Newswise — INDIANAPOLIS, IN- The American College of Sports Medicine is pleased to announce that Mary Lloyd Ireland, M.D., FACSM, is a recipient of its 2015 Citation Award. Dr. Ireland was selected for this award because of her significant contributions to sports medicine and the exercise sciences. She was recognized at an awards banquet during the association’s recent annual meeting.

“Citation Award winners are selected for their leadership and contributions in the areas of research and scholarship, clinical care, administrative services or educational services,” said Lawrence Armstrong, Chair of the ACSM Awards and Tributes Committee. “We’re happy to recognize Dr. Ireland’s tremendous accomplishments.”

Dr. Ireland is associate professor of orthopaedic surgery at the University of Kentucky. She is the founder of Kentucky Sports Medicine, a former world-class swimmer and served as team physician for the University of Kentucky, Eastern Kentucky University, Women’s USA Soccer Association, USA Basketball and USA Olympic Team at the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona.

Dr. Ireland has been a leading clinician and educator in sports medicine, particularly in the fields of ACL injuries and female athletes. Her textbook on the female athlete is an international go-to reference on the topic. She is a recognized and well-loved teacher, delivering more than 1000 local, national and international presentations, and chairing or moderating nearly 40 courses or retreats. She has also authored more than 40 book chapters and has published extensively in sports medicine journals.

Dr. Ireland is past chair of the ACSM team physician courses, the ACSM Advanced Team Physician Course and has represented ACSM at international team physician courses. She is a past member of the ACSM Board of Trustees and served as ACSM vice president.

Dr. Ireland received one of six Citation Awards that were awarded in 2015. Other recipients include:

L. Bruce Gladden, Ph.D., FACSMAuburn UniversityAuburn, Alabama Alan R. Hargens, Ph.D., FACSMUniversity of California at San DiegoSan Diego , California Richard G. Israel, Ed.D., FACSMColorado State UniversityFort Collins, Colorado Bess Marcus, Ph.D.University of California at San DiegoSan Diego , California Janice L. Thompson, Ph.D., FACSMThe University of BirminghamBirmingham, United Kingdom Find more information and view past recipients at


Register for reporter access to contact details