Who:         The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response, Office of Electricity, Office of Science, Office of the Chief Information Officer, and the National Nuclear Security Administration and Argonne National Laboratory

What:        The U.S. Department of Energy will hosts its CyberForce Competition™ at seven national laboratories across America. The event will unite 70 college teams to compete against each other.

Students will compete to build and defend a simulated energy infrastructure from cyber-attacks, while maintaining service for their customers (played by volunteers). A national winner, as well as winners for each laboratory site, will be announced.

When:       Saturday, December 1, 2018

                  9:00 a.m. CST – Opening remarks (live streamed across all seven labs)

                  10:00 am-6:00 pm CST – Competition

                  7:00 pm CST – Local Awards Ceremony


Where:      Argonne National Laboratory

                  Theory and Computing Sciences (Building 240)

                  9700 S. Cass Ave.

                  Lemont, IL 60439


Additional teams will be hosted at Brookhaven National Laboratory (Upton, NY), Idaho National Laboratory (Idaho Falls, ID), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley, CA), Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Oak Ridge, TN), Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (Richland, WA), and Sandia National Laboratories (Albuquerque, NM).

 VIPs:         Karen Evans, Assistant Secretary, Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response, U.S. Department of Energy

                  Bill Foster, U.S. Representative, Illinois's 11th congressional district


College Teams at Argonne:

  • Loyola University
  • Indiana University
  • University of Central Florida
  • Kansas State University
  • University of Northern Iowa
  • Purdue University
  • McKendree University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Illinois State University
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Baldwin Wallace University
  • Dakota State University
  • John A. Logan College
  • University of Houston
  • Northeastern Illinois University
  • Lewis University
  • College of DuPage


  • Microsoft Azure Government
  • Federal Training Partnership
  • West Monroe
  • Claroty
  • American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers
  • American Public Power Association
  • CybatiWorks™
  • General Atomics Electromagnetics
  • National Association of State Energy Officials
  • Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation

Additional Information: https://cyberforcecompetition.com/

Media Contact: Chris Kramer | [email protected]