University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: HandIgABreastmilkdocsHR.jpg

Breastmilk Antibody Protects Preterm Infants from Deadly Intestinal Disease

Human and mouse experiments show that an antibody in breastmilk is necessary to prevent necrotizing enterocolitis – an often deadly bacterial disease of the intestine.
13-Jun-2019 11:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Rapidly Removing Fluid from Critically Ill Patients in Kidney Failure Linked to Increased Risk of Death

The faster fluid is removed using continuous dialysis from patients with failing kidneys, the higher the likelihood they will die in the next several months, according to a study published today in JAMA Network Open by University of Pittsburgh...
4-Jun-2019 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Weight-Loss Patients at Higher Risk of Death From Substance Use Disorders

The death rate from drug- and alcohol-related causes in people who’ve had Roux-en-Y gastric bypass surgery is nearly triple that of the general public, according to University of Pittsburgh research published today in Surgery for Obesity and...
7-Jun-2019 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TRACIRstretcherconceptHR.jpg

Pitt and CMU receive Department of Defense Contract to Create an Autonomous Robotic Trauma Care System

The University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and Carnegie Mellon University have each been awarded 4-year contracts totaling nearly $7.5 million from the U.S. Department of Defense to create an autonomous trauma care system that fits in a...
22-May-2019 2:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: WilbertvanPanhuisHR.jpg

Pitt Public Health to Lead Creation of Global, Cloud-Based Data System for Infectious Diseases

Backed by a five-year, $6.7 million National Institutes of Health grant, the University of Pittsburgh today announced that it plans to lead a culture shift in data-sharing rippling through scientific fields and harness it to improve global knowledge...
20-May-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DerekAngusHR.jpg

Deep Sedation and Controlled Paralysis Do Not Improve Survival of Critically Ill Patients with Severe Breathing Difficulty

Reversibly paralyzing and heavily sedating hospitalized patients with severe breathing problems do not improve outcomes in most cases, according to a clinical trial conducted at dozens of North American hospitals. The trial settles a long-standing...
16-May-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Big Data Reveals Hidden Subtypes of Sepsis

Much like cancer, sepsis isn’t simply one condition, but rather many conditions with varying clinical characteristics that could benefit from different treatments, according to a study involving more than 100,000 patients. The findings could...
16-May-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Pitt Study Finds Direct Oxidative Stress Damage Shortens Telomeres

First causal evidence that oxidative stress works directly on telomeres to speed cellular aging
8-May-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!