Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of California San Diego
La Jolla, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: PR20190715_Expanse.jpg

NSF Awards $10 Million to SDSC to Deploy ‘Expanse’ Supercomputer

The San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) at the University of California San Diego, has been awarded a five-year grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) valued $10 million to deploy Expanse, a new supercomputer designed to advance research...
16-Jul-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: UCSD-JacobsSchool-20190605-Tolley_lab-09455-8MP.jpg

Get up and go bots getting closer, study says

Robotics researchers at the University of California San Diego have for the first time used a commercial 3D printer to embed complex sensors inside robotic limbs and grippers. But they found that materials commercially available for 3D printing...
16-Jul-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20190709_graphene_h2o_640x400.jpg

SDSC’s Comet Supercomputer Used to Model Graphene-Water Interaction

NJIT Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Professor Dibakar Datta and his team used the Comet supercomputer at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC), located at the University of California San Diego, to create detailed simulations of...
10-Jul-2019 12:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: spoilersstockphoto.jpg

Hate spoilers? This AI tool spots them for you

Did social media spoil the Avengers’ Endgame movie for you? Or maybe one of the Game of Thrones books? A team of researchers from the University of California San Diego is working to make sure that doesn’t happen again. They have developed an...
8-Jul-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: miramontes-studio.jpg

MFA Artist Eddy Miramontes Awarded David Antin Prize at UC San Diego

The UC San Diego Department of Visual Arts awarded artist Eddy Miramontes the David Antin Endowed Prize for Excellence in MFA Visual Arts. Having graduated June 2019, Miramontes is the second recipient.
3-Jul-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PR20190702_bladder_cancer_640x400.jpg

Using Machine Learning Models to Better Predict Bladder Cancer Stages

Bladder cancer, one of the most common cancers in the U.S., may be soon helped by a novel non-invasive diagnostic method thanks to advances in machine learning research at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC), Moores Cancer Center, and...
2-Jul-2019 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

SDSC’s Sherlock Division Debuts Innovation Accelerator Platforms

The Sherlock Division at the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) at the University of California San Diego has announced the launch of Innovation Accelerator Platforms within its Sherlock Cloud infrastructure and its newest offering
1-Jul-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CELPP.png

UC San Diego Chemists Take Aim at Drug Predictions

Chemists at UC San Diego present a promising method for easing the synthesis and evaluation of the algorithms, chemistry and technology needed to predict the bound poses of ligands within a targeted protein—a necessity for the design of new drug...
27-Jun-2019 4:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: callender.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Newswise: 20160727-Best_Teacher-3311-ok.jpg

Structural Engineer Available for Interviews About Damage in Mexico Earthquake.

20-Sep-2017 1:05 PM EDT

Saving the World, One Robot Swarm-Infested Hurricane at a Time

11-Sep-2017 6:05 PM EDT

Seismologists Available to Discuss North Korea 6.3 Seismic Event

3-Sep-2017 3:05 PM EDT

Researcher Available to Discuss Impact of Solar Eclipse on Solar Power Generation

16-Aug-2017 7:05 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we constantly push boundaries and challenge expectations. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to take risks and redefine conventional wisdom. Today, as one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Biological Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Christine Clark
Manager, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Alicia Clarke
Communications Manager
Qualcomm Institute

amclarke@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-5825

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-0142

Michelle Franklin
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-534-8564

Jeff Gattas
Assistant Chancellor
University Communications and Public Affairs

jgattas@ucsd.edu

858-822-6914

Jade Griffin
Associate Director, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

jadegriffin@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Janet Howard
Director, Digital Communications
University Communications

jehoward@ucsd.edu

858-822-2986

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Coordinator, Marketing and Communications
University Communications

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director (Interim)
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Juanita LaHaye
Marketing Manager Public Programs
UC San Diego Extension

jlahaye@ucsd.edu

858-822-2026

Laura Margoni
Senior Director of Communications
Strategic Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Chase Martin

ccm003@gcloud.ucsd.edu

Clinton Martin
Media Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

ccm003@ucsd.edu

858-246-3101

Robert Monroe
Communications Specialist
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Lisa Petrillo
Communications/Media Specialist
Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute

lpetrillo@ucsd.edu

858-382-1252

Judy Piercey
Sr. Director, Strategic Marketing Communications
Strategic Marketing Communications

jpiercey@ucsd.edu

8585346128

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Joleen Schultz
Marketing Communications Director
Rady School of Management

joleen.schultz@rady.ucsd.edu

858-534-5468

Jericho Tallman

jll054@ucsd.edu

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Jan Zverina
Director of Communications
San Diego Supercomputer Center

jzverina@sdsc.edu

858-534-5111

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!