Newswise — WASHINGTON – Rhode Island is the fifteenth state to have the Interstate Compact for Medical Licensure introduced in its Legislature, with the introduction of HB 5571 by Representatives Joseph M. McNamara, Joseph J. Solomon, Jr., Michael A. Morin, David A. Coughlin, Jr., and Mia A. Ackerman and S. 423 by Senators Christopher Scott Ottiano, Joshua Miller, Donna Nesselbush, and Adam Satchell.

The Interstate Compact for Medical Licensure establishes a voluntary interstate compact that will streamline the licensing process for physicians seeking licenses in multiple states participating in the compact while maintain state oversight and protections for patients. Rhode Island joins Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming as states where the Compact has been introduced.

The final model Interstate Medical Licensure Compact legislation was released in September 2014. Since then, 15 states have formally introduced the legislation in their legislative chambers and more than 25 state medical and osteopathic boards have publicly expressed support for the Compact.

For more information about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, visit:

About the Federation of State Medical BoardsThe Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) is a national non-profit organization representing all medical boards within the United States and its territories that license and discipline allopathic and osteopathic physicians and, in some jurisdictions, other healthcare professionals. FSMB leads by promoting excellence in medical practice, licensure and regulation as the national resource and voice on behalf of state medical boards in their protection of the public. To learn more about FSMB visit: You can also follow FSMB on Twitter (@theFSMB and @FSMBPolicy) and Facebook by liking the Federation of State Medical Boards page.

Register for reporter access to contact details