Rajkumar Lakshmanaswamy, Ph.D., dean of TTUHSC El Paso’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, has been appointed to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s Graduate Education Advisory Committee. The 24-member committee, which meets up to four times a year, reviews issues relating to graduate education at public universities and health-related institutions in Texas.

“The committee reviews all graduate school programs in the state of Texas and comes up with long-term, strategic plans,” Lakshmanaswamy said. “It assesses the capacity of graduate education, the need for expansion, what student supports are available and how to develop online graduate programs. So it has a very important role to play in how we build up graduate programs in Texas.”

In addition to his role as dean of the GSBS, Lakshmanaswamy is scientific director of TTUHSC El Paso’s Center of Emphasis in Cancer.

Register for reporter access to contact details