Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA USA

Our News on Newswise

FigureD.jpg

New Molecular Blueprint Advances Our Understanding of Photosynthesis

Researchers at Berkeley Lab have used one of the most advanced microscopes in the world to reveal the structure of a large protein complex crucial to photosynthesis, the process by which plants convert sunlight into cellular energy. The finding will...
15-Feb-2019 7:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Preparing for a New Tool to Study the ‘Glue That Binds Us All’

For several decades, the nuclear science community has been calling for a new type of particle collider to pursue – in the words of one report – “a new experimental quest to study the glue that binds us all.” This glue is responsible for...
8-Feb-2019 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

RIKEN-cyclotron-setup.jpg

New Measurements of Exotic Form of Magnesium Suggest a Surprising Shape-Shift

A team led by Berkeley Lab scientists has gleaned new and surprising clues about the nuclear structure of an exotic form of magnesium: Mg-40.
7-Feb-2019 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

41598_2018_36675_Fig5_HTML.png

Dark Fiber Lays Groundwork for Long-Distance Earthquake Detection and Groundwater Mapping

Researchers at Berkeley Lab have turned dark fiber owned by the DOE Energy Sciences Network into a highly sensitive seismic activity sensor that could potentially augment the performance of earthquake early warning systems currently being developed...
5-Feb-2019 4:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

16 Elements: Berkeley Lab's Contributions to the Periodic Table

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is credited with discovering more elements on the periodic table than any other institution. In celebration of its 150th anniversary, we look at how far it’s come and where it’s headed.
28-Jan-2019 7:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Chamber_Telescope-82.jpg

Berkeley Lab Researcher Wins Machine-Learning Competition With Code That Sorts Through Simulated Telescope Data

To help solve a big data program for a new telescope that will conduct a major sky survey of the from the high desert of Chile, a scientific collaboration launched a competition to find the best way to train computers to identify the many types of...
25-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

How to Escape a Black Hole: Simulations Provide New Clues to What’s Driving Powerful Plasma Jets

New simulations led by researchers working at the Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley have combined decades-old theories to provide new insight about the driving mechanisms in plasma jets that allows them to steal energy from black holes’ powerful...
24-Jan-2019 12:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

IMG_84051.JPG

Berkeley Lab Pioneer in Synchrotron Techniques and Tools Receives DOE Secretary’s Award

Zahid Hussain, a longtime Berkeley Lab scientist, has received the DOE Secretary’s Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his contributions to synchrotron science.
22-Jan-2019 4:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Experts on Ecosystems Getting Greener in the Arctic

28-Jan-2019 1:05 PM EST

ur8Fh-rA.jpg

How Drought and Other Extremes Impact Water Pollution

One in 10 Americans depends on the Colorado River for bathing and drinking. Last fall’s record-high temperatures reduced Colorado snowpack in winter 2018 to 66 percent of normal, sparking concern over water shortages downstream and leaving water...
10-Oct-2018 11:30 AM EDT

see all experts

Our YouTube Videos

Youtube feed not yet configured. Is this your Newswise member page? Contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

About

Contacts

Massie Ballon
Communications & Outreach

mlballon@lbl.gov

925-927-2541

Julie Chao
Science Writer

jhchao@lbl.gov

510-486-6491

Theresa Duque

tnduque@lbl.gov

John German
Chief Communications Officer

jdgerman@lbl.gov

510-697-7918

David Gilbert
Public Affairs Manager
Energy & Environmental Genomics

degilbert@lbl.gov

925-296-5643

Kathy Kincade
Technology Writer/Editor
Computing Sciences

kkincade@lbl.gov

510-495-2124

Aliyah Kovner

akovner@lbl.gov

Dan Krotz
Science Writer

DAKrotz@lbl.gov

510-486-4019

David Nguyen
PR Assistant

DHNguyen@lbl.gov

Glenn Roberts
Science Writer
X-ray light sources

geroberts@lbl.gov

510-486-5582

Marilyn Saarni
Earth & Env Science Writer

mesaarni@lbl.gov

510-910-1730

Linda Vu
Communications Specialist
Computing Sciences / Networking

lvu@lbl.gov

5104952402

Ashley White
Director of Communications, Advanced Light Source

alscommunications@lbl.gov

Margie Wylie
Public Affairs Specialist, Computing Sciences

mwylie@lbl.gov

5104867421

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!