Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 664c89bad4f3c_Gogo-GraceisatraditionalhealthpractitionerinvolvedinthestudytotestherclientsforHIVandreferthemforARTifpositive600x300002.jpg

Study that empowers traditional health practitioners to test for HIV expands in rural South Africa

A National Institutes of Health five-year, $2.8 million grant to Wits and Vanderbilt University will advance traditional health practitioner-initiated HIV testing.
21-May-2024 3:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 663cbf7856437_Buffalomediarelease.jpg

New Fossil Bovids from Kromdraai

New Fossil Bovids from Kromdraai shed light on South Africa's ancient ecosystems.
9-May-2024 8:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6639d73863fdb_G1.JPG

From Fossils to Fuel: Mozambique's Maniamba Basin’s Energy Potential

The discovery of the Maniamba Basin's potential is a significant stride in energy exploration, yet it's only the first step. The research underscores the need for further investigations to fully unravel the basin's secrets. Advanced studies,...
7-May-2024 3:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6627a5f8c3fce_ProfessorShabirMadhi-20.jpg

Vaccinologists Keith Klugman and Shabir Madhi awarded Sabin’s Prestigious Gold Medal

The Sabin Vaccine Institute presented the Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal to physician-researchers Keith Klugman and Shabir Madhi.
23-Apr-2024 3:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 661d14d8f1102_BUGEMETLogo.jpg

Leading mining companies invest R40 million in geosciences research at Wits

The Bushveld Geology and Metallogeny Research Chair will advance the mining industry and develop the next generation of geoscientists.
15-Apr-2024 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

This news release is embargoed

Newswise: 6616540e3ba87_FossilsofearlyhomininswerefoundinSouthAfricasMakapanValley.jpg

ERC Advanced Grant for Paleoanthropologist Gabriele Macho

Frankfurt, 04/11/024. Paleoanthropologist Prof. Dr. Gabriele Macho will be awarded an ERC Advanced Grant by the European Research Council (ERC).
11-Apr-2024 6:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 660d37944aacf_Figure1600x300.jpg

Africa is no longer the carbon sink of the world

In only nine years between 2010 and 2019, Africa has turned from being a net carbon sink, to being a net carbon source.
3-Apr-2024 3:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 656ed1e456d0e_Insight1SteinarMelby.jpg

Top 10 Climate Science Insights Unveiled

Top 10 Climate Science Insights Unveiled: Global experts in social and natural sciences unveiled the annual 10 New Insights in Climate Science Report.
4-Dec-2023 3:05 AM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Experts

Contacts

Antonia Appe
Communications Manager: Health Sciences

Antonia.Appel@wits.ac.za

Ntando Hoza
Communications Intern

Ntando.Hoza@wits.ac.za

Deborah Minors
Senior Communications Officer

Deborah.Minors@wits.ac.za

Tiisang Monatisa
Communications Officer

tiisang.monatisa@wits.ac.za

+27 11 717 1051

Wendy Mothata
Social Media Officer

Wendy.Mothata@wits.ac.za

Schalk Mouton
Senior Communications Officer

Schalk.Mouton@wits.ac.za

Shirona Patel
Head: Communications

Shirona.Patel@wits.ac.za

+27-117-171-019

Chante Schatz
Multimedia Communications Officer

Chante.Schatz@wits.ac.za

Communications Team

wits.news@wits.ac.za

Erna VanWyk
Senior Communications Officer

Erna.VanWyk@wits.ac.za

Buhle Zuma
Senior Communications Officer

Buhle.Zuma@wits.ac.za

Twitter

Instagram

close
0.65302