University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: AkiraSekikawaHR.jpg

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia – with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new discovery.
20-Oct-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: TorenFinkelHR.jpeg

Two Pitt Faculty Members Inducted into National Academy of Medicine for Work on Aging and Neuro-Rehab

Two physician scientists at the University of Pittsburgh have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine: Dr. Toren Finkel, director of the Pitt Aging Institute, and Dr. Amy Wagner, professor of physical medicine and neuroscience...
19-Oct-2020 12:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: FelixSocialDemgraphicHR.jpg

‘Use it or Lose it’: Regular Social Engagement Linked to Healthier Brain Microstructure in Older Adults

Older people who report greater levels of social engagement have more robust gray matter in regions of the brain relevant in dementia, according to new research. The findings matter during the COVID-19 pandemic.
15-Oct-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: CaterinaRosanoHR.jpg

Improved Mobility in Frail and Elderly Adults Linked to Common Gene Variant

Variations in a gene that regulates dopamine levels in the brain may influence the mobility of elderly and frail adults, according to new research.
12-Oct-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: JohnMellorsHR.jpg

‘Repliclones’ Fuel Perplexing Persistence of HIV in the Blood of Some Patients on Medication

In a new study, infectious disease researchers show that HIV viremia isn’t always nonadherence to medication or resistance to the drugs. Instead, the patients are victims of what the scientists have dubbed “repliclones” – large clones of...
1-Oct-2020 10:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: FrancisGuyetteHR.jpg

University of Pittsburgh Trauma Experts Aim to Reduce Deaths by Providing Blood-Clotting Agent

The study found the drug can help the most severely injured trauma patients.
1-Oct-2020 12:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: IvetBahar2HR.jpg

Computer Model Shows How COVID-19 Could Lead to Runaway Inflammation

New study addresses a mystery first raised in March: Why do some people with COVID-19 develop severe inflammation? The research shows how the molecular structure and sequence of the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein could be behind life-threatening...
29-Sep-2020 9:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: KunduUrishKneeHR.jpg

Artificial Intelligence Detects Osteoarthritis Years Before it Develops

Researchers have created a machine-learning algorithm that can pick up on subtle signs of osteoarthritis – too abstract to register in the eye of a trained radiologist – on an MRI scan taken years before symptom onset.
21-Sep-2020 10:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Joni Berman
Executive Assistant II to Paul Wood Vice President & Chief Communications Officer, UPMC

bermanj@upmc.edu

412.586.9763

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Jennifer Milan
Vendor Master Analyst

milanjj@upmc.edu

412-559-2646

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
1.55606