Our News on Newswise

Newswise: X1MachineTableLeft.png

UPMC Hillman Among First to Offer Biology-Guided Radiotherapy

RefleXion™X1 is world’s first biology-guided radiotherapy (BgRT) machine that’s expected to improve treatment and expand options for patients with metastatic disease by incorporating PET, CT & radiation in one device.
16-Jun-2021 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Brain Stimulation Evoking Sense of Touch Improves Control of Robotic Arm

The brain-computer interface user was able to transfer objects with a robotic arm at twice the speed of doing it without the tactile feedback.
16-May-2021 8:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: AlejandroHobermanHR.jpg

No Lasting Benefit to Tubes Over Antibiotics for Childhood Ear Infections, Trial Shows

There is no long-term benefit to surgically placing tubes in a young child’s ears to reduce recurrent ear infections, compared with giving oral antibiotics, a randomized trial determined.
10-May-2021 3:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: SherryChouHR.jpg

8 Out of 10 People Hospitalized With COVID-19 Develop Neurological Problems and They’re More Likely to Die, Global Study Shows

A paper published today in JAMA Network Open presents early results of the global effort to gather information about the incidence, severity and outcomes of neurological manifestations of COVID-19 disease.
7-May-2021 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: UdaiPandeyHR.jpg

Rare Genetic Disease Caused by Mutations in Protein that Controls RNA Metabolism

Mutations in a protein called GEMIN5 cause developmental delay and loss of coordination in young children.
5-May-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MariaJalbrzikowskiHR.jpg

International Study Links Brain Thinning to Psychosis

Subtle differences in the shape of the brain that are present in adolescence are associated with the development of psychosis, according to an international team led by psychiatrists at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and Maastricht...
5-May-2021 11:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: IlyasKambohHR.jpg

Pitt, WashU Awarded $10.7 Million for Alzheimer’s Disease Genetic Research

Despite decades of research and investment, the genetic underpinnings of Alzheimer’s disease are still largely unknown, stymieing drug development and early diagnosis efforts. A new $10.7 million, five-year project aims to change that.
5-May-2021 9:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: RobertFergusonHR.jpg

Cancer Researchers Study Cognitive Dysfunction after Chemo

Following chemo, survivors suffer with memory dysfunction. The first large-scale study underway on cognitive behavioral therapy.
4-May-2021 8:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Joni Berman
Executive Assistant II to Paul Wood Vice President & Chief Communications Officer, UPMC

bermanj@upmc.edu

412.586.9763

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Anastasiia Gorelova
Manager., Science Writing

gorelovaa@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Jennifer Milan
Vendor Master Analyst

milanjj@upmc.edu

412-559-2646

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Corinne Weaver

dmpavuk@bgsu.edu

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
0.78072