The Arts and Humanities Division of the Council on Undergraduate Research announces the 2021 recipients of its student scholarships. The scholarships—a maximum of $300 each—support undergraduate student research and creative inquiry projects at any stage of development up to and including presentation, thus nurturing diverse, innovative, and engaged undergraduate research in the arts and humanities.

The 2021 recipients are the following:

  • Chitra Dassapa (Chapman University; mentor: Joe Rosenberg)
    Project title: Headlights (a music video that explores the researcher’s fear of repeating her older sibling’s mistakes)

  • Amelia Parker and Jesus Sanchez-Orozco (California State University, Monterey Bay; mentor: Sam Robinson)
    Project title: Higher Education Is Not Immune to Messaging Mishaps: A Qualitative Rhetorical Analysis of COVID-19 Messaging on US Campuses (evaluates campus communication in times of crisis to help inform campus administrators of best practices in future communication)