Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of California San Diego
La Jolla, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

FitRecsmallucsdnews.jpg

This deep learning powered tool creates better personalized workout recommendations from fitness tracking data

Computer scientists at the University of California San Diego have developed FitRec, a recommendation tool powered by deep learning, that is able to better estimate runners’ heart rates during a workout and predict and recommend routes. The team...
22-Apr-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Marris-BGP-Web-90291.jpg

Changing Strategies to Save Nature

The UC San Diego Institute for Practical Ethics welcomes environmental journalist Emma Marris to campus April 24 for an optimistic talk about new methods in conservation, the second keynote address for the new campus institute.
17-Apr-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Zheng-Chen-cathode-recycling-ambient-pressure.jpg

Researchers improve method to recycle and renew used cathodes from lithium-ion batteries

UC San Diego researchers have improved their recycling process that regenerates degraded cathodes from spent lithium-ion batteries. The new process is safer and uses less energy than their previous method in restoring cathodes to their original...
17-Apr-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

BA_MechanismforRotor.jpg

‘Magic Angle’ Offers New Way to Study Jelly States of Genes

Using liquid in a solid-state NMR experiment, UC San Diego researchers show which parts of a protein are involved in the formation of the jelly-like state and that other nuclear components can modulate the jelly state, providing a way to regulate...
15-Apr-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

KazimAli-058_TanyaRosen-Jones_1280.jpg

UC San Diego celebrates contemporary literature in New Writing Series

The UC San Diego Department of Literature’s New Writing Series has introduced hundreds of writers to the greater San Diego community since 1986, and this year’s spring speakers encompass a wide range of up-and-coming and established authors....
12-Apr-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

VargasB_1280.jpg

UC San Diego Philosophy Professor Awarded $1.2 Million Grant to Advance Research on Free Will and Responsibility

University of California San Diego Department of Philosophy professor Manuel Vargas and Santiago Amaya of the Universidad de los Andes in Bogotá, Colombia have been awarded a $1.2 million grant from the John Templeton Foundation to advance...
11-Apr-2019 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Bier-Guichard-SummaryFigure-3.jpg

Next-generation Gene Drive Arrives

Scientists developed a new version of a gene drive that spreads favorable genetic variants, also known as “alleles,” throughout a population. The new “allelic drive” is equipped with a guide RNA that directs CRISPR to cut undesired variants...
10-Apr-2019 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Broccard-Bell-3.jpg

Pesticide Cocktail Can Harm Honey Bees

A series of tests conducted over several years by UC San Diego scientists has shown for the first time that the pesticide Sivanto could pose a range of threats to honey bees depending on seasonality, bee age and use in combination with common...
10-Apr-2019 7:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

Seismologists Available to Discuss North Korea 6.3 Seismic Event

3-Sep-2017 3:05 PM EDT

Researcher Available to Discuss Impact of Solar Eclipse on Solar Power Generation

16-Aug-2017 7:05 AM EDT

Engineering Professors and Graduate Students Talk Nanotechnology and AI at San Diego Comic-Con

19-Jul-2017 4:05 PM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we constantly push boundaries and challenge expectations. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to take risks and redefine conventional wisdom. Today, as one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Experts

  • Pradeep Khosla

    Chancellor

    Keywords:
    ---
     
     
  • Pamela Radcliff

    Department of History Chair

    Keywords:
    History, Uc San Diego, Spain
     
     

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Manager, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

Jeff Gattas
Assistant Chancellor
University Communications and Public Affairs

jgattas@ucsd.edu

858-822-6914

Jade Griffin
Associate Director, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

jadegriffin@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
University Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Coordinator, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director (Interim)
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Juanita LaHaye
Marketing Manager Public Programs
UC San Diego Extension

jlahaye@ucsd.edu

858-822-2026

Laura Margoni
Senior Director of Communications
Strategic Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin

ccm003@gcloud.ucsd.edu

Clinton Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Lisa Petrillo
Communications/Media Specialist
Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute

lpetrillo@ucsd.edu

858-382-1252

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Joleen Schultz
Marketing Communications Director
Rady School of Management

joleen.schultz@rady.ucsd.edu

858-534-5468

Jericho Tallman

jll054@ucsd.edu

Jennifer White
Marketing and Communications Specialist
UC San Diego Extension

jlw043@ucsd.edu

858-534-2013

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!