Homeland Security's Science And Technology Directorate
Washington, DC USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 21_0114_ST_Wasterwater_WBE_Taking_Sewage_Sample.jpg

S&T Joins Coalition Seeking to ‘Flush’ out COVID-19 in Wastewater

S&T is working with NIST and the University of Louisville to develop guidelines to standardize Wastewater-Based Epidemiology testing methods nationwide.
14-Jan-2021 2:40 PM EST Add to Favorites

U.S. and Israeli Partners Announce Awards for Homeland Security Technologies

The Israel-U.S. Binational Industrial Research and Development (BIRD) Foundation is announcing awards for two collaborative projects totaling $1.5 million to develop advanced homeland security technologies in the areas of threat detection and 3D...
13-Jan-2021 3:15 PM EST Add to Favorites

Field Tests Demonstrate Precision of Groundbreaking Firefighter Tracking Technology

S&T and NASA JPL successfully tested the Precision Outdoor and Indoor Navigation and Training for Emergency Responders (POINTER) technology at the Veteran’s Affairs Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System.
8-Jan-2021 4:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

News Release: S&T Seeks Industry Participation in Battle Against Opioids

DHS S&T is working with the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) on a multi-phase study to improve detection of synthetic opioids.
8-Jan-2021 3:20 PM EST Add to Favorites

Airport Screening While Wearing Masks? Facial Recognition Tech Shows up to 96% Accuracy in Recent Test

A controlled scenario test by DHS S&T shows promising results for facial recognition technologies to accurately identify individuals wearing protective face masks.
4-Jan-2021 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 20_1218_ST_Press_Release_ConformanceFrameworkCover.jpg

DHS S&T Publishes the Resilient PNT Conformance Framework

DHS S&T published the Resilient Positioning, Navigation, and Timing (PNT) Conformance Framework today. PNT services, such as the Global Positioning System (GPS), is a national critical function that enables many applications within the critical...
18-Dec-2020 2:25 PM EST Add to Favorites

DHS Partners with NYSTEC to Advance Homeland Security Solutions

DHS S&T is partnering with the non-profit NYSTEC to leverage its extensive public safety network of state and local law enforcement and transit authorities within the Northeast Region of the United States.
17-Dec-2020 1:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

DHS Partners with RTI to Advance Homeland Security Solutions

DHS S&T is partnering with non-profit RTI International (RTI) to tap into its existing relationships with Southeast Region of the United States technology-based economic organizations, start-up accelerators, and industry.
17-Dec-2020 1:50 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: DETERGroupPhoto.png

“Virtual Internet” Tests Software Solutions for Real World Problems

Developed by the Department of Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate’s (S&T) Cyber Security Division (CSD), the DETER testbed, described as the “Internet in a box” or a “virtual Internet,” provides a safe and secure option...
21-Oct-2014 2:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The mission of Homeland Security's Science and Technology Directorate is to strengthen America’s security and resiliency by providing knowledge products and innovative technology solutions for the Homeland Security Enterprise (HSE).

Contacts

Ethan Alpern
External Affairs Specialist

ethanjalpern@gmail.com

Lindsey Backhaus
Special Assistant to S&T OCC

Lindsey.Backhaus@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Gwen Bausmith
Public Affairs Specialist

gwen.bausmith@hq.dhs.gov

Raymond Hear
Support Contractor

raymond.hear@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Meron Kassaye
Support Contractor - Web Content Manager

meron.kassaye@associates.hq.dhs.gov

(202)254-6417

Morgan Noonan
Multimedia Specialist

morgan.noonan@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Jamie Philpotts

jamie.philpotts@hq.dhs.gov

Alana Prince
Web Content Manager

alana.prince@associates.hq.dhs.gov

Marcus Shorter

marcus.shorter@hq.dhs.gov

John Verrico
Chief, Media Relations
security

john.verrico@hq.dhs.gov

202-254-2385

Lisa Weimern
Program Specialist

lisa.weimern@hq.dhs.gov

2022532782

Kristin Yarnall
Support Contractor - Web Management Support

kristin.yarnall@associates.hq.dhs.gov

410-658-1677

Twitter

close
0.63621