Our News on Newswise

Newswise: TRAVIS_Lois.jpg

IU cancer center researcher awarded $5.7 million to study chemo-induced hearing loss, toxicities

A researcher at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center has been awarded a five-year, $5.7 million National Cancer Institute grant to evaluate long-term health outcomes for cancer patients who receive platinum-based...
9-Sep-2020 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ltciah.jpg

Paper ballots, risk-limiting audits can help defend elections and democracy, IU study finds

With just over two months before the 2020 election, three professors at the Indiana University Kelley School of Business offer a comprehensive review of how other nations are seeking to protect their democratic institutions and presents how a...
2-Sep-2020 10:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: ixjlg6t8xy_actual.jpg

Sports Industry Workshop at Kelley School has support of top executives from NBA, NFL, NCAA and NHL

With support from an all-star roster of top executives from the NBA, NFL, NCAA and NHL, related ventures and sports agents, the Indiana University Kelley School of Business has launched a unique, immersive experience for undergraduate students...
1-Sep-2020 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PICARD_mealworms.jpg

Mealworm shows promise as a good, sustainable food source, study finds

With global food demands rising at an alarming rate, a study led by IUPUI scientists has found new evidence that the yellow mealworm shows promise as alternative source of nutritional protein.
31-Aug-2020 11:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: konrath_sara.jpg

Is being generous the next beauty trend?

Research from Indiana University found that more attractive people are more likely to be givers, and givers are rated as more attractive.
31-Aug-2020 11:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: lcrdcq.jpg

Cleaning products used to stop spread of COVID may be harmful on their own, study finds

Cleaning and disinfecting have taken on new levels of seriousness in the wake of the global COVID-19 pandemic. But new research from Indiana University suggests that increased use of chemicals to help thwart the spread of the virus may pose health...
26-Aug-2020 9:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AfusehEric_5x7.jpg

IUPUI study looks at prevention strategy for substance use disorder

A recent study from IUPUI found risk factors for substance use disorder affect age groups differently and proposes a primary prevention strategy for substance use disorder that is individualized for people within defined age groups.
20-Aug-2020 11:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Airing commercials after political ads actually helps sell nonpolitical products

About $7 billion reportedly will be spent this fall on television and digital commercials from political campaigns and political action committees, filling the airwaves with political ads many viewers dislike. Companies running ads immediately...
18-Aug-2020 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: element_12_f030833acd8bb3b4c21ac9af087e9d6d-251-SGISBauerleDanzmanSarah_20170308_004.jpg

International political economist available to comment on Trump administration’s TikTok, WeChat ban

18-Sep-2020 10:15 AM EDT

Newswise: FILIPPELLI_Gabriel.jpg

Hurricane and climate experts from @IndianaUniv are available to comment on #HurricaneSally's landfall in Alabama

16-Sep-2020 12:30 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_c361a4e42316da417741620e3b2cf4fd-gabriel%20filippelli%20(2).jpg

IU experts available to comment on Hurricane Laura and Storm Surge

26-Aug-2020 3:20 PM EDT

Newswise: anderson.jpg

Record-breaking drop in U.S. GDP: experts available to comment

During the second quarter of 2020, real gross domestic product decreased at an annual rate of 32.9 percent, according to the advance estimate released July 30 by the U.S. Commerce Department's Bureau of Economic Analysis. The fall in economic output...
30-Jul-2020 2:55 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_68143062622b147491baad48667d4bc0-856-baggetta_matthew-square.jpg

IU experts available to comment on President Trump's suggestion to delay 2020 election

30-Jul-2020 1:40 PM EDT

Newswise: element_12_c361a4e42316da417741620e3b2cf4fd-gabrielfilippelli2.jpg

Experts available to comment on 2020 Atlantic hurricane season

Indiana University experts are available to comment on the 2020 Atlantic Hurricane season in light of Hurricane Hanna's recent landfall in Texas, the first Atlantic hurricane to make a July landfall in that state since Hurricane Dolly in 2008.
29-Jul-2020 4:25 PM EDT

Tourism Professor Can Comment on Travel During COVID-19 Pandemic

16-Jul-2020 8:55 AM EDT

Newswise: element_12_4a0d42751b82af4cdbcadb5c7913fe7f-641-madeira-15-master-edited.jpg

IU experts available to comment on delayed executions of federal death row inmates

13-Jul-2020 11:55 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Founded in 1820, Indiana University is one of the world's foremost public institutions. With more than 111,000 students and 19,000 employees statewide, IU continues to pursue its core missions of education and research while building a foundation for the university's enduring strengths in teaching and learning, world-class scholarship, innovation, creative activity, community engagement and academic freedom. Bloomington is the flagship campus of the university, and each one of IU's seven campuses is an accredited, four-year degree-granting institution.

