University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Pitt Study Finds Direct Oxidative Stress Damage Shortens Telomeres

First causal evidence that oxidative stress works directly on telomeres to speed cellular aging
8-May-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

HIVTBScangaGrantHR.jpg

International Research Team Led by Pitt Wins $6M Grant to Study HIV and Tuberculosis Coinfection in Children

Children with HIV are much more susceptible to TB and also much more likely to die from it. This grant will fund international research to investigate why, both in the lab and in the field.
1-May-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Stimulating the Epileptic Brain Breaks Up Neural Networks to Prevent Seizures

Reactive neurostimulation reduces seizure frequency by remodeling the brain, and early electrical signatures of this process could be used to accelerate and personalize treatment.
11-Apr-2019 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Pediatric Telemedicine Visits May Increase Antibiotic Overprescribing

Children with acute respiratory infections were prescribed antibiotics more often during direct-to-consumer telemedicine visits than during in-person primary care appointments or urgent care visits, according to UPMC Children’s Hospital of...
4-Apr-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Analysis Identifies Patients Most at Risk for Weight Regain After Bariatric Surgery

In the years following bariatric surgery, a person’s overall eating behaviors and the amount of time spent watching television, playing video games and using a computer are a better indication of long-term weight loss success than specific weight...
1-Apr-2019 8:20 AM EDT Add to Favorites

KristoffMailliardMDC1HR.jpg

Immunotherapy Kicks and Kills HIV by Exploiting a Common Virus

In a first on the quest to cure HIV, University of Pittsburgh scientists report that they’ve developed an all-in-one immunotherapy approach that not only kicks HIV out of hiding in the immune system, but also kills it. The key lies in immune...
3-Apr-2019 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Researchers Restore Fertility in Non-Human Primate Model of Childhood Cancer Survivorship

In a first, researchers at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and the Magee-Womens Research Institute have reported in a non-human primate model that immature testicular tissue can be cryopreserved, and later be used to restore...
19-Mar-2019 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

HoffmanAntiVaxSocialNetworkHR.jpg

Analyzing a Facebook-Fueled Anti-Vaccination Attack: ‘It’s Not All About Autism’

Social media has given those espousing anti-vaccination sentiments an effective medium to spread their message. An analysis of a viral Facebook campaign against a pediatric practice reveals that anti-vaccination arguments center around four distinct...
18-Mar-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!