Newswise — FOREST GROVE, Ore. -- More than 150 students representing universities from throughout North America will convene in Forest Grove April 17-18 for Pacific University's 19th annual Undergraduate Philosophy Conference.

The conference opens Friday evening with a banquet in the University Center's Multipurpose Room, followed by a live recording of nationally syndicated radio program Philosophy Talk in the Tom Miles Theatre at 7:30 p.m. Hosted by philosophy professors John Perry (University of California, Riverside) and Ken Taylor (Stanford University), Philosophy Talk explores a wide variety of issues ranging from popular culture to deeply-held beliefs about science, morality and the human condition.

Tufts University (Mass.) professor Daniel Dennett, author of Freedom Evolves, will join Perry and Taylor to discuss "Neuroscience and Free Will." Due to the limited seating capacity of the Miles Theatre, the program is only open to registered conference attendees, and will air at a later date.

Philosophy Talk is making its fifth appearance at Pacific University as part of its 2015 Tour of Oregon, which included stops at Oregon State University in Corvallis (Apr. 15) and Oregon Public Broadcasting in Portland (Apr. 16).

The conference continues Saturday with the first of four paper sessions at 8 a.m. and into the early evening. Students will present papers on a vast array of topics ranging from philosophers like Nietzsche and Kant to bio-ethics, race and many others. Dennett will give the keynote presentation, "Information as Design Worth Stealing," at 11:30 a.m.

Colleges and Universities Represented: Alma College (Mich.) The University of Arizona Boise State University (Idaho) Boston University (Mass.) California State University, Fullerton Carleton College (Minn.) Central Washington University University of Chicago (Ill.) Clatsop Community College (Ore.) University of Colorado Dartmouth College (N.H.) Denison University (Ohio) Eastern Washington University Fort Lewis College (Colo.) Furman University (S.C.) The George Washington University (D.C.) Grand Valley State University (Mich.) Humboldt State University (Calif.) Iowa State University Kansas State University Knox College (Ill.) Lebanon Valley College (Pa.) Lewis & Clark College (Ore.) University of Louisville (Ky.) McGill University (Quebec, Canada) McMaster University (Ont., Canada) Metropolitan State University in Denver (Colo.) Michigan State University Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México University of Nebraska at Kearney University of Nevada, Reno The New School (N.Y.) University of North Dakota University of North Florida North Idaho College Northern Arizona University University of Oregon Pacific University (Ore.) University of Portland (Ore.) Portland State University (Ore.) Princeton University (N.J.) University of Puget Sound (Wash.) Reed College (Ore.) Regis University (Colo.) Rhodes College (Tenn.) San Jose State University (Calif.) Thompson Rivers University (B.C., Canada) University of Toronto (Ont., Canada) Trinity Western University (B.C., Canada) Truman University (Mo.) University of Utah Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Washburn University (Kan.) Weber State University (Utah) West Virginia University Whitworth University (Wash.)