Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareVanderbilt University
Nashville, TN USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: _Neat.jpg

It doesn’t matter how nicely you wrap that gift. Except when it does.

A neatly wrapped gift will impress your acquaintances, but might leave your loved ones feeling let down when the gift doesn't live up to expectations, suggests new research by Vanderbilt postdoctoral scholar Erick Mas.
5-Dec-2019 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Here’s how a Vanderbilt astrophysicist plans to observe a 'black hole symphony' using gravitational wave astronomy

New research led by Vanderbilt astrophysicist Karan Jani presents a compelling roadmap for capturing intermediate-mass black hole activity.
15-Nov-2019 3:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

I'll Have What She's Having: How Peer Pressure Does—and Doesn’t—Influence Our Choices

New research by Vanderbilt marketing professor Kelly Haws helps explain why we match our friends' orders at a restaurant—but not exactly.
30-Aug-2019 12:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

When it comes to investing, love at first sight doesn’t always pay off

It's very easy to get too attached to a particular investment—even when there are better options out there. New research by Vanderbilt business professors explains why it happens, and how to avoid it.
20-Aug-2019 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: Sharece_Thrower1.jpg

When Legislatures Can and Can’t Check Executive Powers

The largest analysis of gubernatorial executive orders to date reveals important nuances that explain how and when legislatures are able to constrain executive power.
29-Jul-2019 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

The momentum myth: Staggering primaries didn’t affect outcome of 2016 nominating contests

During the 2016 primary season, voters didn't shift their preferences based on who was winning, according to a massive analysis of more than 325,000 tracking poll results.
29-Jul-2019 3:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Blow Your Diet? Admitting It to Someone Might Help You Do Better Next Time.

Disclosing a lapse in self control, like straying from a diet or spending too much on something frivolous, can help you do better next time if you truly feel guilty about it, but insincere confessions can actually make you more likely to slip up...
10-Jul-2019 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

First step towards a better prosthetic leg? Trip people over and over

The first step a Vanderbilt team took in addressing a challenge in lower-body prosthetics was coming to understand the way people with two legs catch themselves, accomplished by covering test subjects with motion-capturing sensors.
19-Jun-2019 9:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Contacts

Catherine Arnold
Writer/Editor

cb.arnold@gmail.com

3476342170

Joan Brasher
Editor
Education, Human Development

joan.brasher@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3211

Barb Cramer
Manager
Video News

barb.cramer@vanderbilt.edu

Tiarra Draper
Administrative Coordinator

tiarra.draper@vanderbilt.edu

651-322-3091

Steve Ertel

 steve.ertel@Vanderbilt.Edu

Beth Fox
Director, Web Content Strategy

beth.fox@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-1816

Heidi Hall
Public Affairs Officer
Engineering Research

heidi.hall@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Lauren Hammond
Projects and Planning Manager, Strategic Communications

lauren.hammond@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-4962

Princine Lewis
Senior Strategist

princine.l.lewis@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-7288

Damon Maida
Manager of Media Relations, Strategic Communications

Damon.maida@vanderbilt.edu

Vanderbilt University Media Relations Media@vanderbilt.edu
Research News

liz.entman@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-NEWS (Ext. 1)

Melanie Moran
Exec. Director, Integrated Comm.

Melanie.moran@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-7970

Ian Morrison
Assistant Vice Chancellor Strategic Communications

ian.morrison@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-2706

Ann Marie Owens
Senior Public Affairs Officer
Arts & Humanities, Religion, Vanderbilt Libraries

annmarie.owens@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3208

James Patterson
Senior Writer
Government, Law, Politics, Social Sciences

jim.patterson@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-1271

Emily Pearce
Director, Video

emily.pearce@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-6866

Brian Smokler
Broadcast Technical Manager

bsmokler@yahoo.com

Dagny Stuart
Media Relations

dagny.stuart@vanderbilt.edu

615-936-7245

Sonya Thompson
Editorial Assistant

sonya.thompson@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Michael Todd
Videographer

michael.todd@vanderbilt.edu

Spencer Turney
Media Relations Specialist

spencer.turney@vanderbilt.edu

6153430865

Ryan Underwood
Business Editor
law, business

ryan.underwood@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-3469

Jennifer Wetzel
Senior Information Officer
Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

jennifer.wetzel@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-4747

Amy Wolf
National Communications Coordinator
National News, Undergraduate Admissions, Financial Aid

amy.wolf@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-2634

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
1.37238