Experts

Contacts

Cadence Baugh Chang
Digital Communications Specialist

clbaugh@iu.edu

Niha Alasapuri
News and Media Intern

nalasapu@iu.edu

Haley Begay
Communications Intern

hbegay@iu.edu

James Boyd
Director of Marketing and Communications
at School of Public and Environmental Affairs

joboyd@indiana.edu

(812) 856-5490

Barbara Brosher
Presidential communications and public affairs specialist

bbrosher@iu.edu

812-855-1175

Lauren Bryant
Editor of Research & Creative Activity

labryant@indiana.edu

812-855-4152

Chuck Carney
Director of Media Relations

ccarney@iu.edu

812-855-1892

Jamie Cesanek
Intern Journalist

jcesanek@iu.edu

Kelsey Cook
Associate Director of Research Communications

kelrcook@iu.edu

(317) 274-5090

Amber Denney
Assistant Director, Strategic Communications

ambdenne@iu.edu

317-278-7703

Joel Fosha
IIDC Office of Public Relations
Science

foshaj@indiana.edu

812-855-6508

Kevin Fryling
Senior News and Media Specialist, Science

kfryling@iu.edu

812-856-2988

Sherry Garrity
Arts/Humanities

sgarrity@indiana.edu

812-856-0695

Kim Hannel
News Editor

khannel@iu.edu

317-274-7733

Drew Hansen
Communications Intern

hansendr@iu.edu

317-999-8090

Leigh Hedger
Digital Content and Analytics Senior Coordinator

lahedger@iu.edu

317-274-5494

Jonathan Hines
Communications & Outreach Manager, IU's Environmental Resilience Institute

johines@iu.edu

812-856-3610

Mary Keck
Communications Manager

marykeck@iu.edu

(812) 856-2148

Laura Klaum
Director of External Affairs & Special Projects

lklaum@iupui.edu

317-274-1484

Sally Krause
Director of Marketing & Strategic Communications
School of Nursing

skrause@iu.edu

317-278-2048

Bill Layden
Adjunct Professor of Practice

bilayden@iu.edu

812-855-4867

Steve Martin
Senior Communications Specialist
Technology Commercialization; Arts and Humanities

stgmart@iu.edu

317-278-1505

Bethany Nolan
News and Media Specialist

nolanb@indiana.edu

812-855-6494

Mary Olk
Communications Specialist/Content Strategist

meolk@iu.edu

317-274-5432

Darrin Pack
Sr. Content and Media Strategist

darpack@iu.edu

Jennifer Piurek
Director, Communications and Special Projects
Office of the Provost

jpiurek@indiana.edu

812-856-4886

Ryan Piurek
Assistant Vice President, Presidential Communications and Special Projects

rpiurek@indiana.edu

812-855-5393

Amanda Roach
Assistant Director Strategic Communications

ajr1@iu.edu

812-856-3717

John Schwarb
Senior Communications Specialist

schwarbj@iu.edu

317-274-2195

Avery Scott
Communications Intern

avescott@iu.edu

6308818186

April Toler
Senior Associate Director of Communications, Office of the Vice President for Research

artoler@iu.edu

812-855-3851

George Vlahakis
Associate Director of Communications and Media Relations
Business, Public and Environmental Affairs

vlahakis@iu.edu

812-855-0846

Holly Vonderheit
Executive Director, Strategic Communications

hvonderh@iu.edu

317-274-5434

Michelle Watson
News Editor

mw89@iu.edu

812-856-9035

Nicole Wilkins
Executive Director of Research Communications

nnwilkin@iu.edu

812-856-2119

Marah Yankey
Senior News and Media Specialist

mqharbis@iu.edu

(812) 856-1442

Andrea Zeek
Senior Content and Media Strategist

anzeek@iu.edu

317-278-1703

Twitter

close
2.63876