Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 16x8_shutterstock_537876001x.jpg

Flexing our research muscle: Scientists use APS to better understand muscle form, function

Powerful APS X-rays are used to uncover the structure and behavior of proteins controlling tarantula muscles. These insights may help scientists better understand our own muscles.
22-Oct-2020 4:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_exascaleDaycomp2.jpg

The high-tech evolution of scientific computing: A slight return

To leverage emerging computing capabilities and prepare for future exascale systems, the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility, a DOE Office of Science User Facility, is expanding its scope beyond traditional simulation-based research to include...
19-Oct-2020 9:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: alcf_16x9_AuroraESP-Wksp2-2x.jpg

Preparing for science in the exascale era

As the future home to the Aurora exascale system, Argonne National Laboratory has been ramping up efforts to ready the supercomputer and its future users for science in the exascale era.
16-Oct-2020 11:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_29524345845_ea59226019_o.jpg

Creating the software that will unlock the power of exascale

Researchers nationwide are building the software and applications that will run on some the world’s fastest supercomputers. Among them are members of DOE’s Exascale Computing Project who recently published a paper highlighting their progress so...
14-Oct-2020 5:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ATPESC2020_dataintesive-16x9.png

Virtual Argonne training program prepares researchers for extreme-scale computing

The annual Argonne Training Program on Extreme-Scale Computing went virtual this year, providing two weeks of instruction to ready attendees for science in the exascale era.
12-Oct-2020 10:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Argonne develops unprecedented long-term wildfire prediction model

Wildfire indices and high-resolution climate models combine to produce a detailed historical analysis of wildfire events across the U.S. and suggest the potential for more severe and frequent fires in the latter half of the century.
7-Oct-2020 11:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Could Argonne’s mini nuclear reactor solve the e-truck recharging dilemma?

Electric semitrucks could revolutionize the transportation industry. But not until a convenient source of electricity is found. Could mini nuclear reactors at rest stops solve this problem?
6-Oct-2020 1:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: access-battery-lab_31283D04_1600x900.jpg

DOE awards funding to six Argonne battery manufacturing projects

Six innovative battery manufacturing projects led by the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory recently obtained funding through DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.
2-Oct-2020 11:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Christopher Kramer
Media Relations Manager

ckramer@anl.gov

630-252-5580

Alex Mitchell
Digital Communications and Regional Outreach

amitchell@anl.gov

630-252-5573

Justin Breaux
External Communications Specialist

jbreaux@anl.gov

630-252-5823

Brian Grabowski
Communications Lead
Computing, Environment & Life Science

bgrabowski@anl.gov

630-252-1232

Jared Sagoff
Communication Lead
Physical Sciences and Engineering

jsagoff@anl.gov

301-996-5886

Ben Schiltz
Communication Lead
Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

bschiltz@anl.gov

630-252-5640

Diana Anderson
Head of Communications

ddanderson@anl.gov

6302524593

Janet Barrett
Senior Desktop Publishing Specialist

jbarrett@anl.gov

630-252-6166

Johnathon Briggs
Head of Communications, Energy Storage

jbriggs@anl.gov

6302528057

Linda Conlin
Desktop Publishing Specialist

lconlin@anl.gov

630-252-3130

Lynn Hoff
Communications Lead
Radiology

media@anl.gov

630-252-1750

Karen Mellen
Communications and Marketing

kmellen@anl.gov

Vicki Skonicki
Document Processing Lead

vskonicki@anl.gov

Katie Yurkewicz
Head of Events and Protocol

kyurkewicz@anl.gov

630-840-4112

Twitter

close
1.17053