Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 16x9_image001.png

5 ways Argonne scientists are powering ahead on nuclear micro-reactors

A cross-divisional effort at Argonne aims to advance portable nuclear reactor designs for places like military bases and remote communities.
12-Apr-2021 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 16x9_Argonne_JACS_Final02_JPG_2020Dec22.jpg

Better solutions for making hydrogen may lie just at the surface

A new study uncovers insight into a promising type of material for splitting water, perovskite oxides.
12-Apr-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Argonne National Laboratory a founding partner in nation’s first startup accelerator program dedicated exclusively to quantum

The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory is a founding partner of Duality, the first startup accelerator program in the nation that is dedicated to startup companies focused on quantum science and technology — a rapidly...
8-Apr-2021 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Field guides: Argonne scientists bolster evidence of undiscovered particles or forces in Muon g-2 experiment

The first result from the Muon g-2 experiment points to the existence of undiscovered particles or forces. These findings could have major implications for future particle physics experiments and could lead to greater understanding of how the...
7-Apr-2021 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Caught in the act: New data about COVID-19 virus’s functions could aid in treatment designs

For the first time, a team of researchers has captured X-ray images of a critical enzyme of the COVID-19 virus performing its function. This discovery could improve design of new treatments against the disease.
7-Apr-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Less than a nanometer thick, stronger and more versatile than steel

Scientists from Argonne National Laboratory, Northwestern University and the University of Florida report a breakthrough involving a material called borophane, a sheet of boron and hydrogen a mere two atoms in thickness.
5-Apr-2021 12:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

A new spin on energy-efficient electronics

Researchers are harnessing the power of Argonne’s Advanced Photon Source to test new materials for use in spintronics. This emerging field uses electron spin instead of charge, allowing manufacturers to make smaller and more efficient electronic...
30-Mar-2021 12:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: harvey_showstopper_04hr_1600x900.png

Preparing for exascale: Aurora supercomputer to help scientists visualize the spread of cancer

In advance of Argonne’s Aurora exascale supercomputer, Duke University assistant professor Amanda Randles is leading a new study to analyze cancer metastasis using HARVEY, a code that simulates blood vessels within the human body.
25-Mar-2021 10:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Chris Kramer
Head of Global Media Relations

ckramer@anl.gov

630-252-5580

Alex Mitchell
Partnerships and Outreach

amitchell@anl.gov

630-252-5573

Justin Breaux
Digital Communications Specialist

jbreaux@anl.gov

630-252-5823

Brian Grabowski
Communications Lead
Computing, Environment & Life Science

bgrabowski@anl.gov

630-252-1232

Jared Sagoff
Communication Lead
Physical Sciences and Engineering

jsagoff@anl.gov

301-996-5886

Ben Schiltz
Media Relations

bschiltz@anl.gov

630-252-5640

Diana Anderson
Head of Communications
Physical Sciences & Engineering

ddanderson@anl.gov

6302524593

Janet Barrett
Senior Desktop Publishing Specialist

jbarrett@anl.gov

630-252-6166

Johnathon Briggs
Head of Communications, Energy Storage

jbriggs@anl.gov

6302528057

Linda Conlin
Desktop Publishing Specialist

lconlin@anl.gov

630-252-3130

Lynn Hoff
Communications Lead
Energy & Global Security

media@anl.gov

630-252-1750

Karen Mellen
Communications and Marketing

kmellen@anl.gov

Vicki Skonicki
Document Processing Lead

vskonicki@anl.gov

Katie Yurkewicz
Head of Scientific and Technical Communication

kyurkewicz@anl.gov

630-840-4112

Twitter

close
1.65278