Newswise — Fairfax, Va., August 19, 2014—The Association of Residents in Radiation Oncology (ARRO) has honored 57 educators with the 2014 Educator of the Year Award. The award, presented annually, recognizes outstanding teachers and mentors of radiation oncology residents. Each radiation oncology residency program may nominate one faculty member for the award.

“Mentoring radiation oncology residents is an essential element of their training and education, and has a significant impact on the advancement of the specialty,” said Jordan Kharofa, MD, immediate past chair of ARRO’s Executive Committee. “We are proud to recognize these outstanding educators for their dedication to providing guidance, support and mentorship to radiation oncology residents at their institutions.”

The 57 Educator of the Year Award recipients for 2014 are:• Sudha Amarnath, MD, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland• Jonathan J. Beitler, MD, MBA, FASTRO, Emory University, Atlanta• Ranjit S. Bindra MD, PhD, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut• Tithi Biswas, MD, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland• Michael Buckstein, MD, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York• Michael Chan, MD, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, North Carolina• Lynn Chang, MD, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia• Yi-Jen Chen, MD, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center, Philadelphia• Yuhchyau Chen, MD, PhD, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York• Kevin Choe, MD, PhD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas• Charles W. Coffey II, PhD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee• Candace R. Correa, MD, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute, Tampa, Florida• Rupak K. Das, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin• Eric D. Donnelly, MD, Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago• Kevin Du, MD, PhD, New York University School of Medicine, New York• Steven J. Feigenberg, MD, University of Maryland Medical Center, Baltimore• Christine Fisher, MD, MPH, University of Colorado, Denver• John B. Fiveash, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham Medical Center, Birmingham, Alabama• John Ford, MD, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas• Barbara L. Fowble, MD, FASTRO, University of California, San Francisco• Gary Freedman, MD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia• David K. Gaffney, MD, PhD, Huntsman Cancer Institute and University of Utah, Salt Lake City• Sharad Goyal, MD, MS, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, New Jersey• Paul Graves, PhD, New York Methodist Hospital, Brooklyn, New York• Gregory S. Gustafson, MD, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine, Rochester, Michigan• Sandra Hatch, MD, University of Texas Medical Branch Hospitals, Galveston, Texas• John Holland, MD, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon• Richard Jennelle, MD, Los Angeles County Medical Center/University of Southern California, Los Angeles• Hayeon Kim, MS, DABR, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, Pittsburgh• Stephen J. Ko, MD, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Florida• Nataliya Kovalchuk, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston• Quynh-Thu Le, MD, Stanford Cancer Institute, Stanford, California• Francisco Lopez, MS, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee• Omar Mahmoud, MD, University of Miami, Miami• Weiyuan Mai, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston• Raymond H. Mak, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston• Anne R. McCall, MD, University of Chicago, Chicago• Edward Melian, MD, Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, Illinois• John Mignano, MD, PhD, Tufts Medical Center, Boston• Melissa P. Mitchell, MD, PhD, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kansas• Sabin Motwani, MD, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, New Jersey• Thomas R. Niedermayr, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston• Bhupesh Parashar, MD, New York Presbyterian Hospital, New York• Javad Rahimian, PhD, Kaiser Permanente Southern California, Los Angeles• Eric Schreiber, PhD, University of North Carolina Hospitals, Chapel Hill, North Carolina• Varun Sehgal, PhD, University of California, Irvine, California• Ronald H. Shapiro, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis• David J. Sher, MD, MPH, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago• M. Salim U. Siddiqui, MD, PhD, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit• Matthew Stenmark, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan• Keqin Tang MD, PhD, Wayne State University, Detroit• Stephanie Terezakis, MD, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore• Keith R. Unger, MD, Medstar Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, D.C.• Xin Wang, MD, PhD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis• Julia White, MD, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio• Suzanne Wolden, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York• Li-Xi Yang, MD, PhD, California Pacific Medical Center, San Francisco

ABOUT ASTRO ASTRO is the premier radiation oncology society in the world, with more than 10,000 members who are physicians, nurses, biologists, physicists, radiation therapists, dosimetrists and other health care professionals that specialize in treating patients with radiation therapies. As the leading organization in radiation oncology, the Society is dedicated to improving patient care through professional education and training, support for clinical practice and health policy standards, advancement of science and research, and advocacy. ASTRO publishes two medical journals, International Journal of Radiation Oncology, Biology, Physics ( and Practical Radiation Oncology (; developed and maintains an extensive patient website,; and created the Radiation Oncology Institute (, a non-profit foundation to support research and education efforts around the world that enhance and confirm the critical role of radiation therapy in improving cancer treatment. To learn more about ASTRO, visit