Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 651429c7efed8_clathrate.jpg

Novel bacterial proteins from seafloor shine light on climate and astrobiology

In a groundbreaking study, a team of Georgia Tech researchers has unveiled a remarkable discovery: the identification of novel bacterial proteins that play a vital role in the formation and stability of methane clathrates, which trap gigatons of...
27-Sep-2023 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64f0987c90eeb_TRIAD-Phased-Array06.jpg

TRIAD Streamlines Edge Processing of Data in Phased-Array Antennas

As the number of elements on phased array antennas continues to grow, so does the volume of data that must be processed. To address this, researchers have developed a new approach to process that data closer to where it is generated - on the antenna...
31-Aug-2023 9:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64e3a1803e7f4_glacierbeforeandafter.jpg

Thinning Ice Sheets May Drive Sharp Rise in Subglacial Waters

A new study led by Georgia Tech shows that water underneath glaciers may surge due to thinning ice sheets — a dangerous feedback cycle that could increase glacial melt, sea level rise, and biological disturbances.
21-Aug-2023 1:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

GridTrust Helps Protect the Nation’s Electric Utilities from Cyber Threats

A new cybersecurity technology that relies on the unique digital fingerprint of individual semiconductor chips could help protect the equipment of electrical utilities from malicious attacks that exploit software updates on devices controlling the...
15-Aug-2023 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64d280c57369f_Figure3bLargeCorporatePurchases2013.jpg

Investors Force Black Families Out of Home Ownership, New Research Shows

Data from 800 neighborhoods in the Atlanta metropolitan area between 2007 and 2016 revealed that major investors bought homes in majority-minority neighborhoods far from downtowns and in lower-income areas. These homes were often undervalued because...
8-Aug-2023 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64b99f77da7a3_turning-the-tide-banner.png

Turning the Tide on Climate Change

From the thousands of feet of frozen glaciers to the rising seas off Savannah’s coast, Georgia Institute of Technology researchers are measuring, modeling, and predicting just how climate change is impacting our oceans.
20-Jul-2023 4:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 64b8469705c2d_23-R5001-P10-0021.jpg

Aluminum Materials Show Promising Performance for Safer, Cheaper, More Powerful Batteries

Georgia Tech researchers are using aluminum foil to create batteries with higher energy density and greater stability. The team’s new battery system could enable electric vehicles to run longer on a single charge and would be cheaper to...
19-Jul-2023 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

New Chef Dataset Brings AI to Cooking

Researchers created a dataset called ChattyChef, which uses natural language processing models that can help a user cook a recipe. Using the open-source large language model GPT-J, ChattyChef’s dataset of cooking dialogues follows recipes with the...
5-Jul-2023 12:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: belton.jpg

Economist Predicts Worsening Inflation but Relief in 2022

Things may get worse before they get better this holiday season according to Dr. Willie Belton, an economist from the Georgia Institute of Technology.
30-Nov-2021 4:50 PM EST

Newswise: Website-Wendy2.png

How Food Supply Issues May Affect Your Thanksgiving Table

What can shoppers expect and how can they be prepared this holiday season? Georgia Tech food supply chain and safety expert Wendy White shares her insights.
18-Nov-2021 4:10 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

Georgia Tech will define the technological research university of the 21st century. As a result, we will be leaders in influencing major technological, social, and policy decisions that address critical global challenges. “What does Georgia Tech think?” will be a common question in research, business, the media, and government.

Technological change is fundamental to the advancement of the human condition. The Georgia Tech community—students, staff, faculty, and alumni—will realize our motto of “Progress and Service” through effectiveness and innovation in teaching and learning, our research advances, and entrepreneurship in all sectors of society. We will be leaders in improving the human condition in Georgia, the United States, and around the globe.

Experts

Contacts

Ayana Isles
Media Relations Representative

aisles3@gatech.edu

Steven Norris
Director of Media Relations and Social Media

steven.norris@comm.gatech.edu

(404) 385-0591

Tracey Reeves
Associate Vice President for Research and Academic Communications

tracey.reeves@gatech.edu

Siobhan Rodriguez
Media Relations Representative

sar30@gatech.edu

(404) 660-2926

Tamara Wilder
Production Coordinator

tamara.wilder@comm.gatech.edu

(404) 385-3411

Joshua Stewart
Media Relations Rep

jstewart@gatech.edu

404.894.6016

Denise Ward
Media Relations Representative

denise.ward@comm.gatech.edu

4043852966

Catherine Barzler
Sr. Research Writer/Editor

catherine.barzler@gatech.edu

Lacey Cameron
Senior Event Marketing Manager

lcameron30@gatech.edu

Jerry Grillo
IBB Communications Officer II

jerry.grillo@ibb.gatech.edu

Jess Hunt-Ralston
Director of Communications, College of Sciences

jess@cos.gatech.edu

+1 (404) 385-5207

Karen Kirkpatrick

karen.kirkpatrick@innovate.gatech.edu

Jason Maderer
Director of Communications for Georgia Tech's College of Engineering

email@email.com

Jason Maderer
Director of Communications, College of Engineering

jason.maderer@coe.gatech.edu

404-276-1643

Tess Malone
Ccommunications Officer

tess.malone@gatech.edu

Georgia Parmelee
Director of Research Communications

georgia.parmelee@gatech.edu

Peralte Paul
Marketing Communications Manager

peralte.paul@comm.gatech.edu

Michael Pearson

michael.pearson@iac.gatech.edu

Megan Terraso McRainey
Director of Communications

megan.mcrainey@gatech.edu

Twitter

Instagram

Instagram feed not yet configured. Click "Edit Instagram Feed" to enter your Instagram details.
close
0.56675