Newswise — CHICAGO, IL, May 22, 2020 —On Tuesday, May 19th, during their virtual Board of Directors Meeting, the Medical Library Association (MLA) recognized the organization’s 2020-2021 Incoming Officers. Officially elected in March of 2020, the officers began each of their terms on Tuesday.

Lisa K. Traditi, MLS, AHIP, was elected the 2020-2021 MLA President. She succeeds Julia Esparza, AHIP, MLA’s 2019-2020 President. Lisa is Deputy Director at Strauss Health Sciences Library at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus.

Kristine M. Alpi, MLS, AHIP, was elected the 2020-2021 MLA President-Elect. She is University Librarian and Associate Professor at Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, Oregon and remains Adjunct Assistance Professor of Population Health & Pathobiology at North Carolina State University.

Julia Esparza, AHIP, was named the 2020-2021 MLA Immediate Past President. She succeeds Beverly Murphy, AHIP, FMLA, MLA’s 2019-2020 Immediate Past President. Julia is Head of User Education and Outreach Services in the Health Sciences Library of Louisiana State University.

Heather N. Holmes, MLIS, AHIP, was elected Member of the MLA Board of Directors. She is Associate Director of Libraries and Associate Professor at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston.

Brenda M. Linares, MLIS, AHIP, was elected Member of the MLA Board of Directors. She is the Health Sciences Librarian at the A. R. Dykes Library at the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City.

James Dale Prince, MLS, AHIP, was elected Member of the MLA Board of Directors. He is Director of Libraries at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans.

Adela V. Justice, AHIP, was elected MLA Community Council Chair. She is the Senior Librarian at The Learning Center, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

2020-21 MLA Officers continuing their terms include: Shannon D. Jones, MLS, MEd, AHIP, MLA Treasurer; (2019-21); Donna R. Berryman, AHIP, SUNY, MLA Chapter Council Chair (2019-22); Sally Gore, Member of the MLA Board of Directors (2019-22); Meredith I. Solomon, MLS, Member of the MLA Board of Directors (2019-22) and Gurpreet Kaur Rana, MLA Secretary (2019-22).


About MLA        

The Medical Library Association (MLA) is a global, nonprofit educational organization, with a membership of more than 400 institutions and 3,000 professionals in the health information field. Since 1898, MLA has fostered excellence in the professional practice and leadership of health sciences library and information professionals to enhance health care, education, and research throughout the world. MLA educates health information professionals, supports health information research, promotes access to the world's health sciences information, and works to ensure that the best health information is available to all. For more information about MLA, visit

Register for reporter access to contact details