University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

First Ever State Sepsis Regulation in U.S. Tied to Lower Death Rates

Death rates from sepsis fell faster in New York than expected – and faster than in peer states – following the introduction of the nation’s first state-mandated sepsis regulation.
11-Jul-2019 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Despite Long-Term Treatment, HIV Persists in Spinal Fluid and is Linked to Cognition Problems

Even after nearly a decade of strict HIV treatment, cells sheltering the virus could be found in the cerebrospinal fluid of half of participants in a national clinical trial of people living with HIV. Moreover, those participants had higher...
11-Jul-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Study Highlights Advantages of Living-Donor Liver Transplant

New research from UPMC and Pitt shows that living-donor liver transplant offers numerous advantages over deceased-donor transplant, including superior outcomes and less resource utilization.
12-Jul-2019 1:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Maternal Obesity Linked to Childhood Cancer

New study analyzed 2 million birth records and 3,000 cancer registry records and found that children born to obese mothers were 57% more likely to develop cancer, independent of other factors. This finding offers a rare opportunity for childhood...
10-Jul-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Pitt/UPMC to Lead $19.2 Million Trial to Test Red Cell Exchange in Sickle Cell Disease

Patients with sickle cell disease experience severe organ damage leading to early death. An international clinical trial funded by the NIH will test whether red cell exchange, which replaces sicked red blood cells with normal ones could prevent or...
9-Jul-2019 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: BCInfographicHR.jpg

Yearlong Birth Control Supply Would Cut Unintended Pregnancies, Costs

By dispensing a year's worth of birth control pills up front, the VA could prevent 583 unintended pregnancies and save $2M per year on health care costs each year.
3-Jul-2019 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Silver Loading and Switching: Unintended Consequences of Pulling Health Policy Levers

A move by the White House in 2017 – decried by many health policy analysts as an attempt to undercut the Affordable Care Act – had unanticipated consequences that improved the affordability of health insurance for Marketplace enrollees.
17-Jun-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Pitt, UPMC Trauma Doctors Lead National Trial to Settle Debate on Managing Airways in Emergencies

The University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and UPMC will lead nearly two dozen emergency medical service agencies across the country in a Department of Defense (DOD)-funded clinical trial aimed at improving survival among people who have...
18-Jun-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

No experts available.

Contacts

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!