University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

UPMC Designs Playbook for Return of Youth, High School and Collegiate Team Sports

A multidisciplinary team of clinicians and researchers led by UPMC Sports Medicine has developed guidelines to assist coaches, athletic trainers and organizers creating a safe environment for youth athletes, fans and staff as they consider a return...
1-Jun-2020 2:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: BraintoStomachFig5HR.jpg

Study Traces Brain-to-Gut Connections

Using rabies virus injected into the stomach of rats, researchers trace the nerves back to the brain and find distinct "fight or flight" and "rest and digest" circuits. These results explain how mental states can affect the gut, and present new ways...
14-May-2020 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: lakkissciencekidneygraftsurvivalHR.jpg

Immune System Discovery Paves Way to Lengthen Organ Transplant Survival

A new discovery in mice shows the innate immune system has "memory," previously thought to be a unique feature of the adaptive immune system. Blocking this memory prevented transplanted organs from being rejected, providing a way to more specific...
8-May-2020 2:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Drug Overdose Epidemic is Transmitted from Old to Young, Study Shows

The generation a person was born into – Silent Generation, Baby Boomer, Generation X or Millennial – strongly predicts how likely they are to die from a drug overdose, and at what age. Within each generation, there was a steady march toward...
30-Apr-2020 4:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DieCAPControlvsD8HR.JPG

Long-Lasting, Low Toxicity Antimicrobial Peptide Fights ‘Superbug’ Lung Infections

Through serendipity, researchers at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health considerably reduced the toxicity of a potential antibiotic against the most feared drug-resistant bacteria, while also improving its stability in...
27-Apr-2020 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: DerekAngusHR.jpg

UPMC Leads Global Effort to Fast Track Testing of Hydroxychloroquine and other COVID-19 Therapies with ‘Learning While Doing’ Clinical Trial

Novel 'learning while doing' clinical trial approach called REMAP helps doctors find the optimal trade-off between quickly adopting new therapies during a pandemic, such as the anti-malarial drug hydroxychloroquine, and waiting until they are tested...
9-Apr-2020 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

COVID-19 Vaccine Candidate Shows Promise in First Peer-Reviewed Research

A potential COVID-19 vaccine, delivered by microscopic needles, produces antibodies specific to the virus when tested in mice. This is the first peer-reviewed paper describing a COVID-19 vaccine candidate. The next step is a human clinical trial.
31-Mar-2020 9:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: steeltowerHR.jpg

UPMC to Protect Staff Pay During Covid-19 Pandemic Response

UPMC is implementing a staffing and pay protection program, which will ensure that all staff will continue to be paid at their current rate for normally scheduled hours through May 9, 2020 even if they are assigned to alternative work during their...
30-Mar-2020 4:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
2.27944