AERA 2014 Fellows Announced

Released: 5-Mar-2014 11:00 AM EST
Source Newsroom: American Educational Research Association (AERA)
Add to Favorites
Contact Information

Available for logged-in reporters only

Newswise — WASHINGTON, D.C., March 5, 2014 ─ The American Educational Research Association has announced the selection of 22 scholars as 2014 AERA Fellows. AERA Fellows are selected based on their notable and sustained research achievements. The 2014 Fellows, listed below, were nominated by their peers, selected by the AERA Fellows Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the association’s elected governing body. They will be inducted on Friday, April 4, during the AERA 2014 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pa. They join 557 current AERA Fellows.

“We are pleased to honor these individuals for their significant contributions to education research and to the advancement of the field,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “AERA Fellows exemplify the best of research in terms of accomplishment, quality, mentoring, and the highest professional standards. We welcome the class of 2014 to these ranks.”

2014 AERA Fellows

• Sasha Barab, Arizona State University

• Miriam Ben-Peretz, University of Haifa

• Mark Berends, University of Notre Dame

• Prudence L. Carter, Stanford University

• Henry T. Frierson, University of Florida

• James Paul Gee, Arizona State University

• Kit-Tai Hau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

• Brian William Junker, Carnegie Mellon University

• Gregory J. Kelly, Pennsylvania State University

• Ernest Morrell, Teachers College, Columbia University

• Chandra Muller, University of Texas – Austin

• Susan B. Neuman, New York University

• William R. Penuel, University of Colorado – Boulder

• Laura W. Perna, University of Pennsylvania

• Thomas S. Popkewitz, University of Wisconsin – Madison

• Graham Hingangaroa Smith, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

• Linda Tuhiwai Te Rina Smith, University of Waikato

• Daniel G. Solorzano, University of California - Los Angeles

• Mary Kay Stein, University of Pittsburgh

• David B. Swanson, National Board of Medical Examiners

• Wen-Chung Wang, The Hong Kong Institute of Education

• Mark Warschauer, University of California - Irvine

About AERA
The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national professional organization devoted to the scientific study of education. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook and Twitter.

This news release is available online.


Promote your organization’s experts with Expert Pitch.
Reporters: follow @Expert_Pitch to receive instant updates via Twitter
Looking for a different expert? Reporters can submit an
Expert Query.