Newswise — Lawrenceville, NJ, USA—April 6, 2020—ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research (HEOR) announced today that its annual, international conference has been reimagined due to the COVID-19 pandemic and will now take place as a virtual conference.

Virtual ISPOR 2020  |  May 18-20, 2020  |  Save the Dates—Registration To Open Soon
Virtual ISPOR 2020, “HEOR: Advancing Evidence to Action,” will be held as an online conference and will feature each of the 3 plenaries planned for the live event that had been scheduled in Orlando, FL, USA. Issue panels, workshops, podium presentations, and symposia will also be offered at the virtual conference. Research abstracts from the conference will continue to be published in the Society’s journal, Value in Health, and will be available in the ISPOR Presentations Database. Detailed program information and registration will be announced over the next few weeks

COVID-19 Virtual Plenary (Complimentary): HEOR in the Era of COVID-19 May 14, 2020  |  10:00AM - 12:00PM EDT (14:00 - 16:00 UTC)
An additional preconference session has been added focused on COVID-19 that will be made available free to both ISPOR members and nonmembers. Registration details will be announced shortly.

Virtual ISPOR 2020—Plenary Program
The plenary program for Virtual ISPOR 2020 will include:

  • Plenary 1: Health Policy—Designing For the Future May 18, 2020 9:00AM - 10:30AM EDT (13:00 - 14:30 UTC) The World Health Organization reports that one third of the world population lacks access to medicines, vaccines, and other essential health products; threatening lives and risking the emergence of other diseases and health-related effects, such as the antimicrobial resistance. With the growing realization that health is not exclusively a cost issue, rather it is an investment for the future, this multistakeholder panel of experts will share health policy insights from both sides of the Atlantic.
  • Plenary 2: HEOR and Clinical Decision Making—Advancing Meaningful Progress May 19, 2020 |  12:30PM - 2:00PM EDT (16:30 - 18:00 UTC) The rise of big data and artificial intelligence bring wide-ranging opportunities for HEOR to become a relevant part of clinical decision making. In this plenary, panelists will explore collaborative approaches to clinical decision making and ways that HEOR could strengthen health service delivery and enhance the patient experience.
  • Plenary 3: On the Road to Enhanced Cost-Effectiveness Analysis—New Directions, New Milestones May 20, 2020 |  12:00PM - 1:30PM EDT (16:00 - 17:30 UTC) This plenary session will explore a number of innovative approaches to capture patient and societal values in value assessment frameworks that go beyond the standard cost per quality-adjusted life year (QALY) usage. The expert panel will discuss the underlying methods of these approaches and their potential for use in healthcare decision making.

Virtual Short Course Program  |  June–September 2020  |  Dates/Times To Be Announced
A virtual Short Course program will be announced over the next few weeks with courses offered from June to September 2020.

Additional information can be found at:  Virtual ISPOR 2020 Microsite  |  Press

 

###

 

ABOUT ISPOR
ISPOR, the professional society for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR), is an international, multistakeholder, nonprofit dedicated to advancing HEOR excellence to improve decision making for health globally. The Society is the leading source for scientific conferences, peer-reviewed and MEDLINE®-indexed publications, good practices guidance, education, collaboration, and tools/resources in the field.
Website  | LinkedIn  | Twitter (@ispororg)  |  YouTube  |  Facebook  |  Instagram