Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

iStock-898893998.jpg

Science Snapshots: Lithium Under Pressure, A 'Silver Bullet' for the Conversion of Carbon Dioxide, Understanding Microbiomes for Wastewater Treatment

Researchers at Berkeley Lab’s Molecular Foundry have predicted fascinating new properties of lithium; a powerful combination of experiment and theory has revealed atomic-level details about how silver helps transform carbon dioxide gas into a...
23-May-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

SuperEmitters-BerkeleyLab.jpg

Berkeley Lab Project to Pinpoint Methane ‘Super Emitters’

Methane, a potent greenhouse gas that traps about 30 times more heat than carbon dioxide, is commonly released from rice fields, dairies, landfills, and oil and gas facilities – all of which are plentiful in California. Now Berkeley Lab has been...
21-May-2019 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

CosmoGANfig3.png

CosmoGAN: Training a Neural Network to Study Dark Matter

A Berkeley Lab-led research group is using a deep learning method known as generative adversarial networks to enhance the use of gravitational lensing in the study of dark matter.
16-May-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

XBD201704-00068-061.jpg

Breakthrough Technique for Studying Gene Expression Takes Root in Plants

An open-source RNA analysis platform has been successfully used on plant cells for the first time – an advance that could herald a new era of fundamental research and bolster efforts to engineer more efficient food and biofuel crop plants. The...
16-May-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

After_Sunset_at_the_Torii_Gate_-_Miyajima_42090425711.jpg

Study Concludes Glassy Menagerie of Particles in Beach Sands Near Hiroshima is Fallout Debris from A-Bomb Blast

A years-long study that involved scientists and experiments at Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley concluded that an odd assortment of particles found in beach sands in Japan are most likely fallout debris from the 1945 Hiroshima A-bomb blast.
10-May-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Superfacility Framework Advances Photosynthesis Research

For more than a decade, a team of international researchers led by Berkeley Lab bioscientists has been studying Photosystem II, a protein complex in green plants, algae, and cyanobacteria that plays a crucial role in photosynthesis. They’re now...
9-May-2019 4:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

CMB-map-lensing-illustration-crop.jpg

A New Filter to Better Map the Dark Universe

To address messy measurements of the cosmic web that connects matter in the universe, researchers at Berkeley Lab developed a way to improve the accuracy and clarity of these measurements based on the stretching of the universe’s oldest light.
8-May-2019 1:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

depolymerized-plastic-690x421.png

Plastic Gets a Do-Over: Breakthrough Discovery Recycles Plastic From the Inside Out

A team of researchers at Berkeley Lab has designed a recyclable plastic that, like a Lego playset, can be disassembled into its constituent parts at the molecular level, and then reassembled into a different shape, texture, and color again and again...
6-May-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Experts on Ecosystems Getting Greener in the Arctic

28-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST

ur8Fh-rA.jpg

How Drought and Other Extremes Impact Water Pollution

One in 10 Americans depends on the Colorado River for bathing and drinking. Last fall’s record-high temperatures reduced Colorado snowpack in winter 2018 to 66 percent of normal, sparking concern over water shortages downstream and leaving water...
10-Oct-2018 11:30 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Massie Ballon
Communications & Outreach

mlballon@lbl.gov

925-927-2541

Julie Chao
Science Writer

jhchao@lbl.gov

510-486-6491

Theresa Duque

tnduque@lbl.gov

John German
Chief Communications Officer

jdgerman@lbl.gov

510-697-7918

David Gilbert
Public Affairs Manager
Energy & Environmental Genomics

degilbert@lbl.gov

925-296-5643

Kathy Kincade
Technology Writer/Editor
Computing Sciences

kkincade@lbl.gov

510-495-2124

Aliyah Kovner

akovner@lbl.gov

Dan Krotz
Science Writer

DAKrotz@lbl.gov

510-486-4019

David Nguyen
PR Assistant

DHNguyen@lbl.gov

Glenn Roberts
Science Writer
X-ray light sources

geroberts@lbl.gov

510-486-5582

Marilyn Saarni
Earth & Env Science Writer

mesaarni@lbl.gov

510-910-1730

Keri Troutman
Writer-editor

khtroutman@lbl.gov

510-486-5071

Linda Vu
Communications Specialist
Computing Sciences / Networking

lvu@lbl.gov

5104952402

Ashley White
Director of Communications, Advanced Light Source

alscommunications@lbl.gov

Margie Wylie
Public Affairs Specialist, Computing Sciences

mwylie@lbl.gov

5104867421

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!