Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 16x9_Picture1x.jpg

Researchers use ALCF resources to model the spread of COVID-19

Argonne researchers lead highly detailed COVID-19 modeling efforts to understand how the virus spreads through populations.
27-May-2020 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: graduate_student_in_lab_16x9.jpg

Argonne offers mentorship and resources to students in Department of Energy-sponsored graduate student research

As part of the Department of Energy’s Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) Program, 62 graduate students were chosen to conduct thesis research across the national laboratory complex, including 12 students at Argonne.
26-May-2020 1:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_furnaceandhutch_4.jpg

Platinum-free catalysts could make cheaper hydrogen fuel cells

Argonne scientists studied platinum-free catalysts for important fuel cell reactions. The research provides understanding of the mechanisms that make the catalysts effective, and it could inform production of more efficient and cost-effective...
20-May-2020 2:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: alcf_16x9_32912D37x.jpg

Aurora workshop helps researchers ramp up preparations for exascale computing

The Argonne Leadership Computing Facility recently hosted a workshop to help researchers advance code development efforts for Argonne’s upcoming exascale system, Aurora.
19-May-2020 4:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_CPA-4liquidmagnetismx.jpg

Scientists use pressure to make liquid magnetism breakthrough

Scientists have forced a magnetic crystal into a spin liquid state, which may lead to insights into superconductivity and quantum computing.
18-May-2020 4:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_CPA-4Weevilillustrationx.jpg

True colors: Using X-rays to trace the evolution of insects’ structural colors

A team of researchers has used ultra-bright X-rays to analyze 13,000-year-old fossilized beetle wings to learn more about the evolution of structural colors.
18-May-2020 6:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Largest collection of 3D supernova simulations leads to new insights on explosion dynamics

Researchers using DOE supercomputers, including Argonne’s Theta, produced pivotal 3D simulations to elucidate the physics behind the collapse of massive stars.
11-May-2020 6:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_4879104391_000bf80dc5_o.jpg

World’s X-ray facilities team up to battle COVID-19

A group of the world’s best X-ray science facilities has developed a strategy for cooperatively combating COVID-19.
8-May-2020 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: Headshot2_small_0.jpg

Urban Air Pollution Expert Available: Daniel Goldberg, Ph.D. Argonne National Laboratory

6-Nov-2019 5:05 PM EST

Newswise: JoachimiakAndrzej32579D04.jpg

Ebola Drug Treatment Development Expert Available: Andrzej Joachimiak, Ph.D., Argonne National Laboratory

14-Aug-2019 10:30 PM EDT

Newswise: Petriportraithi-res111417.jpg

Argonne electric grid expert who trains officials responsible for getting critical infrastructure back on line in wake of natural disasters available for interview

16-Jan-2019 3:05 PM EST

Newswise: PfeifferKyle.jpg

Hurricane Michael: Expert on public and government use social media in a crisis available for interview

10-Oct-2018 2:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Michael: Expert in modeling/simulation, emergency preparedness and critical and energy infrastructure available

10-Oct-2018 1:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Analysis: Argonne Expert Forecasts Impacts of Natural Disasters Affecting Coastal Communities and Infrastructure

13-Sep-2018 3:05 PM EDT

The Microbiome Project: Probiotics

Argonne microbiologist Jack Gilbert explore whether or not consuming probiotics benefits our health.
21-Sep-2016 2:00 PM EDT

Newswise: SupratikGuha31458D08-Edit.jpg

Q&A: Supratik Guha

Last August, Supratik Guha joined the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory as director for both the Center for Nanoscale Materials and the laboratory’s Nanoscience & Technology Division. Guha took the time to answer a few...
29-Mar-2016 4:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Christopher Kramer
Media Relations Manager

ckramer@anl.gov

630-252-5580

Alex Mitchell
Digital Communications and Regional Outreach

amitchell@anl.gov

630-252-5573

Justin Breaux
External Communications Specialist

jbreaux@anl.gov

630-252-5823

Brian Grabowski
Communications Lead
Computing, Environment & Life Science

bgrabowski@anl.gov

630-252-1232

Tona Kunz
Communication Lead
Advanced Photon Source

tkunz@anl.gov

630-252-5560

Jared Sagoff
Communication Lead
Physical Sciences and Engineering

jsagoff@anl.gov

301-996-5886

Ben Schiltz
Communication Lead
Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

bschiltz@anl.gov

630-252-5640

Diana Anderson
Head of Communications

ddanderson@anl.gov

6302524593

Janet Barrett
Senior Desktop Publishing Specialist

jbarrett@anl.gov

630-252-6166

Johnathon Briggs
Head of Communications, Energy Storage

jbriggs@anl.gov

6302528057

Linda Conlin
Desktop Publishing Specialist

lconlin@anl.gov

630-252-3130

Lynn Hoff
Communications Lead
Radiology

media@anl.gov

630-252-1750

Karen Mellen
Communications and Marketing

kmellen@anl.gov

Vicki Skonicki
Document Processing Lead

vskonicki@anl.gov

Katie Yurkewicz
Head of Events and Protocol

kyurkewicz@anl.gov

630-840-4112

Twitter

close
2.77486