Newswise — Today, U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry announced that the Department of Energy (DOE) will award 179 grants totaling $30 million to 149 small businesses in 36 states.  Funded through DOE’s Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs, today’s selections are for Phase I research and development.  

The Phase I grants will allow small businesses to research technical feasibility of new innovations that advance the mission of the Office of Science.  Phase I grants are 6-12 months in duration with a median award amount of $150,000.  Successful Phase I grantees will be eligible to apply for Phase II awards in FY 2019 that will allow them to develop novel prototypes or processes to validate their Phase I research findings. Phase II grants will have a median award amount of $1,000,000 and a duration up to 2 years. 

Highlighted below are selected grants for each of the research and development programs that provided funding for these projects:

  • Office of Advanced Scientific Computing

    • Photonic-Storage Subsystem Input/Output Interface

    • Next-Generation Analysis and Visualization Platform for Manufacturing and Engineering Workflows

    • Security Analysis and Monitoring to Prevent Abuse of High Performance Computing Environments

  • Office of Basic Energy Sciences

    • New Approaches to Extract Graphene Quantum Dots from Coals

    • Simultaneous Removal of Inorganics and Organics from Fracking Water Using Supercritical Water

    • Extreme Temperature Sample Environment for Materials Research using Neutron Scattering

  • Office of Biological and Environmental Research

    • An in-situ Device to Monitor Root-soil-microbe Interactions

    • Methods for Atom Probe Tomography of Biological Materials

    • Ultraviolet/Near-infrared Aerosol Absorption Monitor

  • Office of Nuclear Physics

    • High Efficiency RF Power Sources for Accelerator Applications

    • Radiation Hardened Infrared Focal Plane Arrays

    • Novel Design for High Field, Large Aperture Quadrupoles for Electron-Ion Collider

Additional information on DOE’s SBIR/STTR programs is available HERE. More information about the projects announced today is available HERE.