Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

2ndPbubble06.jpg

Electric Skyrmions Charge Ahead for Next-Generation Data Storage

A team of researchers led by Berkeley Lab has observed chirality for the first time in polar skyrmions in a material with reversible electrical properties – a combination that could lead to more powerful data storage devices that continue to hold...
18-Apr-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

VIDEO: The Making of the Largest 3D Map of the Universe

In this video, Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument (DESI) project participants share their insight and excitement about the project and its potential for new and unexpected discoveries.
12-Apr-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Atmospheric_rivers_WRFhindcast_CFSR.png

Climate Scientists Partner with San Francisco to be Ready for Future Storms

The City and County of San Francisco (CCSF) is partnering with experts from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley Lab) and Silvestrum Climate Associates to assess how climate change may influence the intensity of atmospheric rivers and...
10-Apr-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

XBD201806-00369-051alt.png

Berkeley Lab Team Uses Deep Learning to Help Veterans Administration Address Suicide Risks

Researchers in Berkeley Lab's Computational Research Division are applying deep learning and analytics to electronic health record (EHR) data to help the Veterans Administration address a host of medical and psychological challenges affecting many...
3-Apr-2019 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DESI_CI_firstlight-400dpi-2551x1697px.png

Dark Energy Instrument’s Lenses See the Night Sky for the First Time

On April 1 the dome of the Mayall Telescope near Tucson, Arizona, opened to the night sky, and starlight poured through the assembly of six large lenses that were carefully packaged and aligned for the Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument project.
3-Apr-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

SOSxtal_300PPI.jpeg

Breakthrough Study of Cell Signaling Holds Promise for Immune Research and Beyond

For the first time ever, scientists have imaged the process by which an individual immune system molecule is switched on in response to a signal from the environment. The new work provides an enormous leap forward in our understanding of how T cells...
1-Apr-2019 8:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Ice Sheet Modeling Probes Antarctic Vulnerabilities

The BISICLES ice sheet model uses high performance computing resources at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) to systematically examine where the Antarctic Ice Sheet is vulnerable and the resulting potential for large...
28-Mar-2019 4:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Mobiliti1.png

Mobiliti: A Game Changer for Analyzing Traffic Congestion

Berkeley Lab researchers have developed a software tool that uses supercomputing resources at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center to accurately simulate traffic flow throughout the San Francisco Bay Area road networks and...
28-Mar-2019 4:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Experts on Ecosystems Getting Greener in the Arctic

28-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST

ur8Fh-rA.jpg

How Drought and Other Extremes Impact Water Pollution

One in 10 Americans depends on the Colorado River for bathing and drinking. Last fall’s record-high temperatures reduced Colorado snowpack in winter 2018 to 66 percent of normal, sparking concern over water shortages downstream and leaving water...
10-Oct-2018 11:30 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Massie Ballon
Communications & Outreach

mlballon@lbl.gov

925-927-2541

Julie Chao
Science Writer

jhchao@lbl.gov

510-486-6491

Theresa Duque

tnduque@lbl.gov

John German
Chief Communications Officer

jdgerman@lbl.gov

510-697-7918

David Gilbert
Public Affairs Manager
Energy & Environmental Genomics

degilbert@lbl.gov

925-296-5643

Kathy Kincade
Technology Writer/Editor
Computing Sciences

kkincade@lbl.gov

510-495-2124

Aliyah Kovner

akovner@lbl.gov

Dan Krotz
Science Writer

DAKrotz@lbl.gov

510-486-4019

David Nguyen
PR Assistant

DHNguyen@lbl.gov

Glenn Roberts
Science Writer
X-ray light sources

geroberts@lbl.gov

510-486-5582

Marilyn Saarni
Earth & Env Science Writer

mesaarni@lbl.gov

510-910-1730

Keri Troutman
Writer-editor

khtroutman@lbl.gov

510-486-5071

Linda Vu
Communications Specialist
Computing Sciences / Networking

lvu@lbl.gov

5104952402

Ashley White
Director of Communications, Advanced Light Source

alscommunications@lbl.gov

Margie Wylie
Public Affairs Specialist, Computing Sciences

mwylie@lbl.gov

5104867421

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!