University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: FeingoldhearttxmapHR.jpg

Recent US Pediatric Heart Transplant Waitlist Policy Change Falls Short of Intended Benefits

In March 2016, the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network revised its criteria for prioritizing children awaiting heart transplantation in the U.S. with the intention of reducing the number of deaths on the waitlist, but a new study suggests...
16-Sep-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

High Social Support Associated with Less Violence Among Male Teens in Urban Neighborhoods

UPMC Children's Hospital researchers find that the presence of adult social support is linked to less violence among at-risk teen boys.
10-Sep-2019 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Telemedicine Engages Newly Postpartum Women in Cardiovascular Monitoring

America has the highest maternal mortality rate in the developed world. Since cardiovascular disease is the primary cause, researchers have created a blood pressure home-monitoring system to rapidly detect concerning trends in postpartum women...
9-Sep-2019 11:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: JUULinfographicHR.jpg

Tweets Indicate Nicotine Dependence, Withdrawal Symptoms of JUUL Users

One out of every five tweets mentioning JUUL indentified for a new analysis also references addiction-related themes.
9-Sep-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Runaway Mitochondria Cause Telomere Damage in Cells

Targeted damage to mitochondria produces a "Chernobyl effect" inside cells, pelting the nucleus with harmful reactive oxygen species and causing chromosomal damage.
21-Aug-2019 2:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: MSDrugPriceschartHR.jpg

Medicare Patients with Multiple Sclerosis Bear the Burden of Rising Drug Prices

In a decade, Medicare recipients saw a sevenfold increase in out of pocket costs for multiple sclerosis drugs. Spending on these drugs by Medicare itself increased by tenfold.
23-Aug-2019 7:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Physicians Slow to Use Effective New Antibiotics Against Superbugs

New, more effective antibiotics are being prescribed in only about a quarter of infections by carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE), a family of the world’s most intractable drug-resistant bacteria.
26-Aug-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Death Rate of Critically Ill Children Linked to Hospital Preparedness for Pediatric Emergencies

Critically ill children brought to hospital emergency departments that are ill-prepared to care for pediatric emergencies have more than three times the odds of dying compared to those brought to hospitals well-equipped to care for them.
19-Aug-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Contacts

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!