Newswise — February 11, 2015—Warrendale, PA (USA)—The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) will honor members who have made remarkable contributions in the field of materials science and engineering this past year at the 144th TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition (TMS2015), set for March 15–19 at Walt Disney World, Orlando, Florida.

One of the primary objectives of TMS is to recognize the accomplishments of its members, which is carried out through the conferring of various awards. The honorees listed below will receive their accolades at the TMS & AIME Awards Ceremony on March 17 during TMS2015. The ceremony will include presentations of awards from TMS, Acta Materialia Inc., and the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME), of which TMS is a member society.

TMS Fellows – Class of 2015: The highest honor bestowed by TMS. To be inducted, a candidate must be recognized as an eminent authority and contributor within the broad field of materials science and technology, with a strong consideration for outstanding service to the Society.

Iver Anderson, Iowa State UniversitySurya Kalidindi, Georgia Institute of TechnologyDavid Matlock, Colorado School of MinesMichael Mills, Ohio State UniversityChristopher Schuh, Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyBarry Welch, University of Auckland and Welbank Consulting Ltd.

Brimacombe Medalists – Class of 2015: Recognizes professionals in the middle portion of their careers. Presented to individuals with sustained excellence and achievement in business, technology, education, public policy, or science related to materials science and engineering.

Michael Brady, Oak Ridge National LabW. Jud Ready, Georgia Institute of TechnologyMichael Uchic, Air Force Research LaboratoryMatthew Willard, Case Western Reserve University

Acta Materialia Gold Medal Award: Established by Acta Materialia, Inc. in 1973 as an international award to recognize leadership in materials research.

David Embury, McMaster University

Acta Materialia Materials and Society Award: Established by Acta Materialia, Inc. in memory of J. Herbert Hollomon, principal instigator of the journal Acta Metallurgica, this award recognizes an outstanding contributor to the interactions between materials technology and societal concerns

Tresa Pollock, University of California

AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award: Awarded to an author(s) of a paper or series of closely related papers, which represents the most notable contribution to metallurgical science during the period under review.

Jian-Feng Nie, Monash University

AIME Henry deWitt Smith Scholarship: This principal aim and purpose of this scholarship fund is to further the mineral industries by affording educational opportunities in the arts and sciences pertaining to those industries, particularly by assisting worthy students in the mining, metallurgical, and petroleum departments of leading colleges and universities which confer degrees in mineral engineering.

Alexandra Anderson, Colorado School of MinesMohsen Seifi, Case Western Reserve University

AIME Honorary Membership: In appreciation of outstanding service to or distinguished scientific or engineering achievement in the fields embracing the activities of AIME and its member societies.

Thaddeus Massalski, Carnegie Mellon University

AIME Presidential Citation: Recognizes extraordinary and dedicated service in furtherance of the goals, purposes, and traditions of AIME.

Brajendra Mishra, Colorado School of Mines

AIME Robert Lansing Hardy Award: Recognizes outstanding promise for a successful career in the broad field of metallurgy and materials science by a professional under the age of 35.

Peter Hosemann, University of California

Brimacombe Prize: Recognizes outstanding achievements in materials process engineering and is presented in memory of J. Keith Brimacombe, an innovative giant in the field of materials process engineering during the later quarter of the 20th century.

Michel Rappaz, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Bruce Chalmers Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials processing.

Carl Koch, North Carolina State University

Cyril Stanley Smith Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials structure.

Michael Loretto, University of Birmingham

Early Career Faculty Fellow Award: Honors an assistant professor for accomplishments that have advanced the academic institution where employed, and recognizes his or her abilities to broaden the technological profile of TMS.

Antoine Allanore, Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyPeter Hosemann, University of California

Educator Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to education in metallurgical engineering and/or materials science and engineering.

Guenter Gottstein, RWTH Aachen

Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award: Recognizes an individual, who in the remarkable pioneering spirit of Ellen Swallow Richards, has helped or inspired others to overcome personal, professional, educational, cultural, or institutional adversity to pursue a career in minerals, metals, and/or materials.

Julia Weertman, Northwestern University

Institute of Metals/Robert Franklin Mehl Award: Recognizes an outstanding scientific leader who is selected to present a lecture at the TMS annual meeting.

Subhash Mahajan, University of California

J. Keith Brimacombe Presidential Scholarship: Awarded to an undergraduate sophomore or junior student majoring in metallurgical engineering, materials science and engineering, or minerals processing/extraction.

Thomas Chrobak, University of Wisconsin

Leadership Award: Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the national and international materials community in some aspects of the fields of metallurgy and materials.

Yuntian Zhu, North Carolina State University

Morris Cohen Award: Recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science and/or technology of materials properties.

Marc Andre Meyers, University of California

SME/TMS/AIME James Douglas Gold Medal: Recognizes distinguished achievement in non-ferrous metallurgy, including both the benefication of ores and the alloying and utilization of non-ferrous metals.

Uday Pal, Boston University

TMS Outstanding Student Paper: Students are encouraged to submit essays on global or national issues, as well as technical research papers relating to any field of metallurgy or materials science.

First Place: Brian Lin, Carnegie Mellon UniversitySecond Place: Cheng-Chieh Li, National Taiwan University

William Hume-Rothery Award: Recognizes a scientific leader for exceptional scholarly contributions to the science of alloys by inviting him/her to be an honored presenter at the William Hume-Rothery Memorial Symposium.

William Boettinger, National Institute of Standards & Technology

For more information about the TMS awards ceremony and other activities at the TMS 2015 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, visit Awardee photos are available upon request.

ABOUT TMS The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents.