Newswise — Chicago, IL (April 18, 2016): The Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association inducted the 2016 class of Fellows of the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (FHOPA) at the recent HOPA Annual Conference. “This is a significant milestone in the history of HOPA as we present the inaugural class of HOPA Fellows with the designation FHOPA,” said Stephanie Sutphin, PharmD BSPharm BCOP, Chair of the Recognition Committee, in making the announcement. “The individuals listed below have been designated as Fellows of HOPA for their sustained contributions to HOPA and exceptional performance in oncology pharmacy.” Additional requirements for the Fellow designation include sustained practice contributions in the field of hematology/oncology pharmacy, contributions to original research, participation in volunteer service and/or philanthropic activities, and nomination by two full members of HOPA.

2016 Class of HOPA Fellows

Barry R. Goldspiel, PharmD BCOP BCPS FHOPA is Acting Chief at the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center Pharmacy Department in Bethesda, Maryland. He received his B.S. in Pharmacy from the Arnold and Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy in Brooklyn, New York and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Goldspiel is the founding Editor of the Journal of Oncology Pharmacy Practice, the official publication of ISOPP. Dr. Goldspiel is a past president of HOPA.

R. Donald Harvey, PharmD FCCP BCOP FHOPA is an Associate Professor in the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology in the School of Medicine and Director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Section at the Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University. Organ dysfunction, drug interaction, food effects, and pharmacokinetically driven trials are areas of interest for Dr. Harvey and his group. He has been principal or co-investigator on over 50 phase I and clinical pharmacology trials since joining Emory in 2009 and has over 60 peer reviewed publications. Dr. Harvey is a past president of HOPA.

Lisa M. Holle, PharmD BCOP FHOPA is an Assistant Clinical Professor at the UConn School of Pharmacy. Her practice site is at the UConn Health Carole and Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center, where she works in a team-based ambulatory care clinic. Dr. Holle has worked as an oncology pharmacist for 20 years in a variety of settings including private hospitals, academic medical centers, and medical communications. Dr. Holle’s clinical research program focuses on oncology quality improvement initiatives, drug shortages, oral cancer therapy management, and reimbursement for clinical pharmacy services. She is a past president of HOPA.

Philip E. Johnson, MS RPh FASHP FHOPA was Pharmacy Director at the Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida for 26 years. His career is focused on developing advanced pharmacy practice in the oncology setting, patient advocacy, and regulatory reform. Phil helped establish two professional organizations; the Florida Cancer Pain Initiative, and HOPA, which he served as Board Member, Treasurer, and President. He has served on more than 40 advisory boards and committees of professional organizations.

LeAnne Kennedy, PharmD BCOP CPP FHOPA is the clinical specialist for stem cell transplant at Wake Forest Baptist Health (WFBH) in Winston Salem, NC. LeAnne has been working with the stem cell transplant service at WFBH for 23 years. In 2005, LeAnne received the first Award of Excellence from the Hematology and Oncology Association. In 2012, LeAnne also received the Kappa Epsilon Vanguard Leadership Award and the Campbell University School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award.

Jim M. Koeller, MS FHOPA is currently a full professor and member of the Center for Pharmacoeconomic Studies in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin, where he holds the Eli Lilly/CR Sublett Endowed Fellowship in Pharmacy. In addition, he is an Adjoint Professor of Medicine and Oncology at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. Professor Koeller has published over 250 articles, abstracts, and book chapters in the areas of oncology practice, pharmacoeconomics, new drug development, and supportive care issues of the cancer patient.

Susannah E. Koontz, PharmD BCOP FHOPA is the Principal at Koontz Oncology Consulting LLC, where she serves as a consultant for pharmacy practice, medical education and clinical research in the fields of pediatric hematology, oncology and hematopoietic cell transplantation. She works with healthcare providers and pharmaceutical industry professionals to identify research priorities and rationally apply cancer therapies in children. Dr. Koontz has been an invited speaker at numerous international, national, and local healthcare professional meetings. Dr. Koontz serves as the president-elect of HOPA.

Cindy L. O’Bryant, PharmD BCOP FCCP FHOPA is an Associate Professor with the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Colorado School Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Dr. O’Bryant serves as the director of the Oncology Pharmacy Residency Program and Co-Director of the Oncology Clinical Research Fellowship. Her current practice is at the University of Colorado Cancer Center in the Developmental Therapeutics (Phase 1)/ GI program where she is currently a principal investigator of Phase 1 clinical trials. Dr. O’Bryant is a past president of HOPA.

Kellie Jones Weddle, PharmD BCOP FCCP FHOPA is Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, at the Purdue University College of Pharmacy. She received her B.S. (Pharmacy) and PharmD from the University of Kentucky. Her clinical practice site is at Indiana University Simon Cancer Center working with the inpatient medical and gynecologic oncology services. Dr. Weddle has been actively involved in HOPA with the research, continuing education, and the health policy committees.

Casey Williams, PharmD BCOP FHOPA is the Director of the Avera Center for Precision Oncology and the Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine at the Avera Cancer Institute in Sioux Falls, SD. Dr. Williams has clinical faculty appointments at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, South Dakota State University School of Pharmacy, and the University of South Dakota School Of Medicine. His current research focus is in cancer genomics and translational therapeutics to better understand the role that specific genes have on the activity of various treatments for the treatment of cancer.


HOPA is a nonprofit professional organization formed in 2004 to help oncology and hematology pharmacy practitioners and their associates provide the best possible cancer care. HOPA supports research, conducts educational conferences to advance knowledge, encourages professional development and advocates for health policy issues that improve patient care. HOPA has more than 2,500 members and includes oncology pharmacists, as well as pharmacy administrators, researchers, residents, interns, and technicians specializing in hematology/oncology practice.