Newswise — CHICAGO, IL (Nov. 12, 2019) The American Academy of Home Care Medicine (AAHCM) announced the recipients of the AAHCM 2019 awards at its Annual Meeting, held October 18-19 in Rosemont, IL. These awards recognize organizations and individuals who have shown outstanding achievement and contributions to the Academy and the field of home care medicine.

President’s Award

USMM/Centene was awarded with the prestigious 2019 President’s Award by AAHCM Immediate Past President, Eric De Jonge, MD. Rajiv Patel, MD FACP CPE, CEO of U.S. Medical Management (USMM), accepted the award on behalf of USMM and Centene. This award is in recognition of USMM/Centene’s extraordinary commitment of leadership and important resources toward the cause of home care medicine, AAHCM and Public Policy and Advocacy.

USMM and its affiliate, the Visiting Physicians Association, is a long-standing member of the Academy with over 200 Providers.  An innovator in Independence At Home, USMM is among the top performing MSSP ACOs in the country dedicated exclusively to Home Limited patients.

Dr. DeJonge shared, “With this award, we recognize the visionary and determined efforts of USMM over the past 25 years to create outstanding home care medicine clinical services and business models. We also wish to express our deep appreciation for USMM and Centene’s long-term and relentless support of policy payment reforms that have helped to grow the field.”

The following awards are the highest honors provided by the Academy to members who have demonstrated excellent commitment and long-standing contributions to the field of home care medicine.

Dan Gilden Creative Investigator Award

Aaron Yao, PhD was awarded with the 2019 Dan Gilden Creative Investigator Award. Yao is a health policy researcher and Cheeloo Scholar Professor in the School of Medicine at Shandong University. He also holds part-time appointments at the Home-Centered Care Institute and the University of Virginia School of Medicine. His research and educational program, “Invisible Patients Global,” exists to serve those invisible frail and homebound patients. It aims to improve the availability and quality of home health care in the United States and other nations.

This award is given to an exceptional investigator for their innovative body of work advancing the field of home care medicine. This award recognizes an investigator who has made great contributions to the field of home care medicine.

House Call Physician of the Year

Paul Chiang, MD FACP is this year’s recipient of the House Call Physician of the Year Award. Chiang is the Medical Director for HomeCare Physicians, and he has made over 32,000 house calls to more than 2,900 patients over his 19+ year career. Chiang enjoys teaching students and is passionate about bringing care to those who are home bound.  His work has been featured on ABC News Chicago, WTTW public television Chicago, and in several Chicago newspapers. In 2014, Central DuPage Hospital named him as one of 50 Unsung Heroes in the 50 year history of Central DuPage Hospital. Chiang is also the Senior Medical and Practice Advisor for Home Centered Care Institute where he focuses his time on developing curriculum, teaching current and future providers, and presenting locally and nationally on the value of home-based primary care.

This award is given to a physician member that provides the highest quality of services and innovative programs, and who demonstrates excellent and continued dedication to the field of home care medicine.

House Call Clinician of the Year

Jean Yudin, MSN GNP-BC was awarded the House Call Clinician of the Year Award. Yudin is the Director of the Penn Geriatrics home based primary care Program at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Yudin directs the University’s participation in the Mid-Atlantic Consortium, one of the practices in the Independence at Home demonstration. She developed and studied the novel collaboration with the Philadelphia Corporation on Aging (ElderPAC) which has demonstrated the effectiveness of integrated medical and supportive services to maintain frail elders efficiently in the community. She has been on the team that has led the Geriatric Division’s educational efforts for medical students, residents and fellows in home and community-based care, and participated in training of interprofessional teams involving learners from social work, nursing, medicine and dentistry.

This award is presented to an AAHCM member who has made significant contributions to the delivery of quality healthcare to homebound patients, and who demonstrates the important value of clinicians in the field of home care medicine.

Poster Awards

The following awards are given each year to researchers presenting their abstracts at the Annual Meeting, who have made notable contributions to the development of clinical and/or translational research to develop and advance the field of home care medicine.

The Research Poster of the Year Award was given to Dr. Charles Pu, MD, for his poster entitled “Evaluation of the Partners Mobile Observation Unit Program.”

The Single Practice Innovations Poster of the Year Award was presented to Ms. Elizabeth Brierre, MSN APRN ANP-C on behalf of Ms. Allison Dobecka, ANP-C, for her poster entitled “Reducing Emergency Department Visits of Homebound Older Adults Through After-Hours Phone Interventions.”

The Trainee Poster of the Year Award was presented this year to Ms. Amy Stewart, PharmD for her poster entitled “Development of a Screening Tool to Identify Target Patients for Home-Based Pharmacist Review.”

AAHCM is a professional organization serving the needs of physicians, health professionals, and organizations committed to improving care of patients in the home. AAHCM delivers on the promise of interdisciplinary, high-value health care in the home for all people in need by promoting the art, science, and practice of home care medicine. The AAHCM membership is composed of physicians, medical directors, nurse practitioners, physician’s assistants, registered nurses, social workers, practice administrators, and residents/students working in the field of home care medicine. For more information on AAHCM, please visit