Hurricane Experts at the University of Delaware

Released: 26-Aug-2011 4:10 PM EDT
Source Newsroom: University of Delaware
Expert Available
Contact Information

Available for logged-in reporters only

Dan Bautista, Director, Lasher Laboratory, Georgetown Campus
Topics: Emergency poultry disease response, testing for poultry integrators
Website: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/Bautista/Bautista.html
Email: bautista@udel.edu

Stefanie Baxter, Geologist/Research Associate, Delaware Geological Survey
Topics: Flooding
Websites: http://www.dgs.udel.edu/profile/stefanie-j-baxter
http://www.dgs.udel.edu/
Email: steff@udel.edu
Phone: 302-831-1576

Bill Brown, Extension Poultry Agent
Topics: Damage to poultry houses, emergency poultry response
Website: http://www.rec.udel.edu/poultryextension/index.html
Email: brown@udel.edu

Wendy Carey, Coastal Processes/Hazards Specialist, Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service
Topics: Rip currents, beach erosion, hazard mitigation and preparedness
Website: http://www.deseagrant.org/wendy-carey
Email: wcarey@udel.edu

Amy Lynn Cowperthwait, Resource Simulation Center Coordinator, School of Nursing
Topic: Emergency Nursing
Phone: 302-831-4162
Email: cowper@udel.edu

Christina Basin Critical Zone Observatory
UD and Stroud Water Center scientists will be collecting water quality and climate change data from Hurricane Irene. See attached media advisory.
Shreeram Inamdar, Associate Professor, Plant & Soil Sciences
Websites: http://udel.edu/~inamdar/
http://www.udel.edu/czo/
Phone: 302-831-8877
Email: inamdar@udel.edu

Rachel Davidson, Associate Prof., Civil & Environmental Engineering
Topics: Risk management/decision making -- hurricane evacuation/shelters
Website: http://www.udel.edu/udaily/2009/sep/disaster091708.html
Email: rdavidso@udel.edu

Mark Isaacs, Director, Carvel Research and Education Center
Topics: agriculture, Georgetown response
Website: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/Isaacs/Isaacs.html

Email: isaacs@udel.edu

Gordon Johnson, Extension Specialist, Fruit and Vegetables
Topics: Damage/effect on agronomic crops, farms
Website: http://ag.udel.edu/rec/Staff/GordonJohnson/GJohnson.html

Email: gcjohn@udel.edu

Jim Kendra, Director, Disaster Research Center
Topics: Disaster planning; coastal hazards; risk perception/communication
Website: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/326519578-James_Kendra
http://www.udel.edu/DRC/

Email: jmkendra@udel.edu

Dan Leathers, State Climatologist; Co-Director, Delaware Environmental Observing System (DEOS)
Topics: Emergency management, resource monitoring
Websites: http://www.udel.edu/leathers/leathers_pagea.htm
http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327195721-Daniel_J_Leathers
Email: leathers@udel.edu

Sue McNeil, Director, University Transportation Center
Topics: Transportation Issues
Websites: http://www.ce.udel.edu/faculty/mcneil.html
http://www.udel.edu/DRC/aboutus/bios/McNeil.html
Email: smcneil@udel.edu
Phone: 302-831-6578

Kelvin Ramsey, Scientist/Geologist, Delaware Geological Survey
Topics: Historic hurricanes; geologic effects of hurricanes
Website: http://www.dgs.udel.edu/profile/kelvin-w-ramsey
Phone: 302-831-3586
Email: kwramsey@udel.edu

Ilka Riddle, Project Director, Center for Disabilities Studies
Topics: Disaster preparedness for people with developmental
impairments
Website: http://www.udel.edu/udaily/2011/sep/forum-disaster-
vulnerable090110.html

Phone: 302-831-8186
Email: ikriddle@udel.edu

Tripp Shenton, Professor and Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Topics: Engineering hurricane-resistant housing
Website: http://www.ce.udel.edu/directories/profiles/shenton.html
Phone: 302-831-2447
Email: shenton@udel.edu

Art Trembanis, Professor of Geological Sciences
Topics: Storm impacts on coast and short- and long-term recovery along Mid-Atlantic, especially Delmarva. Will be doing pre- and post-storm aerial surveys of coast. Has studied nor'easters and tropical storms along East and Gulf coasts.
Websites: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/326602474-Arthur_C_Trembanis
http://www.geology.udel.edu/cshel/
Email: art@udel.edu

Tricia Wachtendorf, Assoc. Director, Disaster Research Center
Topics: Social behavior in disasters; coordination among organizations; Lessons from Hurricane Katrina; hurricane evacuation/shelters
Website: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327235663-Tricia_Wachtendorf
Email: twachten@udel.edu

Carissa Wickens, Equine Extension Specialist
Topic: Equine emergency preparedness
Website: http://ag.udel.edu/anfs/faculty/Wickens.htm
Email: cwickens@udel.edu

Richard Wool, Professor of Chemical Engineering
Topics: Engineering hurricane-resistant housing
Websites: http://udapps.nss.udel.edu/experts/327241381-Richard_P_Wool
http://www.che.udel.edu/research_groups/wool/index.html
http://www.udel.edu/researchmagazine/issue/vol2_no2_security/advanced_roofing.html
Email: wool@udel.edu


Comment/Share