Newswise — January 20, 2014 – Warrendale, PA (USA) – The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) will honor members who have made remarkable contributions in the field of materials science and engineering this past year at the 143rd TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition set for February 16-20 at the San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, California.

One of the primary objectives of TMS is to recognize the accomplishments of its members. Each year the society presents more than 60 awards in several major categories, including Society, Young Leader, Division, and other awards. This year, 25 TMS members will receive TMS Society Awards. Society honorees will receive their accolades at the TMS-AIME Annual Awards Presentation on February 18 in Room 6A of the Convention Center. The recipients are:

TMS Fellows – Class of 2014: The highest honor bestowed by TMS. To be inducted, a candidate must be recognized as an eminent authority and contributor within the broad field of materials science and technology, with a strong consideration for outstanding service to the Society.

John Allison, University of MichiganKevin Hemker, Johns Hopkins UniversityEnrique Lavernia, University of CaliforniaMichel Rappaz, Swiss Federal Institute of TechnologyRuslan Valiev, UFA State Aviation Technical University

Brimacombe Medalists – Class of 2014: Recognizes professionals in the middle portions of their careers. Presented to individuals with sustained excellence and achievement in business, technology, education, public policy, or science related to materials science and engineering.

Louis Hector Jr., General Motors R&D CenterC. Robert Kao, National Taiwan UniversityDiana Lados, Worcester Polytechnic InstituteEric Taleff, University of Texas

Alexander Scott Distinguished Service Award: Recognizing a member’s outstanding contributions to TMS, typically presented for 10 or more years of TMS service in membership development, student chapters, education and professional affairs, and/or other society-level activities.

Barry Welch, Welbank Consulting

AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award: Awarded to an author(s) of a paper or series of closely related papers, which represents the most notable contribution to metallurgical science during the period under review.

Neal Evans, University of TennesseePhilip J. Maziasz, Oak Ridge National LabMichael J. Pollard, Caterpillar Technical CenterJohn P. Shingledecker, Electric Power Research Institute

AIME Honorary Membership: In appreciation of outstanding service to or distinguished scientific or engineering achievement in the fields embracing the activities of AIME and its member societies.

David Seidman, Northwestern University

AIME Robert Lansing Hardy Award: Recognizes outstanding promise for a successful career in the broad field of metallurgy and materials science by a professional under the age of 35.

Dallas Trinkle, University of Illinois

Application to Practice Award: Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in transferring research results or findings into commercial production and practical use.

Iver Anderson, Iowa State University

Bruce Chalmers Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials processing.

Pradeep K. Rohatgi, University of Wisconsin

Cyril Stanley Smith Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials structure.

Anthony Rollett, Carnegie Mellon University

Early Career Faculty Fellow Award: Honors an assistant professor for accomplishments that have advanced the academic institution where employed, and recognizes his or her abilities to broaden the technological profile of TMS.

Daniel Gianola, University of PennsylvaniaMichele Manuel, University of Florida

Educator Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to education in metallurgical engineering and/or materials science and engineering.

Donald Sadoway, Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyHong “Rocky” Sohn, University of Utah

Institute of Metals/Robert Franklin Mehl Award: Recognizes an outstanding scientific leader who is selected to present a lecture at the TMS Annual Meeting.

Jagdish Narayan, North Carolina State University

Leadership Award: Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the national and international materials community in some aspects of the fields of metallurgy and materials.

John Lewandowski, Case Western Reserve University

Morris Cohen Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials properties.

Carlos Levi, University of California

SME/TMS/AIME James Douglas Gold Medal: Recognizes distinguished achievement in non-ferrous metallurgy, including both the benefication of ores and the alloying and utilization of non-ferrous metals.

Barry Welch, Welbank Consulting

Vittorio de Nora Prize for Environmental Improvements in Metallurgical Industries: Recognizes outstanding materials science research and development contributions to the reduction of environmental impacts as applied in global metallurgical industries, with a particular focus on extractive processing.

Abdalla Ahmed Al Zarouni, Dubai Aluminium Co. Ltd

William Hume-Rothery Award: Recognizes a scientific leader for exceptional scholarly contributions to the science of alloys by inviting him/her to be an honored presenter at the William Hume-Rothery Memorial Symposium.

Rainer Schmid-Fetzer, Clausthal University of Technology

For more information about the TMS awards ceremony and other activities at the TMS 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, visit the TMS 2014 website.

ABOUT TMS The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents.