Newswise — The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected Matthew Gentzkow of the University of Chicago Booth School of Business as one of its 197 new Fellows, who are chosen because of their roles as "thinkers and doers" — such designations going back to the Academy's founding in 1780.

The Richard O. Ryan Professor of Economics and Neubauer Family Faculty Fellow, Gentzkow studies empirical industrial organization and political economy, with a specific focus on media industries. Gentzkow's work has been published in the Journal of Political Economy, the Quarterly Journal of Economics, the American Economic Review, and Econometrica, and has been covered in major national media.

"Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world. We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution," said Don Randel, Chair of the Academy's Board of Directors.

Gentzkow received the 2014 John Bates Clark Medal, given by the American Economic Association to the American economist younger than 40 who has made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge. The Clark Medal is one of the two most prestigious awards in economics, second only to the Nobel Prize. He also received an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in 2009, and has been awarded several National Science Foundation grants for research on media, and a Faculty Excellence Award for teaching.

Academy members are top scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, business and philanthropic leaders, and among their ranks are winners of the Nobel Prize and the Pulitzer Prize; MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony Awards.

The new Academy class will be inaugurated Oct. 10 in Cambridge, Mass. Members contribute to the Academy’s scholarly works.

Other current Chicago Booth faculty members in the Academy include Marianne Bertrand, Ronald Burt, Douglas Diamond, Eugene Fama, Reid Hastie, Kevin Murphy, Raghuram Rajan, Richard Thaler, Robert Vishny and Luigi Zingales.