Our News on Newswise

New Ion Cooling Technique Could Simplify Quantum Computing Devices

A new cooling technique that utilizes a single species of trapped ion for both computing and cooling could simplify the use of quantum charge-coupled devices (QCCDs), potentially moving quantum computing closer to practical applications.
5-Feb-2024 8:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65b7e4b3498ba_Micrographofamucinousovariantumor-NIH.jpg

Researchers Leverage AI to Develop Early Diagnostic Test for Ovarian Cancer

The Georgia Tech Integrated Cancer Research Center has combined machine learning with information on blood metabolites to develop a new early diagnostic test that detects ovarian cancer with 93 percent accuracy.
29-Jan-2024 12:45 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65a0262954dbf_20230421nidyeast.jpg

Researchers Create Light-Powered Yeast, Providing Insights Into Evolution, Biofuels, Cellular Aging

Georgia Tech researchers have engineered one of the world’s first yeast cells able to harness energy from light, expanding our understanding of the evolution of this trait — and paving the way for advancements in biofuel production and cellular...
11-Jan-2024 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Researchers create first functional semiconductor made from graphene

Researchers at the Georgia Institute of Technology have created the world’s first functional semiconductor made from graphene, a single sheet of carbon atoms held together by the strongest bonds known. The breakthrough throws open the door to a...
3-Jan-2024 11:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Ethical Leaders Promote Creative Teams Under the Right Conditions

In a world where CEOs become thought leaders, being an ethical leader is paramount. But does this type of leader inspire their team to be creative? For years, it’s been a common assumption in the organizational behavior field that the more ethical...
11-Dec-2023 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Residential Solar Power Saves Less Energy Than Expected

This paradox is called the solar rebound effect: the ratio of the increase in energy consumption to the amount that is generated by the solar panels. In new research out of the Georgia Institute of Technology, Matthew Oliver, an associate professor...
20-Nov-2023 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65565386a8324_ScreenShot2023-11-15at3.55.54PM.png

Genetics study shines light on health disparities for IBD

In a new study, researchers at the Georgia Institute of Technology investigated whether 25 rare gene variants known to be associated with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) play a role in risk for African Americans.
16-Nov-2023 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 652409205abd1_AnolisdistichusfemaleJonSuh.jpg

Long-term lizard study challenges the rules of evolutionary biology

James Stroud, assistant professor in the School of Biological Sciences at the Georgia Institute of Technology, measured natural selection in four Anolis lizard species in the wild for five consecutive time periods over three years.
9-Oct-2023 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Economist Predicts Worsening Inflation but Relief in 2022

Things may get worse before they get better this holiday season according to Dr. Willie Belton, an economist from the Georgia Institute of Technology.
30-Nov-2021 4:50 PM EST

Newswise: Website-Wendy2.png

How Food Supply Issues May Affect Your Thanksgiving Table

What can shoppers expect and how can they be prepared this holiday season? Georgia Tech food supply chain and safety expert Wendy White shares her insights.
18-Nov-2021 4:10 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

Georgia Tech will define the technological research university of the 21st century. As a result, we will be leaders in influencing major technological, social, and policy decisions that address critical global challenges. “What does Georgia Tech think?” will be a common question in research, business, the media, and government.

Technological change is fundamental to the advancement of the human condition. The Georgia Tech community—students, staff, faculty, and alumni—will realize our motto of “Progress and Service” through effectiveness and innovation in teaching and learning, our research advances, and entrepreneurship in all sectors of society. We will be leaders in improving the human condition in Georgia, the United States, and around the globe.

Experts

Contacts

Ayana Isles
Media Relations Representative

aisles3@gatech.edu

Steven Norris
Director of Media Relations and Social Media

steven.norris@comm.gatech.edu

(404) 385-0591

Tracey Reeves
Associate Vice President for Research and Academic Communications

tracey.reeves@gatech.edu

Siobhan Rodriguez
Media Relations Representative

sar30@gatech.edu

(404) 660-2926

Tamara Wilder
Production Coordinator

tamara.wilder@comm.gatech.edu

(404) 385-3411

Joshua Stewart
Media Relations Rep

jstewart@gatech.edu

404.894.6016

Denise Ward
Media Relations Representative

denise.ward@comm.gatech.edu

4043852966

Catherine Barzler
Sr. Research Writer/Editor

catherine.barzler@gatech.edu

Lacey Cameron
Senior Event Marketing Manager

lcameron30@gatech.edu

Jerry Grillo
IBB Communications Officer II

jerry.grillo@ibb.gatech.edu

Jess Hunt-Ralston
Director of Communications, College of Sciences

jess@cos.gatech.edu

+1 (404) 385-5207

Karen Kirkpatrick

karen.kirkpatrick@innovate.gatech.edu

Jason Maderer
Director of Communications for Georgia Tech's College of Engineering

email@email.com

Jason Maderer
Director of Communications, College of Engineering

jason.maderer@coe.gatech.edu

404-276-1643

Tess Malone
Ccommunications Officer

tess.malone@gatech.edu

Georgia Parmelee
Director of Research Communications

georgia.parmelee@gatech.edu

Peralte Paul
Marketing Communications Manager

peralte.paul@comm.gatech.edu

Michael Pearson

michael.pearson@iac.gatech.edu

Megan Terraso McRainey
Director of Communications

megan.mcrainey@gatech.edu

Twitter

Instagram

Instagram feed not yet configured. Click "Edit Instagram Feed" to enter your Instagram details.
close
0.36059