Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 62fc1b612a869_UCSD-JacobsSchool-20220815-Cauwenberghs-NeuRRam-00621-e-8MP.jpg

A new neuromorphic chip for AI on the edge, at a small fraction of the energy and size of today’s compute platforms

An international team of researchers has designed and built a chip that runs computations directly in memory and can run a wide variety of AI applications–all at a fraction of the energy consumed by computing platforms for general-purpose AI...
16-Aug-2022 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62fc197543b61_dementiagrantinset2.png

UC San Diego Receives $1.3M from W. M. Keck Foundation to Study Origins of Dementia

UC San Diego researchers received a $1.3 million grant from the Keck Foundation for a project that could help scientists better understand the role misfolded tau proteins play in causing neurodegenerative diseases like dementia, which may lead to...
16-Aug-2022 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: rainbow-over-geisel-library-UCSanDiego-ErikJepsen_primary.jpg

UC San Diego Named 5th Best Public University by Academic Ranking of World Universities

The University of California San Diego has been ranked 5th among the nation’s best public universities for its award-winning faculty and alumni, academic performance and impactful research. The new 2022 Academic Ranking of World Universities...
15-Aug-2022 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62eab9aa1f45c_tomographyreducedpixelation.jpg

Giant Viruses Build a Cell Nucleus Surprisingly Like Our Own

Scientists are using new technologies to obtain unprecedented looks inside viruses and their unique abilities to infect and destroy bacteria. Using cryo-EM and other technologies, they found that jumbo phage cells feature a compartment that is...
3-Aug-2022 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e96e44054a0_iStock-1221628967.jpg

Health Risks of COVID-19 Spurred More Smokers to Quit

Being a smoker makes it more likely for a person to have severe COVID-19 symptoms, require hospitalization or die, which may explain a sharp decrease in smoking behavior among the Danish population during the pandemic, according to new research.
2-Aug-2022 2:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e8285159d46_ForWebsite.jpg

Successful Women Make the Best Advocates to Help other Women Rise up in the Ranks

New research utilizing data from U.S. Supreme Court law clerk hiring decisions finds that female job applicants with recommendations from other, highly tenured women have the strongest chance of getting a job offer.
1-Aug-2022 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 62e32c2a17bff_EnCORETeam.jpg

New $10M NSF-Funded Institute Will Get to the CORE of Data Science

A new National Science Foundation initiative has created a $10 million dollar institute led by computer and data scientists at University of California San DIego that aims to transform the core fundamentals of the rapidly emerging field of Data...
28-Jul-2022 8:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: campwit-1.jpg

Hackathon Brings Next Generation of Innovators to Campus

On July 18-20, the UC San Diego Office of Innovation and Commercialization hosted a Camp WIT hackathon at the new Design and Innovation building on campus. The event gathered close to three dozen students for three days of hands-on lessons and...
28-Jul-2022 2:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Your Questions, Answered: Examining Mistrust and Vaccines

On Feb. 22, the University of California San Diego brought together a panel of industry experts and esteemed faculty to kick off the university’s “Evenings of Nonconventional Wisdom” online event series hosted in celebration of the...
19-Mar-2021 5:20 PM EDT

Wildfire Experts


11-Sep-2020 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: download - 2022-01-24T132207.262.jpeg

Expert source: Proximity detection in contact tracing

5-Aug-2020 3:25 PM EDT

Newswise: remote-instruction-and-cheating.jpg

Does Remote Instruction Make Cheating Easier?

Today, colleges across the nation are making critical decisions for the coming academic year. For some, all courses will be online; for others, the decision may be to have some classes offered in person, and the rest conducted in remote or hybrid...
14-Jul-2020 7:35 PM EDT

Newswise: institute-for-practical-ethics-conference.jpg

Understanding the ethics of genetic engineering – let our experts at UC San Diego explain

7-Jun-2019 2:05 PM EDT

Newswise: siocomm_A_talley_001.jpg

Scripps Oceanographer Lynne Talley Available to Comment on the Topic of Atlantic Ocean Circulation

11-Apr-2018 5:05 PM EDT

Newswise: PR20171013_wifire_dc.jpg

Northern CA Wildfires Generate 1.5 Million Views of UC San Diego’s ‘Firemap’ Resource

A web-based tool recently developed by UC San Diego researchers under an NSF grant to perform data-driven predictive modeling and real-time tracking of fires has already been viewed about one million times and generated more than 115,000 unique...
13-Oct-2017 4:05 PM EDT

