HOPA Announces the 2014 Membership Award Winners at its 10th Annual Conference

Article ID: 616820

Released: 22-Apr-2014 11:00 AM EDT

Source Newsroom: Hematology Oncology Pharmacy Association

Newswise — Chicago (April 22, 2014): The Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA) announced the recipients of the 2014 HOPA Membership Awards at its 10th Annual Conference in March. HOPA Membership Awards recognize members who have shown outstanding achievement in their field.

Dr. Rowena (Moe) Schwartz, PharmD BCOP HOPA Award of Excellence The Award of Excellence recognizes a member who has made a significant, sustained contribution to or provided excellent leadership in improving or supporting hematology/oncology pharmacy. Dr. Schwartz, Senior Director of Clinical Content and Services at McKesson Specialty Health in Texas, is a HOPA founding member, past president, and has served on numerous committees including the Standards Committee which works to establish and review guidelines for best practices in hematology/oncology pharmacy. Furthermore, she travels worldwide to give lectures and teach classes related to the oncology pharmacy profession.

Dr. Casey Williams, PharmD BCOPHOPA Basic Science and Clinical Research Literature Award The Basic Science and Clinical Research Literature Award recognizes an author who has written an important scientific article in the past 12 months describing hematology/oncology basic science. Dr. Williams, Clinical Director of Research at Sanford Research in Sioux Falls, SD, is the recipient for his article, “Preclinical and Phase 1 Results of Decitabine in Combination with Midostaurain (PKC412) for Newly Diagnosed Elderly or Relapsed/Refractory Adult Patients with Acute Myeloid Leukemia.”

Dr. Robert Mancini, PharmD BCOPHOPA New Practitioner Award The New Practitioner Award recognizes a member early in their career who has made a notable contribution to developing or supporting clinical hematology/oncology pharmacy services. Dr. Mancini, Oncology Pharmacist at Mountain States Tumor Institute in Boise, ID, has been active in the hematology/oncology pharmacy profession since earning his Doctorate degree from the University of California, San Diego, in May 2008. Dr. Mancini is a strong advocate for pharmacists in the hematology/oncology profession, giving presentations to local pharmacy students about the role pharmacists play in hematology/oncology and serving as the primary pharmacist educator for support groups.

Dr. Sarah Hudson-DiSalle, PharmD RPh HOPA Patient Advocacy AwardThe Patient Advocacy Award, made possible through a grant from Teva Oncology, recognizes a HOPA member who demonstrates leadership and collaboration while advocating for outstanding patient care. Dr. Hudson-DiSalle, Specialty Practice Pharmacist at the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Wexner Medical Center at The Ohio State University, collaborates with the Physicians Free Clinic and Central Ohio Charitable Pharmacy to allow all patients to receive medical care.

Dr. Ali McBride, PharmD MS BCPSHOPA Oncology Pharmacy Practice Literature AwardThe HOPA Oncology Pharmacy Practice Literature Award recognizes an author who has written an article that contributes significantly to the betterment of the hematology/oncology pharmacy profession. Dr. McBride, Clinical Coordinator at the University of Arizona Cancer Center, was awarded for his article, “Comparative Evaluation of Single Fixed Dosing and Weight-Based Dosing of Rasburicase for Tumor Lysis Syndrome.”

HOPA:HOPA is a nonprofit professional organization formed in 2004 to help oncology and hematology pharmacy practitioners and their associates provide the best possible cancer care. HOPA supports research, conducts educational conferences to advance knowledge, encourages professional development and advocates for health policy issues that improve patient care. HOPA has more than 2,000 members and includes oncology pharmacists, as well as pharmacy interns, residents, nurses, technicians, researchers, and administrators specializing in hematology/oncology practice. To learn more about HOPA, visit www.hoparx.org.

Media Contact: Elizabeth Sherman 847.375.6307esherman@hoparx.org


Chat now!