Previous Article Next Article

AACC Announces 2014 Award Winners; Celebrates Achievements in Laboratory Medicine

Released: 21-Feb-2014 9:35 AM EST
Source Newsroom: American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC)
Add to Favorites
Contact Information

Available for logged-in reporters only

Newswise — WASHINGTON – AACC is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 AACC Awards. Each year, AACC recognizes individuals from around the world for their superior contributions to the field of laboratory medicine with its awards program, which aims to encourage excellence within the profession and raise awareness about the importance of clinical laboratory science to improving healthcare.

The academy of AACC, the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (NACB), is also pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 NACB Awards. Through its annual awards program, NACB honors colleagues who have made significant contributions through scholarship and service to the profession of clinical laboratory medicine.

2014 AACC Award winners:

Eric J. Topol, MD Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award
The Scripps Research Institute

Charles D. Hawker, PhD Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine
ARUP Laboratories, Inc.

Michael L. Astion, MD, PhD Outstanding Contributions in Education
Seattle Children’s Hospital

James C. Boyd, MD Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry
University of Virginia Health

Peter A. Kavsak, PhD Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator
Juravinski Hospital and Cancer

James L. Wittliff, MD, PhD Morton K. Schwartz Award for Significant Contributions in Cancer Research Diagnostics
University of Louisville Health
Sciences Center

Robert H. Christenson, PhD AACC Past President’s Award
University of Maryland Medical

2014 NACB Award winners:

Mario Plebani, MD AACC-NACB Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research University Hospital of Padova

Stanley F. Lo, PhD NACB Professor Alvin Dubin Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession and the Academy
Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

Andrei Drabovich, PhD NACB George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication
University of Toronto

“Congratulations to this year’s award winners, whose commitment to and groundbreaking work in the field of laboratory medicine has been integral to driving the profession forward,” said AACC CEO Janet Kreizman. “Thanks to their achievements in research, service, and education, clinical laboratory medicine continues to play a vital role in improving patient health.”

The 2014 AACC and NACB Award winners will be recognized during the 2014 AACC Annual Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo at the Opening Plenary Session at Chicago’s McCormick Place on Sunday, July 27 in Chicago.

AACC and NACB would also like to thank Abbott Diagnostics, BD Diagnostics – Preanalytical Systems, Beckman Coulter, Inc., and Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics for sponsoring the 2014 Awards Program.

About AACC
Dedicated to achieving better health through laboratory medicine, the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) brings together more than 50,000 clinical laboratory professionals, physicians, research scientists, and business leaders from around the world focused on clinical chemistry, molecular diagnostics, mass spectrometry, translational medicine, lab management, and other areas of breaking laboratory science. Since 1948, AACC has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing programs that advance scientific collaboration, knowledge, expertise, and innovation. For more information, visit

Founded in 1976, the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry’s mission as the academy of AACC is to elevate the science and practice of clinical laboratory medicine by promoting research, education, and professional development in clinical biochemistry.

Promote your organization’s experts with Expert Pitch.
Reporters: follow @Expert_Pitch to receive instant updates via Twitter
Looking for a different expert? Reporters can submit an
Expert Query.