Newswise — F. Kayser Enneking, MD, has been named the 2021 Gaston Labat Award recipient and lecturer by the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA). Dr. Enneking is a professor in the departments of anesthesiology and orthopedics and rehabilitation at the University of Florida (UF) College of Medicine in Gainsville. Dr. Enneking will also receive the ASRA Distinguished Service Award, and she received the ASRA Trailblazer Award in 2020, which recognized women in regional anesthesia and pain medicine for their achievements and contributions to the field.

Dr. Enneking’s strong interest in regional anesthesia for orthopedic surgeries and ambulatory anesthesia led to the development of novel analgesic techniques for these patient populations. She has published more than 50 scholarly works in this area and mentored regional anesthesia fellows and junior faculty members.

“I am deeply honored and humbled to be given the Gaston Labat award for 2021,” Dr. Enneking said. “Awards like this truly are team awards for all wonderful teachers mentors and colleagues that helped me along the way. I look forward to presenting my lecture as a part of the 2021 ASRA spring meeting.”

Given annually, the award honors Gaston P. Labat, MD (1843-1908), a pioneer in regional anesthesia and the first president of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia founded in 1923 (later abandoned and then “re-founded” in 1975). Labat’s Regional Anesthesia: Its Technique and Clinical Application was first published in 1922.

Dr. Enneking earned her medical degree at the University of Florida, completed her residency in anesthesiology at the University of Texas, and completed her fellowship in regional anesthesiology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, MA. She joined UF in 1991 as an assistant professor in the department of anesthesiology and rose through the ranks until she became the chair of the department of anesthesiology and assistant dean for clinical affairs for the UF College of Medicine. Among the positions she held was the division chief for regional anesthesia and acute pain medicine. Many residents and fellows were trained under her, and they went on to spread her legacy around the country. She has won several awards including the TW Andersen Teaching Award and the Haven Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award, and she has also served on the ASRA Board of Directors.

The 46th Annual Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Meeting will be held May 13-15, 2021, in Lake Buena Vista, FL, and virtually.


Register for reporter access to contact details