Newswise — February 10, 2015—Warrendale, PA (USA)—The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) announces its 2015 Class of Fellows, six Society members who have earned the highest award bestowed by TMS. The award recognizes TMS members for their outstanding contributions to the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. The 2015 Fellows will be recognized at the 144th TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition, set for March 15–19 at Walt Disney World, Orlando, Florida.

The award is considered a pinnacle award, and includes a life membership to the Society. To qualify for the honor, inductees must be a full member of TMS for at least five continuous years, and have a good personal reputation and distinction as an eminent authority in some aspect of the practice of metallurgy, materials science, and technology. This includes scholarship such as the publication of articles or books; the granting of patents; direction of important research or engineering work; and responsibility through management for nationally known improvements and developments in the field.

The 2015 Class of Fellows is:

Iver Anderson, Iowa State University—For his inventiveness that led to lead-free solder used in all electronic devices; for seminal contributions to: (1) gas atomization of metallic and polymeric materials, (2) powder metallurgy technology, and (3) rapid solidification processing of a wide variety of materials; for long time professional leadership as a member of the TMS Board of Directors and chair of numerous TMS technical committees; and for contributions to education.

Surya Kalidindi, Georgia Institute of Technology—For major scientific contributions in the fields of crystal plasticity and microstructure design, and leadership in materials education.

David Matlock, Colorado School of Mines—For exceptional and sustained leadership in materials education and research, and for sustaining academic interest in the steel industry.

Michael Mills, Ohio State University—For leadership and significant contributions in elucidating the deformation mechanisms of high-temperature structural materials using advanced characterization and modeling.

Christopher Schuh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology—For path-breaking research on design of new structural materials through control of microstructural order/disorder over a wide range of length scales; for bringing newly designed materials to commercial application.

Barry Welch, University of Auckland and Welbank Consulting Ltd.—For significant contributions to the advancement of aluminum smelting technology through pioneering research in aluminum electrolysis cell reactions and fundamental processes followed by outstanding teaching to students and engineering practitioners.

For more information about the TMS Fellow Award visit For more information about the TMS awards ceremony and other activities at the TMS 2015 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, visit

ABOUT TMSThe Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents.