University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

When is Best Time to Get Flu Shot? Pitt Analysis Compares Scenarios

When flu season peaks after mid-winter, tens of thousands of influenza cases and hundreds of deaths can likely be avoided if older adults wait until October to get their flu immunization, a University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine analysis...
14-Mar-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Artificial Intelligence Reduces False Positive Screens for Lung Cancer

Right now, 96% of people who screen positive for lung cancer don't actually have a malignant growth. Machine learning can rule out cancer in a third of them, saving time, money and anxiety.
11-Mar-2019 12:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Targeting Stem-Like Cells Could Prevent Ovarian Cancer Recurrence

A new drug takes out the "seeds" that cause ovarian cancer to come back after chemo
26-Feb-2019 11:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Genomics Could Better Match Treatments to Pancreatic Cancer Patients

Largest ever study of pancreatic cancer genomics uncovers a way to match chemotherapy drugs to patients
1-Mar-2019 10:30 AM EST Add to Favorites

Recommending the Pneumococcal Vaccine at Age 50 Reduces Disease-Related Racial Disparities; But is it Cost-Effective?

If mitigating racial disparities in those who contract pneumococcal diseases, such as meningitis and pneumonia, is a top public health priority, then recommending that all adults get a pneumococcal vaccine at age 50 would likely be effective...
28-Feb-2019 10:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Researchers ‘Bait’ Pathological Proteins Underlying Many Neurodegenerative Disorders

The vast majority of patients with neurodegenerative disorders do not have specific gene mutations, but a single misbehaving protein – called TDP-43 – seems to be at the heart of these diseases. Pitt researchers have found a way to recreate and...
25-Feb-2019 8:50 AM EST Add to Favorites

Researchers Develop Model to Predict Suicide Risk in At-Risk Young Adults

New research shows that fluctuation and severity of depressive symptoms are much better at predicting risk of suicidal behavior in at-risk young adults.
26-Feb-2019 1:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Drug-Resistant TB Cured with New Approaches in Conflict-Affected Region

A high proportion of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis (TB) cases can be cured in conflict-affected communities with molecular diagnostics, shorter treatment periods and socioeconomic incentives, according to the results of a large, long-term study...
13-Feb-2019 10:30 AM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!