Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareVanderbilt University
Nashville, TN USA

Our News on Newswise

brucecooil.jpg

Why some rules are meant to be broken

Most research into compliance looks at how organizations follow regulations. Researchers at Vanderbilt and University of Virginia are among the first to examine whether the rules themselves could be contributing to violations.
9-May-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Adaptive Cruise Control Vehicles Create Phantom Traffic Jams in Road Test

Work and his collaborators tested seven different cars from two manufacturers on a remote, rural roadway in Arizona. They simulated various driving conditions with a pace car changing its speed, followed by a vehicle using adaptive cruise control....
7-May-2019 11:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Vanderbilt Poll: Nashville residents uneasy about growth

Three-quarters of residents of the South's "It City" are souring on the rapid pace of growth and say they want their tax dollars to go toward something other than business development.
30-Apr-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Vanderbilt University to Develop and Test "Safe Harbor" Standards of Care

A team of researchers from Vanderbilt University’s schools of law, medicine and management has received a five-year research grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality of the Department of Health and Human Services to develop and...
19-Apr-2019 4:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Indicators of Despair Rising Among Gen X-ers Entering Middle Age

In 2016, a surprising decline in life expectancy was ascribed to "deaths of despair" among working-class middle-aged white men displaced by a changing economy. However, new research shows indicators of despair are rising among Americans approaching...
15-Apr-2019 4:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

When ‘Sorry’ Makes Things Worse

Laws intended to reduce malpractice litigation by protecting doctors who want to apologize don’t work, according to a new analysis of proprietary insurance data. This provides the most detailed look yet at the impact of apology legislation on such...
2-Apr-2019 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

How to cross-examine a machine in court

As society becomes more automated, our trial system needs to identify new ways to cross-examine evidence generated by processes and machines, without requiring human witnesses to vouch for it.
27-Mar-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Depoliticizing the Supreme Court may mean radically overhauling it

To minimize the influence of partisanship on the Supreme Court, Vanderbilt law professor Ganesh Sitaraman suggests tapping judges on the federal court of appeals for temporary service on the Supreme Court.
26-Mar-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Contacts

Catherine Arnold
Writer/Editor

cb.arnold@gmail.com

3476342170

Joan Brasher
Editor
Education, Human Development

joan.brasher@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3211

Barb Cramer
Manager
Video News

barb.cramer@vanderbilt.edu

Liz Entman
Public Affairs Officer
Research News

liz.entman@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-NEWS

Steve Ertel

 steve.ertel@Vanderbilt.Edu

Beth Fox
Director, Web Content Strategy

beth.fox@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-1816

Heidi Hall
Public Affairs Officer
Engineering Research

heidi.hall@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Lauren Hammond
Projects and Planning Manager, Strategic Communications

lauren.hammond@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-4962

Princine Lewis
Senior Strategist

princine.l.lewis@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-7288

Damon Maida
Manager of Media Relations, Strategic Communications

Damon.maida@vanderbilt.edu

Melanie Moran
Exec. Director, Integrated Comm.

Melanie.moran@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-7970

Ian Morrison
Assistant Vice Chancellor Strategic Communications

ian.morrison@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-2706

Ann Marie Owens
Senior Public Affairs Officer
Arts & Humanities, Religion, Vanderbilt Libraries

annmarie.owens@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3208

James Patterson
Senior Writer
Government, Law, Politics, Social Sciences

jim.patterson@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-1271

Emily Pearce
Director, Video

emily.pearce@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-6866

Brian Smokler
Broadcast Technical Manager

bsmokler@yahoo.com

Dagny Stuart
Media Relations

dagny.stuart@vanderbilt.edu

615-936-7245

Sonya Thompson
Editorial Assistant

sonya.thompson@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Michael Todd
Videographer

michael.todd@vanderbilt.edu

Spencer Turney
Media Relations Specialist

spencer.turney@vanderbilt.edu

6153430865

Ryan Underwood
Business Editor
law, business

ryan.underwood@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-3469

Jennifer Wetzel
Senior Information Officer
Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

jennifer.wetzel@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-4747

Amy Wolf
National Communications Coordinator
National News, Undergraduate Admissions, Financial Aid

amy.wolf@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-2634

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!