Newswise — Bethesda, MD, October 13, 2015:

The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP), the premier global, non-profit organization serving molecular diagnostic professionals, announced today its 2015 award winners for the Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics, the Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award, and the AMP Meritorious Service Award. All three awards will be presented during the AMP 2015 Annual Meeting, November 5-7 in Austin, Texas, with a special lecture by the Award for Excellence recipient on the morning of November 5.

Brian J. Druker, MD, Director, Knight Cancer Institute, Oregon Health & Science University, will receive the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics. The award recognizes lifetime, pioneering, and special achievements by professionals in the field. “This award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association,” said Janina A. Longtine, MD, AMP President, “Witnessing the effects of chemotherapy or bone marrow transplanation on patients drove Dr. Druker to lead the development and clinical trials of the drug imatinib (Gleevec) for chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML). Gleevec was the first of its kind developed to fight cancer by targeting mutated cells, leaving healthy cells alone and causing only minimal side effects, said Longtine. Dr. Drucker is the 17th recipient of this prestigious award.

Barbara A. Zehnbauer, PhD, Acting Director, Division of Laboratory Program, Standards, and Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, will receive the Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award. The award is granted to a selected AMP member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the accomplishment of the mission and vision of AMP. “Dr. Zehnbauer is a highly involved, long-time member of AMP. She currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of AMP’s official journal, The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics,” said Longtine, “Over the years, she served on the AMP Strategic Planning Committee, Chaired the Board of Directors as the AMP President, and Chaired the AMP Program Committee. Her leadership is a model for all AMP members and we are immensely grateful for her investment in our profession and in AMP.”

Roger D. Klein, MD, JD, Medical Director of Molecular Oncology, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, will receive the AMP Meritorious Service Award. This award is designed to recognize AMP members whose dedication to and volunteer efforts for the Association are exceptional, over an extended period, and often behind-the-scenes. Recipients have provided invaluable service to AMP and to the molecular pathology profession. “Dr. Klein has worked tirelessly for decades to inform key decision makers of the role and value of molecular pathology professionals. He has visited Capitol Hill on countless occasions, spoken with numerous reporters, presented to the FDA and CMS, and appeared on live-broadcast panel interviews – all on behalf of AMP,” said Longtine, “Without his vast understanding of the issues affecting the field and his ability to discuss them in detail, AMP would not be making the headway we are in the realm of advocacy.”

ABOUT AMP:The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) was founded in 1995 to provide structure and leadership to the emerging field of molecular diagnostics. AMP's 2,300+ members include individuals from academic and community medical centers, government, and industry; including pathologist and doctoral scientist laboratory directors; basic and translational scientists; technologists; and trainees. Through the efforts of its Board of Directors, Committees, Working Groups, and members, AMP is the primary resource for expertise, education, and collaboration in one of the fastest growing fields in healthcare. AMP members influence clinical practice, education, and policy on the national and international levels, ultimately serving to advance innovation in the field and protect patient access to high quality, appropriate testing. For more information, visit

CONTACT:Rick Roose, on behalf of AMPBioscribe Life Science CommunicationsRick@bioscribe.com415-202-4445


Register for reporter access to contact details