Newswise — (June 26, 2019) OADN CEO Donna Meyer has been named to the American Academy of Nursing’s 2019 Fellows Class, garnering her the nation’s top honor in nursing.

“I am deeply grateful to my peers for this honor.” Meyer said. “This recognition represents an appreciation of my dedication to the importance of the associate degree nursing pathway, as well as the imperative need for seamless academic progression for our nation’s healthcare.  I am truly overcome and honored to be named a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.”

Meyer, who is OADN’s first chief executive officer, is regarded as one of the country’s leading figures in support of academic progression in nursing.  Her efforts have been credited for uniting the various levels of nursing education in support of a common agenda to advance student opportunities and the nursing workforce.  Meyer served on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Academic Progression in Nursing National Advisory Committee, and currently co-leads the National Education Progression in Nursing Collaborative – or NEPIN, as part of the executive leadership team.  Meyer’s efforts to build consensus on academic progression persuaded community college leaders to shift their stance on the issue.  In an unprecedented joint policy statement, the American Association of Community Colleges and the Association of Community College Trustees joined with national nursing education organizations to issue a shared landmark position in support of higher education for all nurses.

“Donna Meyer’s leadership on nursing education preparation and advancement has transformed the most divisive topic in nursing into a space for positive collaboration across the profession,” said Donna Spivey, DNP, RN, President of OADN and Dean of Nursing for the Houston Coleman Community College of Health Sciences.  “The same collaborative intent that she has demonstrated throughout her career has also transformed OADN and continues to strengthen the excellent nursing education that community colleges deliver.”

Meyer currently serves on the Department of Health and Human Services’ National Advisory Council for Nurse Education and Practice, National Nursing Committee of the American Red Cross, American Association of Community Colleges Workforce Commission, Community College Baccalaureate Association Board of Directors, and Nurses on Boards Coalition Board of Directors, in addition to other appointments and advisory roles in both health care and higher education.  Additionally, she holds numerous honors including: National League for Nursing Fellow in the Academy of Nurse Educators, Professor Emeritus Lewis and Clark Community, Honorary Fellow in the Academy of Associate Degree Nursing, YMCA Woman of Distinction, and the Southern Illinois University Hall of Fame.

Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing are nominated and chosen by the current Academy members through a competitive and thorough process.  Each new fellow is selected based on a demonstrated commitment to the Academy’s mission, the promotion of the public’s health through evidence and innovation.  The organization’s members include over 2600 nurses, who work as leaders in education, practice, research and other fields.  The 2019 Fellows Class includes 231 individuals from 38 states, the District of Columbia, as well as 17 countries.

Register for reporter access to contact details