University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC)
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: PriscillaMcAuliffeHR.jpg

New Research Suggests Breast Cancer Treatment in Patients over Age 70 Can Be Safely Reduced

Research indicates the rate of cancer recurrence or survival may be no different in older women diagnosed with early breast cancer whether they were treated or untreated.
15-Apr-2021 11:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Five Research-Backed Steps to a Pro-Vaccination Social Media Campaign

What can vaccine proponents, clinicians and public health communicators learn from “anti-vaxxers?” A lot, according to new guidance for pro-vaccination social media events written by University of Pittsburgh health scientists.
7-Apr-2021 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Health Policy Researchers Propose Filling Health Care Coverage Gap to Help ‘Near Poor’

“Near-poor” Americans – people just above the federal poverty level but still well below the average U.S. income – who rely on Medicare for health insurance face high medical bills and may forgo essential health care, according to new...
31-Mar-2021 2:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

UPMC and Pitt Share Insights on Operationalizing Outpatient COVID-19 Monoclonal Antibody Treatment

As evidence mounts supporting the use of monoclonal antibody treatment to reduce hospitalizations and deaths from COVID-19, UPMC and University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine physician-scientists are sharing the health system’s experience...
26-Mar-2021 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: OberbarnscheidtAbouDayaFig1EHR.jpg

Researchers Identify Immune Cells that Contribute to Transplant Rejection

‘Tissue-resident memory T cells’, whose main function is to provide local protection against re-infection, contribute to chronic transplant rejection.
17-Mar-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: WallaceHospCapacitymapHR.jpg

Survey of Hospital Surge Capacity Years Before COVID-19 Gives Insight into Pandemic Preparedness

A new survey of dozens of surge capacity managers at hospitals nationwide captures the U.S. health care system’s pandemic preparedness status in the months before the first COVID-19 cases were identified in China.
17-Mar-2021 1:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Accelerating Gains in Abdominal Fat During Menopause Tied to Heart Disease Risk

Women who experience an accelerated accumulation of abdominal fat during menopause are at greater risk of heart disease, even if their weight stays steady, according to a University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health-led analysis...
3-Mar-2021 9:15 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: DavidRothsteinHR.jpg

Blood Test that Predicts Kidney Rejection Suggests New Way to Manage Post-Transplant Patients

Researchers have discovered a blood biomarker that predicts kidney transplant rejection with a lead time of about eight months, which could give doctors an opportunity to intervene and prevent permanent damage, potentially using an existing...
21-Feb-2021 9:00 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our YouTube Videos

About

About UPMC
A $19 billion world-renowned health care provider and insurer, Pittsburgh-based UPMC is inventing new models of patient-centered, cost-effective, accountable care. UPMC provides more than $900 million a year in benefits to its communities, including more care to the region’s most vulnerable citizens than any other health care institution. The largest nongovernmental employer in Pennsylvania, UPMC integrates 87,000 employees, 40 hospitals, 700 doctors’ offices and outpatient sites, and a 3.5 million-member Insurance Services Division, the largest medical insurer in western Pennsylvania. As UPMC works in close collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh Schools of the Health Sciences, U.S. News & World Report consistently ranks UPMC Presbyterian Shadyside on its annual Honor Roll of America’s Best Hospitals. UPMC Enterprises functions as the innovation and commercialization arm of UPMC, and UPMC International provides hands-on health care and management services with partners around the world. For more information, go to UPMC.com.

Experts

Contacts

Taylor Andres

andresta@upmc.edu

412-647-3555

Karen Beardsley

beardsleypetitkl@upmc.edu

Joni Berman
Executive Assistant II to Paul Wood Vice President & Chief Communications Officer, UPMC

bermanj@upmc.edu

412.586.9763

Timothy Betler

betlertc@upmc.edu

Madison Brunner

brunnerm@upmc.edu

Courtney Caprara
Communications Specialist

capraracl@upmc.edu

412-592-8134

Amy Charley
Manager, Media Relations

charleya@upmc.edu

412-738-3511

Amber Depew
Director, Corporate Communications

depewa2@upmc.edu

Ed DeWitt

edewitt@wmhs.com

Kate Donaghy

kdonaghy@wmhs.com

Anastasiia Gorelova
Manager., Science Writing

gorelovaa@upmc.edu

Erin Hare

haree@upmc.edu

Jim Hee
Senior Category Lead, Indirect Sourcing

heejb@upmc.edu

412-647-9446

Allison Hydzik
Senior Manager, Media Relations
public health

hydzikam@upmc.edu

412-647-9975

Linda Johnson

linda.johnson@wcahospital.org

Sarah Katz

katzsb@upmc.edu

Andrea Kunicky
Manager, Media Relations

andrea.kunicky@chp.edu

Lisa Lombardo

lombardola@upmc.edu

Marc Lukasiak

Marc.Lukasiak@chp.edu

Kelly McCall
Public Relations Director

kmccall@pinnaclehealth.org

717-231-8104

Jennifer Milan
Vendor Master Analyst

milanjj@upmc.edu

412-559-2646

Cyndy Patton
Media Relations Manager

pattonc4@upmc.edu

4124156085

Richard Pietzak

pietzakr@upmc.edu

Lisa Rossi
Communications Director

rossil@upmc.edu

412-641-8940

Danielle Sampsell
Communications Specialist II

sampselld@upmc.edu

Stephanie Stanley
Manager, Media Relations

mediarelations@upmc.edu

412-586-9762

Arvind Suresh

suresha2@upmc.edu

412-647-9966

Lawerence Synett
Media Relations Manager

synettl@upmc.edu

Ashley Trentrock

trentrockar@upmc.edu

412-586-9776

Tyler Wagner
Communications Specialist

twagner2@susquehannahealth.org

570-321-2858

Kristy Warren
Communications Specialist

kwarren@susquehannahealth.org

Dianna Wentz
Chaplain

dianna.wentz@gmail.com

412-232-8198

Paul Wood
Vice President & Chief Communications Officer

woodpc@upmc.edu

412-647-6647

Twitter

close
0.69349