebsite: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/Bautista/Bautista.htmlEmail: bautista@udel.edu

Stefanie Baxter, Geologist/Research Associate, Delaware Geological SurveyTopics: FloodingWebsites: http://www.dgs.udel.edu/profile/stefanie-j-baxterhttp://www.dgs.udel.edu/Email: steff@udel.eduPhone: 302-831-1576

Bill Brown, Extension Poultry AgentTopics: Damage to poultry houses, emergency poultry responseWebsite: http://www.rec.udel.edu/poultryextension/index.htmlEmail: brown@udel.edu

Wendy Carey, Coastal Processes/Hazards Specialist, Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service Topics: Rip currents, beach erosion, hazard mitigation and preparednessWebsite: http://www.deseagrant.org/wendy-careyEmail: wcarey@udel.edu

Amy Lynn Cowperthwait, Resource Simulation Center Coordinator, School of NursingTopic: Emergency NursingPhone: 302-831-4162Email: cowper@udel.edu

Christina Basin Critical Zone ObservatoryUD and Stroud Water Center scientists will be collecting water quality and climate change data from Hurricane Irene. See attached media advisory.Shreeram Inamdar, Associate Professor, Plant & Soil SciencesWebsites: http://udel.edu/~inamdar/http://www.udel.edu/czo/Phone: 302-831-8877Email: inamdar@udel.edu

Rachel Davidson, Associate Prof., Civil & Environmental EngineeringTopics: Risk management/decision making -- hurricane evacuation/sheltersWebsite: http://www.udel.edu/udaily/2009/sep/disaster091708.htmlEmail: rdavidso@udel.edu

Mark Isaacs, Director, Carvel Research and Education CenterTopics: agriculture, Georgetown responseWebsite: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/Isaacs/Isaacs.html

Email: isaacs@udel.edu

Gordon Johnson, Extension Specialist, Fruit and VegetablesTopics: Damage/effect on agronomic crops, farmsWebsite: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/GordonJohnson/GJohnson.html

Email: gcjohn@udel.edu

Jim Kendra, Director, Disaster Research CenterTopics: Disaster planning; coastal hazards; risk perception/communicationWebsite: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/326519578-James_Kendrahttp://www.udel.edu/DRC/

Email: jmkendra@udel.edu

Dan Leathers, State Climatologist; Co-Director, Delaware Environmental Observing System (DEOS)Topics: Emergency management, resource monitoringWebsites: http://www.udel.edu/leathers/leathers_pagea.htmhttp://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327195721-Daniel_J_LeathersEmail: leathers@udel.edu

Sue McNeil, Director, University Transportation CenterTopics: Transportation IssuesWebsites: http://www.ce.udel.edu/faculty/mcneil.htmlhttp://www.udel.edu/DRC/aboutus/bios/McNeil.htmlEmail: smcneil@udel.edu Phone: 302-831-6578

Kelvin Ramsey, Scientist/Geologist, Delaware Geological SurveyTopics: Historic hurricanes; geologic effects of hurricanes Website: http://www.dgs.udel.edu/profile/kelvin-w-ramseyPhone: 302-831-3586Email: kwramsey@udel.edu

Ilka Riddle, Project Director, Center for Disabilities StudiesTopics: Disaster preparedness for people with developmental impairments Website: http://www.udel.edu/udaily/2011/sep/forum-disaster-vulnerable090110.htmlPhone: 302-831-8186Email: ikriddle@udel.edu

Tripp Shenton, Professor and Chair, Civil & Environmental EngineeringTopics: Engineering hurricane-resistant housingWebsite: http://www.ce.udel.edu/directories/profiles/shenton.htmlPhone: 302-831-2447Email: shenton@udel.edu

Art Trembanis, Professor of Geological SciencesTopics: Storm impacts on coast and short- and long-term recovery along Mid-Atlantic, especially Delmarva. Will be doing pre- and post-storm aerial surveys of coast. Has studied nor'easters and tropical storms along East and Gulf coasts. Websites: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/326602474-Arthur_C_Trembanishttp://www.geology.udel.edu/cshel/Email: art@udel.edu

Tricia Wachtendorf, Assoc. Director, Disaster Research CenterTopics: Social behavior in disasters; coordination among organizations; Lessons from Hurricane Katrina; hurricane evacuation/sheltersWebsite: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327235663-Tricia_WachtendorfEmail: twachten@udel.edu

Carissa Wickens, Equine Extension SpecialistTopic: Equine emergency preparednessWebsite: http://ag.udel.edu/anfs/faculty/Wickens.htmEmail: cwickens@udel.edu

Richard Wool, Professor of Chemical Engineering Topics: Engineering hurricane-resistant housingWebsites: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327241381-Richard_P_Woolhttp://www.che.udel.edu/research_groups/wool/index.htmlhttp://www.udel.edu/researchmagazine/issue/vol2_no2_security/advanced_roofing.htmlEmail: wool@udel.edu


Comment/Share





Chat now!