Newswise — WASHINGTON, D.C., June 4, 2018 – The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is pleased to announce that 30 nursing faculty from across the nation have been selected to participate in the inaugural AACN-Apple Digital Innovation Bootcamp: From Content to Action, which will be held July 9-12 in Austin, Texas. 
In keeping with association's strategic goal to serve as the driving force for innovation and excellence in academic nursing, AACN launched this initiative to provide new opportunities for nursing faculty to leverage the latest technology to enhance learning in the classroom, laboratory, and clinical settings. Those invited to participate in this groundbreaking event will enjoy sessions on creating digital content, developing iOS mobile apps and multi-touch books, and creating an engaging learning environment.
"AACN applauds the incoming class of Digital Bootcamp participants for their innovative ideas and commitment to enhancing the educational experience for today's nursing student," said Dr. Ann Cary, Chair of the AACN Board of Directors. Following a competitive application process that was completed by more than 150 nursing faculty and staff, the following individuals were selected to attend the bootcamp:
  • Michael Ackerman, The Ohio State University
  • Maureen Baker, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
  • Kimberly Belcik, Texas State University
  • Jaime Brantley, Oklahoma Baptist University
  • Patricia Brennan, Samuel Merritt University (CA)
  • Maria Flavin, Carlow University (PA)
  • Melissa Foster, University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • Jeffrey Fouche-Camargo, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Janis Guilbeau, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Elizabeth Heavey, State University of New York College at Brockport
  • Tyler Keenum, The University of Alabama
  • Lorretta Krautscheid, University of Portland
  • Delaney La Rosa, Chamberlain University (FL)
  • Barbara Medvec, University of Michigan
  • Lisa Merritt, University of Missouri-St. Louis
  • Jeanne Moore, The Catholic University of America (DC)
  • Christine Mullins, East Tennessee State University
  • Rebecca Newton, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Courtney Nyange, Tennessee State University
  • Karrie Osborne, Ball State University (IN)
  • Nicole Osier, University of Texas at Austin
  • Cynthia O'Sullivan, Southern Connecticut State University
  • Cheryl Parker, The University of Texas at Tyler
  • Patricia Richard, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Teresa Serratt, Boise State University (ID)
  • Lisa Shustack, Misericordia University (PA)
  • Leiana Smith, Bellevue College (WA)
  • Anita Stephen, University of Florida
  • Ivy Tuason, Western University of Health Sciences (CA)
  • Cheryl Tucker, Baylor University (TX)
Program participants come from 20 states plus the District of Columbia and represent an array of institution types, including small liberal arts programs, public and private schools, and large academic health centers. Those attending will share details about their individual projects produced as part of this immersion experience at an upcoming AACN conference, which may include one of the following:
AACN is grateful to the following members of the AACN Faculty Resource Network (FRN) who were instrumental in selecting bootcamp participants:
  • Sharon Dormire, Texas A&M University
  • Jenny Erkfitz, Aspen University
  • Susan Malkemes, Wilkes University
  • Rhonda Maneval, Pace University
  • Brenda Morris, Arizona State University
For more information about the AACN-Apple Collaboration, see the bootcamp event page.

About the American Association of Colleges of Nursing 
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for academic nursing representing 810 schools of nursing nationwide. AACN establishes quality standards for nursing education, influences the nursing profession to improve health care, and promotes public support of baccalaureate and graduate nursing education, research, and practice.