Newswise: EmmaFarley.jpg

UC San Diego Scientists Garner National High-Risk, High-Reward Awards

Emma Farley, an assistant professor at UC San Diego’s Division of Biological Sciences and School of Medicine, has been awarded the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Melissa Gymrek, an assistant professor in the School of Medicine and...
5-Oct-2017 1:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UC San Diego
At the University of California San Diego, we embrace a culture of exploration and experimentation. Established in 1960, UC San Diego has been shaped by exceptional scholars who aren’t afraid to look deeper, challenge expectations and redefine conventional wisdom. As one of the top 15 research universities in the world, we are driving innovation and change to advance society, propel economic growth and make our world a better place. Learn more at www.ucsd.edu.

Experts

Contacts

Mario Aguilera
Director of Communications
Division of Physical Sciences

maguilera@ucsd.edu

(858) 822-5148

Ana Amado-Garcia
Marketing Manager
Rady School of Management

ana.amado@rady.ucsd.edu

Debra Bass
Sr. Communications and Public Relations Manager
UC San Diego Extension

dbass@ucsd.edu

858-822-7715

Melinda Battenberg
Public Information Officer
Rady School of Management

mbattenberg@ucsd.edu

858-534-0855

Kimberly Bruch

kbruch@ucsd.edu

858.822.0977

Christine Clark
Director of Communications, Rady School of Management & School of Global Policy and Strategy
Resource Mangement & Planning, School of Global Policy and Strategy

ceclark@ucsd.edu

858-534-7618

Katherine Connor
Media Communications Specialist
Jacobs School of Engineering

khconnor@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-8374

Cynthia Dillon
Director of External Relations
San Diego Supercomputer Center

cdillon@ucsd.edu

858-822-6673

Michelle Franklin
Director of Communications, Physical Sciences
Research Affairs

m1franklin@ucsd.edu

858-246-5695

Yadira Galindo
Director of Communications

y2galindo@ucsd.edu

April Green
Communications Manager
Library

atgreen@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Brittany Hook
Communications Coordinator
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

bhook@ucsd.edu

858-822-5617

Katie Ismael
Media Communications Specialist
Qualcomm Institute

kismael@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-5898

Erika Johnson
Manager, Strategic Marketing Communications
Student Affairs, Diversity, Preuss School

erjohnson@ucsd.edu

858-534-9372

Daniel Kane
Director of Communications
Jacobs School of Engineering

dbkane@eng.ucsd.edu

858-534-3262

Inga Kiderra
Director of Communications
Division of Social Sciences

ikiderra@ucsd.edu

858-822-0661

Anthony King
Director of Communications
Division of Arts and Humanities

anthonypking@ucsd.edu

858-822-7824

Nicole Kolupailo
Communications Director
The Library

nkolupailo@ucsd.edu

858-822-4803

Liezel Labios
Public Information Representative
Jacobs School of Engineering

llabios@eng.ucsd.edu

858-246-1124

Scott Lafee
Director of Media Relations and Communications

slafee@health.ucsd.edu

858-249-0431

Amy Lipsitz
Director of Marketing and Digital Content Strategy
Strategic Communications

amy_lipsitz@brown.edu

401-863-9810

Laura Margoni
Executive Director of Strategic Communications
University Communications

lmargoni@ucsd.edu

858-822-2485

Robert Monroe
Senior Public Information Rep
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

rmonroe@ucsd.edu

858-822-4487

Matt Nagel
Senior Executive Director of Public Relations

mnagel@ucsd.edu

858-761-4410

Ioana Patringenaru-Buibas
Public Information Officer
Jacobs School of Engineering

ipatrin@eng.ucsd.edu

858-822-0899

Patrick Riedling
Senior Director of Executive Communications
Chancellor's Office

priedling@ucsd.edu

(858) 246-5712

Cheryl Robinson
Director of Special Projects

cprobinson@ucsd.edu

Amanda Rubalcava
Content Strategist
University Communications

arubalcava@ucsd.edu

858-534-3121

Joleen Schultz
Director, Marketing Communications
Rady School of Management

joleen@joleenschultzassociates.com

858-534-5468

Leslie Sepuka
Associate Director
Strategic Marketing Communications

lsepuka@ucsd.edu

858-822-5309

Lauren Wood
Director of Communications
Scripps Institution of Oceanography

lmwood@ucsd.edu

858-534-3626

Ian Wright
Communications Coordinator

iwright@ucsd.edu

0015-858-246-5677

Twitter

close
2.13547