Newswise — NEWPORT NEWS, VA – On Oct. 23, a team from the Department of Energy's Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility was honored at the 2018 Federal Energy and Water Management Award Ceremony for upgrades made to the lab’s data center, ultimately improving its energy efficiency. The Federal Energy and Water Management Awards are presented annually by DOE to recognize individuals, groups, and agencies for outstanding contributions in the areas of energy efficiency, water conservation, and the use of advanced and renewable energy technologies at federal facilities.

The Jefferson Lab team—led by Bryan Hess, Carroll Jones and Chip Watson from Jefferson Science Associates, and Rick Korynta from the DOE Thomas Jefferson Site Office—successfully implemented data center improvement strategies that increased flexibility, decreased cost, and increased security and reliability of data center operations. This improvement effort, designed by Mason and Hanger and successfully executed by Carroll Jones, Russell Mattox, Mason & Hanger and Michele Solaroli, was part of a larger Utilities Infrastructure Modernization project at Jefferson Lab. This project allowed Jefferson Lab to cut waste by consolidating space and operating only one single highly efficient data center with an average power use effectiveness level of 1.27, an uninterruptable power supply and significantly reducing cooling water usage.

Carroll Jones, Facilities Division, and Allison Lung, Chief Planning Officer, attended the event held in Washington, D.C., with Jones accepting the award on behalf of the team. Each member of the team received a plaque commemorating the award.


Jefferson Lab is supported by the Office of Science of the U.S. Department of Energy. The Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit Jefferson Science Associates, LLC, operates and manages Jefferson Lab for the Office of Science.