Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareVanderbilt University
Nashville, TN USA

Our News on Newswise

Quick DNA test for malaria drug resistance is life-saver, holds promise for other diseases

Drug-resistant malaria is prevalent in Southeast Asia and may spread. Doctors currently can tell whether powerful malaria drugs will work through or a DNA duplication method that allows for optical detection of a disease’s biomarkers, but it's...
12-Jun-2019 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

iPhone plus nanoscale porous silicon equals cheap, simple home diagnostics

The team combined their research on low-cost, nanostructured thin films with a device most American adults already own.
11-Jun-2019 12:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Think Treasuries are risk-free? Not so fast.

Oversight of the Treasury market hasn't kept up with new technology, leaving these very safe investments unexpectedly vulnerable to major shocks, says Vanderbilt law professor Yesha Yadav in a new paper.
6-Jun-2019 1:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Study: Continuity, Not Change, Marked President Trump’s First Year

While the various unilateral executive actions taken by President Donald Trump during the first year of his administration received great public scrutiny, a new Vanderbilt analysis shows he didn’t actually use them any more or less than his...
29-May-2019 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Technology better than tape measure for identifying lymphedema risk

New research by School of Nursing professor Sheila Ridner finds that a special scan measuring lymphatic fluid volume is significantly better than a tape measure at predicting which women undergoing treatment for breast cancer are at risk of...
24-May-2019 11:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: brucecooil.jpg

Why some rules are meant to be broken

Most research into compliance looks at how organizations follow regulations. Researchers at Vanderbilt and University of Virginia are among the first to examine whether the rules themselves could be contributing to violations.
9-May-2019 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Adaptive Cruise Control Vehicles Create Phantom Traffic Jams in Road Test

Work and his collaborators tested seven different cars from two manufacturers on a remote, rural roadway in Arizona. They simulated various driving conditions with a pace car changing its speed, followed by a vehicle using adaptive cruise control....
7-May-2019 11:45 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Vanderbilt Poll: Nashville residents uneasy about growth

Three-quarters of residents of the South's "It City" are souring on the rapid pace of growth and say they want their tax dollars to go toward something other than business development.
30-Apr-2019 8:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Contacts

Catherine Arnold
Writer/Editor

cb.arnold@gmail.com

3476342170

Joan Brasher
Editor
Education, Human Development

joan.brasher@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3211

Barb Cramer
Manager
Video News

barb.cramer@vanderbilt.edu

Steve Ertel

 steve.ertel@Vanderbilt.Edu

Beth Fox
Director, Web Content Strategy

beth.fox@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-1816

Heidi Hall
Public Affairs Officer
Engineering Research

heidi.hall@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Lauren Hammond
Projects and Planning Manager, Strategic Communications

lauren.hammond@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-4962

Princine Lewis
Senior Strategist

princine.l.lewis@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-7288

Damon Maida
Manager of Media Relations, Strategic Communications

Damon.maida@vanderbilt.edu

Vanderbilt University Media Relations
Research News

liz.entman@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-NEWS (Ext. 1)

Melanie Moran
Exec. Director, Integrated Comm.

Melanie.moran@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-7970

Ian Morrison
Assistant Vice Chancellor Strategic Communications

ian.morrison@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-2706

Ann Marie Owens
Senior Public Affairs Officer
Arts & Humanities, Religion, Vanderbilt Libraries

annmarie.owens@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-3208

James Patterson
Senior Writer
Government, Law, Politics, Social Sciences

jim.patterson@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-1271

Emily Pearce
Director, Video

emily.pearce@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-6866

Brian Smokler
Broadcast Technical Manager

bsmokler@yahoo.com

Dagny Stuart
Media Relations

dagny.stuart@vanderbilt.edu

615-936-7245

Sonya Thompson
Editorial Assistant

sonya.thompson@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-6397

Michael Todd
Videographer

michael.todd@vanderbilt.edu

Spencer Turney
Media Relations Specialist

spencer.turney@vanderbilt.edu

6153430865

Ryan Underwood
Business Editor
law, business

ryan.underwood@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-3469

Jennifer Wetzel
Senior Information Officer
Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

jennifer.wetzel@vanderbilt.edu

615-322-4747

Amy Wolf
National Communications Coordinator
National News, Undergraduate Admissions, Financial Aid

amy.wolf@vanderbilt.edu

615-343-2634

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!