Newswise — WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 3, 2015) — The American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) will be presenting several major awards during the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting.

AANS International Lifetime Recognition Award — Andrew H. Kaye, MDThe most prestigious international award the AANS bestows is the AANS Lifetime International Recognition Award. It honors the recipient’s lifetime of achievements serving neurosurgery in his or her home country, as well as contributions made to neurosurgery globally.

Kaye’s service to the Asian Australasian Society of Neurological Surgeons, the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies and general participation in organized neurosurgery worldwide is well known within the association, thanks to his publications, presentations and other contributions throughout his illustrious career. AANS Distinguished Service Award — Kim J. Burchiel, MD, FAANSThe AANS Distinguished Service Award honors those individuals who make outstanding contributions to the field of neurosurgery. Recent recipients of the award include John Jane Sr., MD, PhD, FAANS(L); Ralph G. Dacey Jr, MD, FAANS; and Sir Graham Teasdale. Burchiel’s dedication to the specialty of neurosurgery throughout his career, including his serving in positions within the AANS/Congress of Neurosurgeons (CNS) Section on Pain, the American Board of Neurosurgery (ABNS), the Neurosurgery Residency Review Committee (RRC) and the Society of Neurological Surgeons (SNS), has been demonstrated through exemplary service. His statesmanship, leadership and devotion to the specialty of neurosurgery have been particularly inspiring for the many who have had the opportunity to work with him.

AANS Humanitarian Award — Michael M. Haglund, MD, PhdD, FAANSThe Humanitarian Award recognizes extraordinary work done for those in need, here and abroad. Haglund has conducted numerous medical missions, working in Ecuador for a decade and, currently, as part of a neurosurgical project in Uganda that has brought both neurosurgeons and equipment to the country.

AANS Cushing Medal — Arthur L. Day, MD, FAANSThe Cushing Medal is the highest honor that the AANS bestows on a neurosurgeon. Prior winners include Roberto C. Heros, MD, FAANS(L); Donald O. Quest, MD, FAANS(L); and Jon H. Robertson, MD, FAANS.

Robert E. Harbaugh, MD, FAANS, and 2014-2015 AANS president, commented that he chose Day for the award, “because of his long and exemplary service to the CNS, AANS/CNS Cerebrovascular Section, the Washington Committee, the AANS Executive Committee, the ABNS, the Academy, the Neurosurgery RRC and the SNS, I can think of no one who deserves this more. Dr. Day’s devotion to neurosurgery is a model for all neurosurgeons.”

AANS Cushing Award for Technical Excellence and Innovation in Neurosurgery — Ossama Al-Mefty, MD, FAANSThe Cushing Award is the honor bestowed by the AANS that recognizes technical prowess and skill and/or innovation in the development of new procedures which have become part of the armamentarium of neurosurgery Al-Mefty was selected for this honor because of his devotion to developing and perfecting the techniques of skull base surgery.

Media Representatives: The 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting press kit includes releases on highlighted scientific research, AANS officers and award winners, Neurosurgery Awareness Week and other relevant information about this year’s program. Those releases will also be posted under the “Media” area on the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting website. If you have interest in a topic related to neurosurgery or would like to interview a neurosurgeon —either onsite or via telephone —during this year’s event, please contact Alice Kelsey, AANS director of marketing and communications, via email at [email protected].

About the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting: Attended by neurosurgeons, neurosurgical residents, medical students, neuroscience nurses, clinical specialists, physician assistants, allied health professionals and other medical professionals, the AANS Annual Scientific Meeting is the largest gathering of neurosurgeons in the nation, with an emphasis on the field’s latest research and technological advances. More than 1,200 scientific abstracts were presented for review at the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting, and the scientific presentations given at this year’s event represent cutting-edge examples of the incredible developments taking place within the field of neurosurgery. Additional information about the 2015 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting and the meeting program can be found here.

Founded in 1931 as the Harvey Cushing Society, the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) is a scientific and educational association with more than 9,000 members worldwide. The AANS is dedicated to advancing the specialty of neurological surgery in order to provide the highest quality of neurosurgical care to the public. Fellows of the AANS are board-certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the Mexican Council of Neurological Surgery, A.C. Neurosurgery is the medical specialty concerned with the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation of disorders that affect the spinal column, spinal cord, brain, nervous system and peripheral nerves.

For more information, visit