Media Webcast on Discoveries in Acoustics

Article ID: 582126

Released: 25-Oct-2011 6:00 PM EDT

Source Newsroom: American Institute of Physics (AIP)

Newswise — Scientists will present some of the latest findings from the science of sound at a webcast press briefing at 8 a.m. PDT (11 a.m. EDT) on Monday, October 31, 2011. The briefing will cover select topics being presented at the 162nd meeting of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) in San Diego, Calif., October 31–November 4, 2011.

Media representatives not attending the meeting are invited to participate in this live webcast.

What: Media Webcast: Notable Research from Acoustical Society Meeting

When: Monday, October 31, 2011; 8 a.m. – 9 a.m. PDT (11 a.m. – noon EDT)

Webcast Registration: http://www.aipwebcasting.com

Onsite Location: Pacific Salon 4, Town and Country Hotel, San Diego, Calif.

Panelists• Aubrey España, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington, will discuss the detection of unexploded ordnance with acoustics.• Braxton Boren, New York University, will present how acoustic archeology reveals the true sound of Renaissance Venice.• Lisa Heimbauer, Department of Psychology and Language Research Center, Georgia State University, will compare speech perception in a chimpanzee to that of humans.• Andrew Piacsek, Central Washington University, will present context and final thoughts on the presentations and relay questions to the rest of the panel.

ASA Worldwide Press Room (news releases, lay-language papers, etc.): http://www.acoustics.org

Main meeting website: http://acousticalsociety.org/

Searchable index of meeting abstracts: http://asa.aip.org/asasearch.html


Comment/Share





Chat now!