Homeland Security's Science And Technology Directorate
Washington, DC USA

Our News on Newswise

DHS-Funded Security Technology Licensed for Commercialization

S&T is pushing the boundaries of technology, architecture, and industry partnerships to meet TSA’s current and future challenges and improve the screening experience for both travelers and screeners.
27-Apr-2021 1:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS Center of Excellence Releases Report on Cross-Border E-Commerce

The Borders, Trade, and Immigration Institute (BTI), a DHS S&T Center of Excellence (COE) led by the University of Houston, recently released a report on the challenges posed by emerging technologies to cross-border e-commerce.
26-Apr-2021 11:35 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Tennessee-Based Veteran-Owned Start-Up to Develop New COVID-19 Screening Method

DHS S&T awarded $199,653 in Phase 1 funding to Farmspace Systems, LLC, a veteran-owned start-up based in Alamo, Tenn., to enhance its COVID Finder technology, a non-thermal detection COVID-19 screening method.
22-Apr-2021 12:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

New Tech Makes Detecting Airborne Ebola Virus Possible

&T's National Biodefense Analysis and Countermeasures Center designed and conducted a study to optimize methods for collecting and measuring very small amounts of Ebola virus in the air.
20-Apr-2021 1:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS Partners with DWX to Advance Homeland Security Solutions

To keep pace with rapidly emerging technologies, DHS S&T is partnering with DEFENSEWERX (DWX), a nonprofit organization focused on cultivating ecosystems that enable the acceleration of innovative solutions to benefit the nation.
13-Apr-2021 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Research Indicates Environment is Unlikely to Affect Transmissibility of SARS-COV-2 Variants

The deactivating effects of heat and sunlight on SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, are consistent across different variants of the virus, according to new research from DHS S&T.
7-Apr-2021 12:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

DHS S&T SVIP Awards Funding to Monitor Current and Future Biological Threats

To develop capabilities to monitor the current COVID-19 pandemic and other future biological events, DHS S&T has awarded $199,648 to Mesur.io Inc., for analysis and reporting of outbreak-related data.
5-Apr-2021 12:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

News Release: DHS S&T and Israeli Partnership Seeks Ideas for Innovative Homeland Security Solutions

To help stimulate, promote, and support industrial research and development mutually beneficial to the United States and Israel, the Israel – U.S. Binational Industrial Research and Development (BIRD) Homeland Security (HLS) program is seeking...
30-Mar-2021 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: DETERGroupPhoto.png

“Virtual Internet” Tests Software Solutions for Real World Problems

Developed by the Department of Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate’s (S&T) Cyber Security Division (CSD), the DETER testbed, described as the “Internet in a box” or a “virtual Internet,” provides a safe and secure option...
21-Oct-2014 2:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The mission of Homeland Security's Science and Technology Directorate is to strengthen America’s security and resiliency by providing knowledge products and innovative technology solutions for the Homeland Security Enterprise (HSE).

Contacts

Ethan Alpern
External Affairs Specialist

ethanjalpern@gmail.com

Lindsey Backhaus
Special Assistant to S&T OCC

Lindsey.Backhaus@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Gwen Bausmith
Public Affairs Specialist

gwen.bausmith@hq.dhs.gov

Raymond Hear
Support Contractor

raymond.hear@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Meron Kassaye
Support Contractor - Web Content Manager

meron.kassaye@associates.hq.dhs.gov

(202)254-6417

Morgan Noonan
Multimedia Specialist

morgan.noonan@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Jamie Philpotts

jamie.philpotts@hq.dhs.gov

Alana Prince
Web Content Manager

alana.prince@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Marcus Shorter

marcus.shorter@hq.dhs.gov

John Verrico
Chief, Media Relations
security

john.verrico@hq.dhs.gov

202-254-2385

Lisa Weimern
Program Specialist

lisa.weimern@hq.dhs.gov

2022532782

Kristin Yarnall
Support Contractor - Web Management Support

kristin.yarnall@associates.hq.dhs.gov

410-658-1677

Twitter

close
0.48367