Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

The Best Topological Conductor Yet: Spiraling Crystal Is the Key to Exotic Discovery

A team of researchers working at Berkeley Lab has discovered the strongest topological conductor yet, in the form of thin crystal samples that have a spiral-staircase structure. The team’s result is reported in the March 20 edition of the journal...
18-Mar-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

XBD201902-00568-001.jpg

Bright Skies for Plant-Based Jet Fuels

With an estimated daily fuel demand of more than 5 million barrels per day, the global aviation sector is incredibly energy-intensive and almost entirely reliant on petroleum-based fuels. However, a new analysis by scientists at Berkeley Lab shows...
18-Mar-2019 6:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

03131919-JG-5793NaturePressReleaseGraphic_v7_300dpi.png

Uncovering Uncultivated Microbes in the Human Gut

A human’s health is shaped both by environmental factors and the body’s interactions with the microbiome, particularly in the gut. Genome sequences are critical for characterizing individual microbes and understanding their functional roles....
14-Mar-2019 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

sb-2018-004482_0008-1024x389.jpg

Engineering Living ‘Scaffolds’ for Building Materials

Researchers at DOE’s Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory have developed a platform that uses living cells as "scaffolds” for self-assembled composite materials. The technology could enable self-healing materials and other advanced applications...
14-Mar-2019 11:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Passalid.jpg

Nature’s Own Biorefinery

New research from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory shows how the long-horned passalid beetle has a hardy digestive tract with microbes to thank for turning its woody diet into energy, food for its young, and nutrients for forest growth. These...
7-Mar-2019 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

tungsten-disulfide-atomic-structure-and-2D-flakes-crop.jpg

Scientists Take a Deep Dive Into the Imperfect World of 2D Materials

A team led by scientists at Berkeley Lab has learned how natural nanoscale defects can enhance the properties of tungsten disulfide, a 2D material.
7-Mar-2019 11:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

wang_figure1d-768x768.jpg

When Semiconductors Stick Together, Materials Go Quantum

A team led by DOE’s Berkeley Lab has developed a method that could turn ordinary semiconducting materials into quantum machines – devices marked by extraordinary electronic behavior that could help to revolutionize a number of industries aiming...
7-Mar-2019 10:15 AM EST Add to Favorites

AK.png

Using Tiny Organisms to Unlock Big Environmental Mysteries

When you hear about the biological processes that influence climate and the environment, such as carbon fixation or nitrogen recycling, it’s easy to think of them as abstract and incomprehensibly large-scale phenomena. Yet parts of these...
7-Mar-2019 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Experts on Ecosystems Getting Greener in the Arctic

28-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST

ur8Fh-rA.jpg

How Drought and Other Extremes Impact Water Pollution

One in 10 Americans depends on the Colorado River for bathing and drinking. Last fall’s record-high temperatures reduced Colorado snowpack in winter 2018 to 66 percent of normal, sparking concern over water shortages downstream and leaving water...
10-Oct-2018 11:30 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Massie Ballon
Communications & Outreach

mlballon@lbl.gov

925-927-2541

Julie Chao
Science Writer

jhchao@lbl.gov

510-486-6491

Theresa Duque

tnduque@lbl.gov

John German
Chief Communications Officer

jdgerman@lbl.gov

510-697-7918

David Gilbert
Public Affairs Manager
Energy & Environmental Genomics

degilbert@lbl.gov

925-296-5643

Kathy Kincade
Technology Writer/Editor
Computing Sciences

kkincade@lbl.gov

510-495-2124

Aliyah Kovner

akovner@lbl.gov

Dan Krotz
Science Writer

DAKrotz@lbl.gov

510-486-4019

David Nguyen
PR Assistant

DHNguyen@lbl.gov

Glenn Roberts
Science Writer
X-ray light sources

geroberts@lbl.gov

510-486-5582

Marilyn Saarni
Earth & Env Science Writer

mesaarni@lbl.gov

510-910-1730

Linda Vu
Communications Specialist
Computing Sciences / Networking

lvu@lbl.gov

5104952402

Ashley White
Director of Communications, Advanced Light Source

alscommunications@lbl.gov

Margie Wylie
Public Affairs Specialist, Computing Sciences

mwylie@lbl.gov

5104867421

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!