Our News on Newswise

Newswise: turbines.PNG

Predicting persistent cold pool events

In a multi-institutional field campaign with NOAA and other laboratories, researchers at Argonne National Laboratory are working to better identify and forecast the occurrence of cold pool events.
24-Feb-2020 5:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: CPS_comp_sci_16x9_32852D42.jpg

Chicago Public School students go beyond coding and explore artificial intelligence with Argonne National Laboratory

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory’s Educational Programs and Outreach department hosted Computer Science for All — Coding and Beyond, in December as a part of the Argonne National Laboratory, Chicago initiative.
21-Feb-2020 9:55 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 32906D166_16x9.jpg

Argonne and UChicago scientists take important step in developing national quantum internet

Real-world experiment in Chicago suburbs achieves quantum entanglement across 52-mile fiber network
19-Feb-2020 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Argonne National Laboratory, University of Chicago announce successful tests on quantum loop — a precursor for the national quantum internet

LEMONT, IL – On Wednesday, February 19, 2020 at noon CST, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Under Secretary for Science Paul M. Dabbar will announce scientists from Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Chicago entangled photons across a...
14-Feb-2020 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Hydropower-Feature-image1600x900.jpg

Utility player: How hydropower can help get more wind and solar on the grid

Argonne researcher Audun Botterud co-authored a recent paper from the International Energy Agency on hydropower’s potential for integrating other renewables on the grid.
17-Feb-2020 6:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: RD100winnersSAMcode_16x9.jpg

Argonne leads award-winning collaboration with Kairos Power that unveils new simulation of nuclear power plants

Argonne scientists won a 2019 R&D 100 award for collaborating with Kairos Power to create software that simulates entire nuclear power plants.
13-Feb-2020 5:30 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR_6013_ElamJeff_16x9.jpg

New Argonne etching technique could advance the way semiconductor devices are made

Researchers uncover a technique known as molecular layer etching which aid in building intricate 3D nanostructures for semiconductor devices and other microelectronics.
12-Feb-2020 2:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Argonne engineers streamline jet engine design

Argonne scientists are combining one-of-a-kind x-ray experiments with novel computer simulations to help engineers at aerospace and defense companies save time and money.
10-Feb-2020 2:50 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: Headshot2_small_0.jpg

Urban Air Pollution Expert Available: Daniel Goldberg, Ph.D. Argonne National Laboratory

6-Nov-2019 5:05 PM EST

Newswise: JoachimiakAndrzej32579D04.jpg

Ebola Drug Treatment Development Expert Available: Andrzej Joachimiak, Ph.D., Argonne National Laboratory

14-Aug-2019 10:30 PM EDT

Newswise: Petriportraithi-res111417.jpg

Argonne electric grid expert who trains officials responsible for getting critical infrastructure back on line in wake of natural disasters available for interview

16-Jan-2019 3:05 PM EST

Newswise: PfeifferKyle.jpg

Hurricane Michael: Expert on public and government use social media in a crisis available for interview

10-Oct-2018 2:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Michael: Expert in modeling/simulation, emergency preparedness and critical and energy infrastructure available

10-Oct-2018 1:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Analysis: Argonne Expert Forecasts Impacts of Natural Disasters Affecting Coastal Communities and Infrastructure

13-Sep-2018 3:05 PM EDT

The Microbiome Project: Probiotics

Argonne microbiologist Jack Gilbert explore whether or not consuming probiotics benefits our health.
21-Sep-2016 2:00 PM EDT

Newswise: SupratikGuha31458D08-Edit.jpg

Q&A: Supratik Guha

Last August, Supratik Guha joined the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory as director for both the Center for Nanoscale Materials and the laboratory’s Nanoscience & Technology Division. Guha took the time to answer a few...
29-Mar-2016 4:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Christopher Kramer
Media Relations Manager

ckramer@anl.gov

630-252-5580

Alex Mitchell
Digital Communications and Regional Outreach

amitchell@anl.gov

630-252-5573

Justin Breaux
External Communications Specialist

jbreaux@anl.gov

630-252-5823

Brian Grabowski
Communications Lead
Computing, Environment & Life Science

bgrabowski@anl.gov

630-252-1232

Tona Kunz
Communication Lead
Advanced Photon Source

tkunz@anl.gov

630-252-5560

Jared Sagoff
Communication Lead
Physical Sciences and Engineering

jsagoff@anl.gov

301-996-5886

Ben Schiltz
Communication Lead
Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

bschiltz@anl.gov

630-252-5640

Diana Anderson
Head of Communications

ddanderson@anl.gov

6302524593

Janet Barrett
Senior Desktop Publishing Specialist

jbarrett@anl.gov

630-252-6166

Johnathon Briggs
Head of Communications, Energy Storage

jbriggs@anl.gov

6302528057

Linda Conlin
Desktop Publishing Specialist

lconlin@anl.gov

630-252-3130

Lynn Hoff
Communications Lead
Radiology

media@anl.gov

630-252-1750

Karen Mellen
Communications and Marketing

kmellen@anl.gov

Vicki Skonicki
Document Processing Lead

vskonicki@anl.gov

Katie Yurkewicz
Head of Events and Protocol

kyurkewicz@anl.gov

630-840-4112

Twitter

close
Chat now!
1.33795