Our News on Newswise

Newswise: PR20200813_noisy_neutron_star_collisions_640x400.jpg

Supercomputers Help Uncover 'Noisy' Neutron Star Collisions

A series of simulations using multiple supercomputers, including Comet at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) at UC San Diego, suggests that when the neutron stars’ masses are different enough, the result is far noisier. The models predicted...
14-Aug-2020 12:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MetalloNaturepaperAug2020-15.jpg

Flipping a metabolic switch to slow tumor growth

The enzyme serine palmitoyl-transferase can be used as a metabolically responsive “switch” that decreases tumor growth, according to a new study by a team of San Diego scientists, who published their findings Aug. 12 in the journal Nature. By...
13-Aug-2020 12:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: fig01003.jpg

Supercomputers Simulate Environmental Changes in Chesapeake Bay

Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) researchers used supercomputer simulations to examine impacts of both regional and global changes affecting the Chesapeake Bay. They discovered that historical increases in fertilizers and atmospheric...
7-Aug-2020 12:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: FlipFlopsonFootBlocks.jpg

New Science Behind Algae-based Flip-flops

UC San Diego researchers formulated polyurethane foams, made from algae oil, to meet commercial specifications for midsole shoes and the foot-bed of flip-flops. Their latest result, in a series of recent research publications, offers a complete...
6-Aug-2020 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 07232020-green-nasa.jpg

Scientists Explore Signals for a Quantum Universe

New research findings about the origin of structure in the universe could lead to more connections between cosmology and the study of quantum information.
31-Jul-2020 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: IMG_26791.png

New fabrication method brings single-crystal perovskite devices closer to viability

Nanoengineers at UC San Diego developed a new method to fabricate perovskites as single-crystal thin films, which are more efficient for use in solar cells and optical devices than the current state-of-the-art polycrystalline forms of the material.
29-Jul-2020 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 07222020-devaraj-fig1.jpg

Scientists Team Up to Create Spongy Droplets that Mimic Cellular Organelles

Taking a bottom-up approach to synthetic biology, UC San Diego chemists and physicists show that lipid sponge droplets can be programmed to internally concentrate specific proteins, host and accelerate biochemical transformations and control...
23-Jul-2020 4:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Huffaker-Immunity-NaturePlants-image-crop.jpg

Novel ‘On-off’ Switch Discovered in Plant Defenses

Researchers investigating plant defenses—from threats spanning insects to pathogens—have discovered an “on-off” switch. The finding lays the groundwork for improved plant disease resistance and food stability.
22-Jul-2020 6:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 49557144758_1ce69b4e30_o.jpg

Expert source: Proximity detection in contact tracing

5-Aug-2020 3:25 PM EDT

Newswise: BertramGallant_HeadShotPhotoCredit-MarcyZimmerman.jpg

Does Remote Instruction Make Cheating Easier?

Today, colleges across the nation are making critical decisions for the coming academic year. For some, all courses will be online; for others, the decision may be to have some classes offered in person, and the rest conducted in remote or hybrid...
14-Jul-2020 7:35 PM EDT

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Assistant Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Amy Lipsitz
Social Media Strategist
Strategic Communications

alipsitz@ucsd.edu

858-822-3353

Jericho Lopez
Director, Marketing and Business Development
UC San Diego Extension

jll054@ucsd.edu

858-534-9228

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Amanda Rubalcava
Marketing Communications Specialist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter

close
2.36407