University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Pitt School of Dental Medicine Establishes Opioid-free Prescribing Guidelines

The University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine is the first in the nation to establish opioid-free pain management guidelines for the vast majority of procedures performed in all of its clinics.
14-Nov-2019 1:10 PM EST Add to Favorites

Identical Twin Kidney Transplants Warrant Gene Sequencing, Researchers Say

Using U.S. transplant registry data, clinical researchers at the University of Pittsburgh found that kidney transplants between identical twins have high success rates, but also surprisingly high rates of immunosuppressant use.
5-Nov-2019 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: HollanderJarlenskiOpioidSunshineHR.jpg

Opioid-Related Gifts from Pharma Companies Linked to Physician Prescribing by Specialty

Physicians who received gifts from pharmaceutical companies related to opioid medications were more likely to prescribe opioids to their patients in the following year, according to a new analysis.
30-Oct-2019 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: VaughnCooperHR.jpg

Bacterial Lifestyle Steers the Evolution of Antibiotic Resistance

How bacteria live – whether as independent cells or in a communal biofilm – determines the course of their evolution, with implications for drug-resistant infections.
23-Oct-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Study Seeks to Guide Maternal Weight Gain in Twin Pregnancies

New research led by scientists at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health and published today in the journal Obstetrics & Gynecology is beginning to establish evidence-based guidelines for maternal weight gain while pregnant...
7-Oct-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: KonnikovacellHR.jpg

Gut Immunity More Developed Before Birth Than Previously Thought

The first comprehensive look at the immune system of the fetal gut shows that it is far more developed before birth, and could help develop new maternal vaccines and understand if we are predisposed to autoimmune diseases before birth.
7-Oct-2019 3:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

β-blockers Build Heart Muscle, May Help Infants with Congenital Heart Disease

Surgery can mend congenital heart defects shortly after birth, but those babies will carry a higher risk of heart failure for the rest of their lives. UPMC Children’s Hospital researchers found that β-blockers could supplement surgery to mitigate...
6-Oct-2019 7:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Scientists Sound Alarm on Lack of Market Support for Antibiotics Against Superbugs

The health care market is failing to support new antibiotics used to treat some of the world’s most dangerous, drug-resistant “superbugs,” according to a new analysis by University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine infectious disease...
4-Oct-2019 9:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
1.1357