Our News on Newswise

Newswise: IMSAfinal316X9.jpg

IMSA High School Internship advances DUNE project and showcases unexplored potential of physics

Argonne National Laboratory’s Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy (IMSA) High School Internship Program has this year’s exceptionally bright high school students working on the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment (DUNE)’s world-changing...
6-Apr-2020 12:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Capturing 3D microstructures in real time

Argonne researchers have invented a machine-learning based algorithm for quantitatively characterizing material microstructure in three dimensions and in real time. This algorithm applies to most structural materials of interest to industry.
2-Apr-2020 5:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AI-DLImage002_16x9.jpg

Preparing for exascale: Eliminating disruptions on the path to sustainable fusion energy

With the world’s most powerful path-to-exascale supercomputing resources at their disposal, William Tang and colleagues are combining computer muscle and AI to eliminate disruption of fusion reactions in the production of sustainable clean energy.
2-Apr-2020 5:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PaulDickmanawardstory1600x900.jpg

Argonne’s Paul Dickman honored with nuclear waste management achievement award

Paul Dickman has been named a Waste Management Symposium Fellow for 2020.
31-Mar-2020 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: BenKayCERNarticlephoto-16x9.jpg

Argonne and CERN weigh in on the origin of heavy elements

Nuclear physicists from Argonne National Laboratory led an international physics experiment conducted at CERN that utilizes novel techniques developed at Argonne to study the nature and origin of heavy elements in the universe.
30-Mar-2020 4:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: advanced_photon_source_aerial2.JPG

Argonne's researchers and facilities playing a key role in the fight against COVID-19

Argonne scientists are working around the clock to analyze the virus to find new treatments and cures, predict how it will propagate through the population, and make sure that our supply chains remain intact.
27-Mar-2020 5:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 32889D1841600x900.jpg

Teamwork Triumphs at 2020 Illinois Regional Middle School Science Bowl

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory Educational Programs and Outreach hosted the 2020 Illinois Regional Science Bowl Competition, where 15 different schools competed in trivia across a wide range of STEM topics.
26-Mar-2020 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AIandnuclearfeature1600x900.jpg

Argonne uses artificial intelligence to improve the safety and design of advanced nuclear reactors

Argonne scientists and engineers are looking toward AI — specifically, machine learning — to help us better understand the mechanics that govern nuclear reactors.
25-Mar-2020 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: Headshot2_small_0.jpg

Urban Air Pollution Expert Available: Daniel Goldberg, Ph.D. Argonne National Laboratory

6-Nov-2019 5:05 PM EST

Newswise: JoachimiakAndrzej32579D04.jpg

Ebola Drug Treatment Development Expert Available: Andrzej Joachimiak, Ph.D., Argonne National Laboratory

14-Aug-2019 10:30 PM EDT

Newswise: Petriportraithi-res111417.jpg

Argonne electric grid expert who trains officials responsible for getting critical infrastructure back on line in wake of natural disasters available for interview

16-Jan-2019 3:05 PM EST

Newswise: PfeifferKyle.jpg

Hurricane Michael: Expert on public and government use social media in a crisis available for interview

10-Oct-2018 2:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Michael: Expert in modeling/simulation, emergency preparedness and critical and energy infrastructure available

10-Oct-2018 1:05 PM EDT

Hurricane Analysis: Argonne Expert Forecasts Impacts of Natural Disasters Affecting Coastal Communities and Infrastructure

13-Sep-2018 3:05 PM EDT

The Microbiome Project: Probiotics

Argonne microbiologist Jack Gilbert explore whether or not consuming probiotics benefits our health.
21-Sep-2016 2:00 PM EDT

Newswise: SupratikGuha31458D08-Edit.jpg

Q&A: Supratik Guha

Last August, Supratik Guha joined the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory as director for both the Center for Nanoscale Materials and the laboratory’s Nanoscience & Technology Division. Guha took the time to answer a few...
29-Mar-2016 4:05 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Christopher Kramer
Media Relations Manager

ckramer@anl.gov

630-252-5580

Alex Mitchell
Digital Communications and Regional Outreach

amitchell@anl.gov

630-252-5573

Justin Breaux
External Communications Specialist

jbreaux@anl.gov

630-252-5823

Brian Grabowski
Communications Lead
Computing, Environment & Life Science

bgrabowski@anl.gov

630-252-1232

Tona Kunz
Communication Lead
Advanced Photon Source

tkunz@anl.gov

630-252-5560

Jared Sagoff
Communication Lead
Physical Sciences and Engineering

jsagoff@anl.gov

301-996-5886

Ben Schiltz
Communication Lead
Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

bschiltz@anl.gov

630-252-5640

Diana Anderson
Head of Communications

ddanderson@anl.gov

6302524593

Janet Barrett
Senior Desktop Publishing Specialist

jbarrett@anl.gov

630-252-6166

Johnathon Briggs
Head of Communications, Energy Storage

jbriggs@anl.gov

6302528057

Linda Conlin
Desktop Publishing Specialist

lconlin@anl.gov

630-252-3130

Lynn Hoff
Communications Lead
Radiology

media@anl.gov

630-252-1750

Karen Mellen
Communications and Marketing

kmellen@anl.gov

Vicki Skonicki
Document Processing Lead

vskonicki@anl.gov

Katie Yurkewicz
Head of Events and Protocol

kyurkewicz@anl.gov

630-840-4112

Twitter

close
1.21037