Our News on Newswise

Newswise: jena_lee.jpg

As stay-at-home orders increase, so do feelings of loneliness and depression

To stop the spread of the COVID-19 coronavirus, the governing bodies of cities and states across the country are ordering people to stay home. But studies have shown that the loneliness and depression that may result from social isolation impacts...
20-Mar-2020 5:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: zivapic3.jpg

Researcher receives $3.9 million grant to study how cannabis chemicals can help with pain

Ziva Cooper, research director of the UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative, has been awarded a $3.9 million grant from the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health at the NIH to study whether cannabis chemicals called terpenes can...
17-Mar-2020 4:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Cancer and COVID-19: What you should know

UCLA Oncologists Gary Schiller, MD, and Joshua Sasine, MD, PhD, help explain what cancer patients need to know about COVID-19.
13-Mar-2020 12:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 2020-02-12_JCCC_Ribas_James_202.jpg

Clinical trial at UCLA gives hope to patient with metastatic melanoma

Jim James enrolled in a UCLA Health clinical trial to treat melanoma that spread in his lungs and liver. Today, most of the tumors have diminished in size by at least 50% and there’s no trace of any new tumors.
5-Mar-2020 6:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Men and Women Live Longer in Countries with Higher Gender Parity

In advance of International Women’s Day (Sunday, March 8), new research from the WORLD Policy Analysis Center at the UCLA Fielding School of Public Health (WORLD) shows that in countries where gender parity is high, both men and women live longer...
5-Mar-2020 10:45 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: JackFeldman.jpg

How our brains create breathing rhythm is unique to every breath

Breathing propels everything we do—so its rhythm must be carefully organized by our brain cells, right? Wrong. Every breath we take arises from a disorderly group of neurons – each like a soloist belting out its song before uniting as a chorus...
3-Mar-2020 3:10 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: iStock-185056600002.jpg

UCLA researchers find new method for measuring treatment of rare liver disease in children

Study examines the role of small molecule in children with a rare liver disease
19-Feb-2020 8:35 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: normalairwayvslungcancerimage.jpg

UCLA researchers discover new compound that promotes lung health

A molecule identified by UCLA researchers helps maintain a healthy balance of cells in airway and lung tissue. If the compound, so far only studied in isolated human and mouse cells, has the same effect in people, it may lead to new drugs to treat...
18-Feb-2020 7:25 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

Welcome to the UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations newsroom! The UCLA Health Sciences Media Relations team can help to identify the best sources for your stories about UCLA patient care, research and education.

UCLA's innovation, dedication, and ability to re-imagine medicine are having a profound effect on the healing arts all around the world. These scientific breakthroughs are due in large part to UCLA Health Sciences faculty, researchers, doctors, nurses and staff.

We can help you find expert comment for breaking medical, science and health policy stories. The team has access to pager numbers, cell phones and assistants to help you reach the right people when you are on tight deadlines. Media relations officers also can provide complete logistical support for broadcast and photography shoots, and serve as field producers for video or radio interviews, and for video B-roll and photographs.

Experts

Contacts

Melissa Abraham
Executive Director, Communications

mabraham@support.ucla.edu

310-206-0632

Brianna Aldrich
Director of Communications
dentistry, oral health

baldrich@dentistry.ucla.edu

310-206-0835

Duane Bates
Communications Director

dbates@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-4430

Ted Braun
Marketing & Media Relations Director
UCLA / Santa Monica Campus

tbraun@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4567

Carla Denly
Assistant Dean

cdenly@support.ucla.edu

3108256738

Tiare Dunlap
Development and Comm Coord

tdunlap@mednet.ucla.edu

3102068367

Marrecca Fiore
Senior Media Relations Officer
Psychiatry, Neuroscience

MFiore@mednet.ucla.edu

Judy Fortin
Executive Director of Communications

email@email.com

Phil Hampton
Director, Media Relations

phampton@mednet.ucla.edu

Denise Heady
Media Relations Manager
Cancer

dheady@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-2805

Nick Kazden
Broad Center

NKazden@mednet.ucla.edu

310-206-8367

Jane Murcia
Media Relations Repressentative/ Analytics
Nutrition/Diet, Dermatology

JMurcia@mednet.ucla.edu

David Olmos
Director, News Strategy & Editing
UCLA Depression Grand Challenge, autism, UCLA Cannabis Research Initiative

dolmos@mednet.ucla.edu

3102678276

Alana Prisco
Senior Media Relations Officer

aprisco@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-0465

Enrique Rivero
Senior Media Relations Officer
Kidney transplant; geriatrics; internal medicine; endocrinology; infectious diseases; AIDS/HIV

erivero@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-7120

Elaine Schmidt
Senior Media Relations Officer
Neurosurgery, concussion, spinal cord injury, genetics, vision, radiology, ENT, medical education

eschmidt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-267-8323

Simi Singer
Media Relations Manager
medicine

SSinger@mednet.ucla.edu

310-319-4349

Brad Smith
Senior Public Relations Officer

bssmith@support.ucla.edu

310.825.0148

Mirabai Vogt-James
Communications Manager
Broad Stem Cell Research Center

mvogt@mednet.ucla.edu

310-983-1163

Twitter

close
0.85179