Homeland Security's Science And Technology Directorate
Washington, DC USA

Our News on Newswise

Saving Lives (and Breath) on the Wildland Fire Line

The Science and Technology Directorate (S&T) is dedicated to protecting these selfless men and women as they work to protect our communities.
27-Jul-2021 8:55 AM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS S&T Launches Series 3 of Virtual Whole-of-Government R&D Showcase

This unique four-part series highlights how S&T and its partners across government are mobilizing research and development (R&D) teams to reduce risks from natural and human-induced disasters; accelerating breakthrough discoveries; and helping the...
26-Jul-2021 12:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

As Drone Popularity and Potential Risk Soars, So Too Does S&T Preparedness

The popularity of sUAS, or drones, has grown as the cost has become more affordable. Their nefarious capabilities continue to increase, as well. They can attain high speeds and move in three dimensions with the potential to carry dangerous payloads,...
20-Jul-2021 10:15 AM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS Awards $2M to Small Business to Develop Handheld Advanced Detection Imaging Technology

The DHS SBIR Program awarded nearly $2 million in funding to two small businesses to develop an advanced, affordable, and compact handheld passenger screening device to help secure aviation against evolving threats.
19-Jul-2021 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS S&T Seeks Blast Resistant Trash Receptacles for Market Survey Analysis

DHS S&T issued a RFI on commercially available Blast Resistant Trash Receptacles (BRTRs) to be included in a market survey conducted by S&T’s NUSTL in New York.
16-Jul-2021 3:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS S&T Partnership Brings Next-Generation Incident Command System to a Wider Response Community

DHS S&T is joining forces with the non-profit Beacon NGO to advance open source software capabilities for public safety.
15-Jul-2021 2:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS S&T Tests Innovative Autonomous Surface and Underwater Ocean Surveillance Technology

DHS S&T is evaluating innovative ocean surveillance technology to support USCG's mission of protecting maritime border shoreline, waterways, seaports, and other commercially navigable waters.
14-Jul-2021 2:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Delivering Clean Power to Disaster Scenes, Without Compromise

The H2Rescue is an innovative new truck that can bring power to a disaster scene, with zero emissions.
13-Jul-2021 11:25 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: DETERGroupPhoto.png

“Virtual Internet” Tests Software Solutions for Real World Problems

Developed by the Department of Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate’s (S&T) Cyber Security Division (CSD), the DETER testbed, described as the “Internet in a box” or a “virtual Internet,” provides a safe and secure option...
21-Oct-2014 2:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The mission of Homeland Security's Science and Technology Directorate is to strengthen America’s security and resiliency by providing knowledge products and innovative technology solutions for the Homeland Security Enterprise (HSE).

Contacts

Ethan Alpern
External Affairs Specialist

ethanjalpern@gmail.com

Lindsey Backhaus
Special Assistant to S&T OCC

Lindsey.Backhaus@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Gwen Bausmith
Public Affairs Specialist

gwen.bausmith@hq.dhs.gov

Raymond Hear
Support Contractor

raymond.hear@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Meron Kassaye
Support Contractor - Web Content Manager

meron.kassaye@associates.hq.dhs.gov

(202)254-6417

Morgan Noonan
Multimedia Specialist

morgan.noonan@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Jamie Philpotts

jamie.philpotts@hq.dhs.gov

Alana Prince
Web Content Manager

alana.prince@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Marcus Shorter

marcus.shorter@hq.dhs.gov

John Verrico
Chief, Media Relations
security

john.verrico@hq.dhs.gov

202-254-2385

Lisa Weimern
Program Specialist

lisa.weimern@hq.dhs.gov

2022532782

Kristin Yarnall
Support Contractor - Web Management Support

kristin.yarnall@associates.hq.dhs.gov

410-658-1677

Twitter

close
0.53629