University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: VagusConcha_v3.jpg

Non-Invasive Nerve Stimulation Boosts Learning of Foreign Language Sounds

New research by neuroscientists at the University of Pittsburgh and UC San Francisco (UCSF) revealed that a simple, earbud-like device developed at UCSF that imperceptibly stimulates a key nerve leading to the brain could significantly improve the...
3-Aug-2020 4:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Men Scoring Higher on ’Man Box’ Scale are Prone to Violence, Mental Illness

Study finds that men who harbor more harmful attitudes about masculinity – including beliefs about aggression and homophobia – also tend toward bullying, sexual harassment, depression and suicidal thoughts.
3-Aug-2020 9:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CatherineChappellHR.jpg

Trial Finds Drug Safe and Effective in Treating Hep-C During Pregnancy

Critics of the universal hepatitis C screening argue that it’s wasteful to test pregnant women for a disease that can’t be immediately treated, but results of a small phase I clinical trial suggest otherwise: pregnancy could be an excellent time...
24-Jul-2020 12:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DhirprostateheatmapHR.jpg

Artificial Intelligence Identifies Prostate Cancer with Near-Perfect Accuracy

Study reports 98% sensitivity and 97% specificity in recognizing and characterizing prostate cancer using an artificial intelligence (AI) program.
24-Jul-2020 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Spinal Stimulators for Pain Relief Repurposed to Restore Touch in a Lost Limb

Devices commonly implanted for chronic pain could expand patient access to prosthetic arms that "feel."
21-Jul-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DarioVignaliHR.jpg

Boosting Immune Memory Could Reduce Cancer Recurrence

New study on how immune memory can be targeted and improve immunotherapy and prevent cancer recurrence.
14-Jul-2020 8:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: PaulSzabolcsHR.jpg

Umbilical Cord Blood Successfully Treats Rare Genetic Disorders in Largest Study to Date

Infusing umbilical cord blood – a readily available source of stem cells – safely and effectively treated 44 children born with various non-cancerous genetic disorders, including sickle cell, thalassemia, Hunter syndrome, Krabbe disease, MLD,...
14-Jul-2020 11:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Alliance for Regenerative Rehabilitation and Training Receives $5 Million NIH Grant to Continue Innovative Work

The National Institutes of Health has renewed a five-year grant for $5 million for the Alliance for Regenerative Rehabilitation and Training (AR3T) to continue its work expanding scientific knowledge, expertise and methodologies focused on science...
13-Jul-2020 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Joni Berman
Executive Assistant II to Paul Wood Vice President & Chief Communications Officer, UPMC

bermanj@upmc.edu

412.586.9763

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Jennifer Milan
Vendor Master Analyst

milanjj@upmc.edu

412-559-2646

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
6.13169