University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: SmokingAndBariatricSurgeryGraphHR.jpg

For Weight-Loss Surgery Patients Who Quit Smoking, Relapse is Common

Although 1 in 7 adults smoke cigarettes the year prior to undergoing weight-loss surgery, nearly all successfully quit at least a month before their operation. However, smoking prevalence steadily climbs to pre-surgery levels within seven years,...
18-Feb-2020 12:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

Half of Transgender Youth Have Avoided Disclosing Gender Identity to a Health Care Provider, Study Shows

Researchers surveyed 153 transgender youths receiving gender-affirming care at a specialty clinic, and even in this relatively "out" population, nearly half reported intentionally hiding their gender identity from a health care provider outside the...
17-Feb-2020 9:20 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: RobotarmHR.jpg

Finding the Lost Stephen Hawkings

During a press briefing Friday at AAAS, Dr. Rory Cooper will discuss how people with disabilities are shut off from STEM careers and why inclusivity matters.
10-Feb-2020 8:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Samar El Khoudary HR.jpg

Heart Disease Risk Grows as Women Move Through Menopause

A marker for heart disease risk considerably worsens as women transition through menopause, according to a new analysis from the largest and longest running study of women’s health in midlife. Black women experience this accelerated decline...
3-Feb-2020 8:30 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: CatholicHospitalMapJAMAHR.jpg

Large Proportion of Reproductive-Age Women Live in Counties Where Catholic Hospitals Hold High Market Share

Nearly 2 of every 5 women of reproductive age in the U.S. live in counties where Catholic hospitals have a high market share, according to a new analysis. Catholic hospitals do not provide certain reproductive health options.
27-Jan-2020 12:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Researchers Regrow Damaged Nerves with Polymer and Protein

University of Pittsburgh researchers have created a biodegradable nerve guide – a polymer tube – filled with growth-promoting protein that can regenerate long sections of damaged nerves, without the need for transplanting stem cells or a donor...
17-Jan-2020 7:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Decline in Late Stage Cancer Diagnoses After Health Reform Law

Advanced stage cancer diagnoses declined following health insurance expansion in Massachusetts, likely due to increased access to screening and diagnostic services that identified cancers earlier, according to new research.
22-Jan-2020 9:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Clinical Trial: Vitamin D Supplementation Linked to Potential Improvements in Blood Pressure in Children

Overweight and obese vitamin D-deficient children who took a relatively high dose of vitamin D every day for six months had lower blood pressure and improved insulin sensitivity than their peers who took a lower dose, according to the results of a...
21-Jan-2020 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
Chat now!
1.61211