The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) Announces 2014 Young Leader Professional Development Award Winners

Article ID: 612835

Released: 24-Jan-2014 10:00 PM EST

Source Newsroom: TMS (The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society)

Newswise — January 24, 2014 – Warrendale, PA (USA) – The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) announced 28 recipients as 2014 TMS Young Leader Professional Development Award Winners today. The winners will be formally recognized at the 143rd TMS Annual Meeting & Exhibition set for February 16-20 at the San Diego Convention Center, San Diego, California.

The award recognizes early-career individuals, under the age of 40, for their potential as future leaders within TMS and the materials and engineering community it serves. Award winners have unique opportunities to become more involved in society activities and to network with prominent TMS members. Advancing professional growth of TMS’s young members is part of the mission of the TMS Foundation, the award sponsor. It has tripled the original size of the award class in 2014, as well as added a second prestigious Early Career Faculty Fellowship and collaborated in support of a new international scholarship.

Hani Henein, 2014 TMS president, said, “Through the work of the TMS Foundation, TMS has made it a priority to “smooth the way,” so that young scientists and engineers can take full advantage of what being a member of TMS means, and look to TMS as their professional ‘home.’”

Award Winners receive complimentary 2014 TMS membership and sponsorship for their attendance at the TMS annual meeting in San Diego in February. They also have access to networking opportunities and an invitation to attend TMS Board of Directors and division council meetings.

The 2014 TMS Young Leader Professional Development Award Winners are:

Electronic, Magnetic & Photonic Materials Division (EMPMD)Saryu Fensin Los Alamos National Laboratory Yan Li Intel Corporation Shih-kang LinNational Cheng Kung University

Fan-Yi OuyangNational Tsing Hua University

Amit PandeyRolls Royce LG Fuel Cell Systems, Inc.

Hans ShinPacific Testing Laboratories

Eva ZurekUniversity of Buffalo, SUNY

Extraction & Processing Division (EPD)Salvador BarrigaInfinium

Yulia Meteleva-FischerMaterial Innovation Institute

Zhiwei PengMichigan Technological University

Light Metals DivisionCheuk Yi CheungUniversity of New South Wales

In-Ho JungMcGill University

Nicholas KirklandNagasaki University

Zhenke TengUnited States Steel Corporation

David Sydney WongUniversity of Auckland

Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division (MPM)Srinivasa Rao BakshiIndia Institute of Technology Madras

Amber GenauUniversity of Alabama

Paul GibbsLos Alamos National Laboratory

J. Brian JordonUniversity of Alabama

Lan LiBoise State University

Nan LiLos Alamos National Laboratory

Structural Material Division (SMD)Jennifer CarterCase Western Reserve University

Juan Pablo EscobedoUniversity of New South Wales

Jessica A. KrogstadJohns Hopkins University

Benjamin MorrowLos Alamos National Laboratory

John NychkaUniversity of Alberta

Corinne PackardColorado School of Mines

Michael R. TonksIdaho National Laboratory

For more information about the TMS Young Professionals Program, visit Information about The TMS Foundation is located at For more information about the TMS awards ceremony and other activities at the TMS 2014 Annual Meeting & Exhibition, visit

ABOUT TMS The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) is a member-driven international professional society dedicated to fostering the exchange of learning and ideas across the entire range of materials science and engineering, from minerals processing and primary metals production, to basic research and the advanced applications of materials. Included among its 12,000 professional and student members are metallurgical and materials engineers, scientists, researchers, educators, and administrators from more than 70 countries on six continents.