Our News on Newswise

Twin Study Shows Why Physical Punishment Leads to Child Behavior Problems

Harsh parenting practices, not genetics, are linked to higher levels of behavior problems in children, according to a new study in the March 2021 volume of Psychological Science, which studied pairs of twins whose parents disciplined them...
26-Mar-2021 12:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: figure_1.png

NASA Images Reveal Important Forests and Wetlands are Disappearing in Belize

Using NASA satellite images and machine learning, researchers with The University of Texas at Austin have mapped changes in the landscape of northwestern Belize over a span of four decades, finding significant losses of forest and wetlands, but also...
15-Mar-2021 11:50 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Use of Pronouns May Show Signs of an Impending Breakup

Evidence of an impending breakup may exist in the small words used in everyday conversations months before either partner realizes where their relationship is heading, according to new psychology research.
1-Feb-2021 4:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Forty Acres Founders Pre-Accelorator Program Partners with Bank of America to Increase Diversity and Inclusion in Entrepreneurship

The Herb Kelleher Entrepreneurship Center in the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin is pleased to announce a partnership with Bank of America designed to increase entrepreneurial diversity and inclusion by supporting the...
17-Dec-2020 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Texas McCombs Full-Time MBA Program Receives STEM Certification

The University of Texas at Austin’s McCombs School of Business has announced that 14 of its 22 concentrations in its highly ranked full-time MBA program are now STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) certified, demonstrating a level of...
15-Dec-2020 11:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Unmet Job Expectations Linked to a Rise in Suicide, Deaths of Despair

The study, published in JAMA Network Open, is the first to link the rise in suicide and drug-poisoning deaths among men without a college degree to declines in working-class jobs.
2-Dec-2020 11:15 AM EST Add to Favorites

McCombs Wealth Management Center launches with support from Charles Schwab Foundation

Cross-disciplinary program in the McCombs School of Business will prepare students for wealth management careers and conduct academic and applied research to advance the industry
17-Sep-2020 11:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: twobytwo.jpg

Weighing Trade-Offs Between Public Health and Economic Benefit, New Research Shows Which Businesses Make Most Sense to Reopen

In preparing for the next stage of reopening, leaders must decide what kinds of businesses represent the best and worst trade-offs in terms of economic benefits and health risks. To tackle that question, a new study fuses a variety of data on...
10-Aug-2020 6:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: Hayward_Mark_mdh745_fac_2020-5-19.jpg

Why do people in Hawaii live 7 years longer than people in Mississippi? Ask UT sociologist Mark Hayward.

4-Aug-2020 6:40 PM EDT

Reporting on the Amazon/Whole Foods Deal? Business Expert From @UTAustin Is Available Now to Comment

16-Jun-2017 11:05 AM EDT

Newswise: 275643.jpg

Amazon will start collecting sales tax in most states but there are loopholes — a comp. advantage worth billions. Expert available to explain

31-Mar-2017 3:55 PM EDT

Expert Perspectives Available on Trump Administration

2-Mar-2017 10:05 AM EST

Experts Available to Talk About Research Related to Breast Cancer and Health Literacy

October is Breast Cancer Awareness and Health Literacy Month. Researchers at The University of Texas at Austin are available to discuss their research on detecting and coping with breast cancer, as well as research that may improve health literacy...
30-Sep-2011 3:00 PM EDT

Nursing and Health Experts

University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing researchers studying memory improvement, bullying, Hispanics and diabetes and obesity in children.
29-Apr-2011 1:00 PM EDT

Experts Available To Share Insight on FDA Move to Require Graphic Images on Cigarette Packs and Other Health Communication Topics

Advertising and health communication experts from The University of Texas at Austin are available to discuss strategies for effective public health campaigns, communicating risk, communicating with low health-literate audiences and communicating...
15-Nov-2010 3:00 PM EST

University of Texas at Austin Experts Help Shape Border Debate

As Americans continue to debate immigration reform, border enforcement and Arizona's recent legislation, experts from The University of Texas at Austin are offering their views on these issues through a series of online videos.
22-Jul-2010 10:45 AM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The mission of The University of Texas at Austin is to achieve excellence in the interrelated areas of undergraduate education, graduate education, research and public service. The university provides superior and comprehensive educational opportunities at the baccalaureate through doctoral and special professional educational levels.

Experts

Contacts

Marc Airhart
Communications Coordinator

mairhart@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-1066

Ellie Breed
Media Relations Specialist

Eleanor.Breed@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-3151

Michelle Bryant
Assistant Director, Public Affairs
College of Liberal Arts

mbryant@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-4730

Anton Caputo
Communications Director
Geosciences science

anton.caputo@jsg.utexas.edu

512-232-9623

Lee Clippard
Director of Communications/Science Writer
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

lclippard@wildflower.org

512-232-0104

Molly Dannenmaier
Senior Editor, Faculty Research Publicist
McCombs School of Business

molly.dannenmaier@mccombs.utexas.edu

512-232-6779

Alicia Dietrich
Director of Public Affairs
College of Fine Arts

alicia.dietrich@austin.utexas.edu

512-475-7033

Laura Dixon
Director of Communications

ldixon@prc.utexas.edu

Kylie Fitzpatrick
Media Relations Specialist

utmedia@utexas.edu

512-471-3151

Steve Franklin
Marketing Specialist
Science

sefranklin@mail.utexas.edu

512 232 3692

Katharine Grieve
Communications Coordinator
engineering

katharine.grieve@austin.utexas.edu

John Holden
Writer & Media Specialist

john.holden@utexas.edu

512-529-6013

Rebecca Johnson
Public Affairs + Editor, StarDate magazine
McDonald Observatory astronomy

rjohnson@astro.as.utexas.edu

512-475-6763

Monica Kortsha
Science Writer and Online Media Representative

mkortsha@jsg.utexas.edu

512 471 2241

Alison Kothe
Marketing Coordinator

a.kothe@austin.utexas.edu

Alison Kothe
Communications Coordinator

a.kothe@austin.utexas.edu

512-797-4775

David Ochsner
Communications Director

dochsner@austin.utexas.edu

512-475-9712

Daniel Oppenheimer
Strategic Communications Director

daniel.oppenheimer@utexas.edu

Matt Pene
Media Relations Manager

matt.pene@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-6861

Kristin Phillips
Health and Science Writer
College of Natural Sciences

kristin.phillips@austin.utexas.edu

512-232-0654

Barbra Rodriguez
Freelance

barbra32us@yahoo.com

512-232-0105

Gary Susswein
Chief Communications Officer

susswein@austin.utexas.edu

Yvonne Taylor
Communications Coordinator
education

yvonne.taylor@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-3916

Rachel White
Public Affairs Representative
Liberal Arts

rachelgriess@austin.utexas.edu

512-471-2689

Twitter

close
1.02721