Newswise — SAN FRANCISCO – Jan. 28, 2020 – The American Academy of Ophthalmology today announced the appointment of seven new members to its 2020 Board of Trustees. The 23-person committee is responsible guiding the Academy in its mission to protect sight and empower lives by serving as an advocate for patients and the public, leading ophthalmic education, and advancing the profession of ophthalmology.

New members beginning their term in 2020 include:

  • Tamara R. Fountain, MD, president-elect is a professor of ophthalmology at Rush University and an oculofacial plastics surgeon based in Northern Chicago. A Harvard and Stanford alumni, Dr. Fountain has been a leading force in the industry for years, including roles as president of the Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company and director of the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. She’s made significant contributions in developing professional standards such as work with the Academy’s Ethics and Health Policy Committee and Women in Ophthalmology programs. Dr. Fountain is a recipient of the Academy's Secretariat and Life Achievement Awards.
  • Mary Louise Z. Collins, MD, trustee-at-large is a Baltimore-based pediatric ophthalmologist. She’s previously contributed to advocacy efforts including scope-of-practice battles, cost-effective vision screenings for children in the state of Maryland and was a founding chair of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Surgery legislative committee. She received her MD from Georgetown University.
  • Ravi D. Goel, MD, senior secretary for ophthalmic practice is an ophthalmologist and cataract surgeon at Regional Eye Associates in Cherry Hill, NJ. An active Academy council member, public speaker and educator in the ophthalmology community, Dr. Goel has been instrumental in efforts including advocacy programs in D.C., global leadership symposiums, and serving as program director for the 2020 Ophthalmology Business Summit. He is a recipient of the AMA Foundation Excellence in Medicine Leadership Award, and the Academy’s Secretariat, Achievement, and Senior Achievement Awards. Dr. Goel received his MD from Rutgers University.
  • Thomas A. Graul, MD, vice chair, is a glaucoma specialist at Eye Surgical Associates of Lincoln, Nebraska. Dr. Graul is dedicated to the next generation of ophthalmologists as program director of the Nebraska Fall Scientific Meeting and adjunct associate professor at the University of Nebraska. He has also helped ensure patient safety as a member of the Surgical Scope Fund. Dr. Graul received his MD from the University of Nebraska.
  • David C. Herman, MD, public trustee is an ophthalmologist based in Minnesota. He currently serves as CEO of Essentia Health, an integrated health system with more than 14,000 employees, 15 hospitals, and 77 clinics in Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, and Idaho. He received his MD from the Mayo Clinic.
  • James A. Lawrence, public trustee is an internationally respected member of the business community having most recently served as chairman of Rothschild North America.  He has served on 17 public company boards and numerous non-profit boards. He has an MBA from Harvard Business School.
  • Ron W. Pelton, MD, PhD, trustee-at-large runs a private oculofacial plastic surgery practice in Colorado Springs, CO. In addition to involvement across several Academy committees, Dr. Pelton is a recipient of the Academy’s Secretariat, Special Recognition, Achievement, and Senior Achievement Awards. He received his MD from Vanderbilt University.

“Once again, the Academy is fortunate to be guided by brilliant leadership. We are very excited that Jim Lawrence and David Herman will be joining the Academy as Public Trustees,” said David W. Parke II, MD, CEO of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. “Each will bring a previously unrepresented, valuable and unique perspective to Board of Trustees’ deliberations. Both are dedicated to the Academy’s mission and will add immeasurably to the substance of our discussions and decisions in meeting the needs of our communities, patients, and member ophthalmologists.”

About the American Academy of Ophthalmology The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world’s largest association of eye physicians and surgeons. A global community of 32,000 medical doctors, we protect sight and empower lives by setting the standards for ophthalmic education and advocating for our patients and the public. We innovate to advance our profession and to ensure the delivery of the highest-quality eye care. Our EyeSmart® program provides the public with the most trusted information about eye health. For more information, visit



Register for reporter access to contact details