Our News on Newswise

Newswise: twobytwo.jpg

Weighing Trade-Offs Between Public Health and Economic Benefit, New Research Shows Which Businesses Make Most Sense to Reopen

In preparing for the next stage of reopening, leaders must decide what kinds of businesses represent the best and worst trade-offs in terms of economic benefits and health risks. To tackle that question, a new study fuses a variety of data on...
10-Aug-2020 6:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Authors’ ‘Invisible’ Words Reveal Blueprint for Storytelling

The “invisible” words that shaped Dickens classics also lead audiences through Spielberg dramas. And according to new research, these small words can be found in a similar pattern across most storylines, no matter the length or format.
5-Aug-2020 4:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Commercial Payments Linked to Biased Articles in Medical Journals

Scientists have long been concerned that the common practice of medical journals accepting commercial payments from pharmaceutical companies may lead to pro-industry bias in published articles. According to new research at The University of Texas at...
27-Jul-2020 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Cost Prevents One in Five U.S. Women from Using Their Preferred Contraception, Says Nationwide Study

Recent Supreme Court Ruling Will Increase Birth Control Costs for Many Women, Make it Less Likely They Will Use the Birth Control They Want
13-Jul-2020 10:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Dilophosaurus-Puppet-Low-front-mouth-open-scaled-1200x800-c-default.jpg

Famous ‘Jurassic Park’ Dinosaur is Less Lizard, More Bird

From movies to museum exhibits, the dinosaur Dilophosaurus is no stranger to pop culture. Many probably remember it best from the movie “Jurassic Park,” where it’s depicted as a venom-spitting beast with a rattling frill around its neck and...
8-Jul-2020 9:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Behaviors and Traits that Help and Hinder Social Status, According to Evolutionary Psychologists

Beyond fame and fortune, certain traits and behaviors may have pervasive influence in climbing the social ladder, according to a study by evolutionary psychologists at The University of Texas at Austin.
2-Jun-2020 2:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Drastic Changes in Social Lives Raise Future Mental Health Concerns

People’s social lives aren’t what they used to be. But exactly how they’ve changed and what it might mean for mental health is what psycho-linguistic researchers at The University of Texas at Austin are trying to figure out in the Pandemic...
27-May-2020 2:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Cooperation Can Be Contagious Particularly When People See the Benefit for

Seeing someone do something good for someone else motivates witnesses to perform their own helpful acts, an insight that could help drive cooperative behavior in communities navigating through the health crisis.
19-May-2020 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: Hayward_Mark_mdh745_fac_2020-5-19.jpg

Why do people in Hawaii live 7 years longer than people in Mississippi? Ask UT sociologist Mark Hayward.

4-Aug-2020 6:40 PM EDT

Reporting on the Amazon/Whole Foods Deal? Business Expert From @UTAustin Is Available Now to Comment

16-Jun-2017 11:05 AM EDT

Newswise: 275643.jpg

Amazon will start collecting sales tax in most states but there are loopholes — a comp. advantage worth billions. Expert available to explain

31-Mar-2017 3:55 PM EDT

Expert Perspectives Available on Trump Administration

2-Mar-2017 10:05 AM EST

Experts Available to Talk About Research Related to Breast Cancer and Health Literacy

October is Breast Cancer Awareness and Health Literacy Month. Researchers at The University of Texas at Austin are available to discuss their research on detecting and coping with breast cancer, as well as research that may improve health literacy...
30-Sep-2011 3:00 PM EDT

Nursing and Health Experts

University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing researchers studying memory improvement, bullying, Hispanics and diabetes and obesity in children.
29-Apr-2011 1:00 PM EDT

Experts Available To Share Insight on FDA Move to Require Graphic Images on Cigarette Packs and Other Health Communication Topics

Advertising and health communication experts from The University of Texas at Austin are available to discuss strategies for effective public health campaigns, communicating risk, communicating with low health-literate audiences and communicating...
15-Nov-2010 3:00 PM EST

University of Texas at Austin Experts Help Shape Border Debate

As Americans continue to debate immigration reform, border enforcement and Arizona's recent legislation, experts from The University of Texas at Austin are offering their views on these issues through a series of online videos.
22-Jul-2010 10:45 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The mission of The University of Texas at Austin is to achieve excellence in the interrelated areas of undergraduate education, graduate education, research and public service. The university provides superior and comprehensive educational opportunities at the baccalaureate through doctoral and special professional educational levels.

Contacts

Marc Airhart
Communications Coordinator

mairhart@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-1066

Ellie Breed
Media Relations Specialist

Eleanor.Breed@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-3151

Michelle Bryant
Assistant Director, Public Affairs
College of Liberal Arts

mbryant@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-4730

Anton Caputo
Communications Director
Geosciences science

anton.caputo@jsg.utexas.edu

512-232-9623

Lee Clippard
Director of Communications/Science Writer
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

lclippard@wildflower.org

512-232-0104

Amy Crossette
Public Affairs Representative
Architecture and School of Information

amyc@austin.utexas.edu

Molly Dannenmaier
Senior Editor, Faculty Research Publicist
McCombs School of Business

molly.dannenmaier@mccombs.utexas.edu

512-232-6779

Alicia Dietrich
Director of Public Affairs
College of Fine Arts

alicia.dietrich@austin.utexas.edu

512-475-7033

Laura Dixon
Director of Communications

ldixon@prc.utexas.edu

Kylie Fitzpatrick
Media Relations Specialist

utmedia@utexas.edu

512-471-3151

Steve Franklin
Marketing Specialist
Science

sefranklin@mail.utexas.edu

512 232 3692

Katharine Grieve
Communications Coordinator
engineering

katharine.grieve@austin.utexas.edu

John Holden
Writer & Media Specialist

john.holden@utexas.edu

512-529-6013

Rebecca Johnson
Public Affairs + Editor, StarDate magazine
McDonald Observatory astronomy

rjohnson@astro.as.utexas.edu

512-475-6763

Monica Kortsha
Science Writer and Online Media Representative

mkortsha@jsg.utexas.edu

512 471 2241

Alison Kothe
Marketing Coordinator

a.kothe@austin.utexas.edu

Alison Kothe
Communications Coordinator

a.kothe@austin.utexas.edu

512-797-4775

David Ochsner
Communications Director

dochsner@austin.utexas.edu

512-475-9712

Daniel Oppenheimer
Strategic Communications Director

daniel.oppenheimer@utexas.edu

Matt Pene
Media Relations Manager

matt.pene@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-6861

Kristin Phillips
Health and Science Writer
College of Natural Sciences

kristin.phillips@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-0654

Barbra Rodriguez
Freelance

barbra32us@yahoo.com

512-232-0105

Gary Susswein
Chief Communications Officer

susswein@austin.utexas.edu

Yvonne Taylor
Communications Coordinator
education

yvonne.taylor@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-3916

Victoria Villarreal
Marketing and Communications Intern

victoriavillarreal@utexas.edu

956.763.9962

David Wenger

david.wenger@mccombs.utexas.edu

512-471-3314

Rachel White
Public Affairs Representative
Liberal Arts

rachelgriess@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-2689

Twitter

close
1.19626