Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareUniversity of Kentucky
Lexington, KY USA

Our News on Newswise

UK Student, Military Researcher Explores Ways to Prevent Chronic Pain

Inspired by his time working for the Air Force and caring for wounded veterans, University of Kentucky College of Health Sciences doctoral candidate Josh Van Wyngaarden now studies ways to prevent chronic pain in those who have suffered traumatic...
7-Nov-2019 4:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

New $5.7 Million Grant Aims to Increase Colorectal Cancer Screening, Follow-Up Care in Appalachia

Cancer-control researchers at the University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center and The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James) aim to increase...
29-Oct-2019 4:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190411JOCKEYINITIATIVE525copy.JPG

How Studying the 'Two-Legged Equine Athlete' Can Help Make Racing Safer for All

A new research initiative from the University of Kentucky Sports Medicine Research Institute is looking closely at jockey performance – and the work has implications not only for the jockeys themselves, but also for the thoroughbreds they ride.
28-Oct-2019 9:40 AM EDT Add to Favorites

University of Kentucky Partners With Gen.G to Build Community Through Games

The partnership between UK and Gen.G will develop wholly new pathways for student recruitment, classroom and internship opportunities; research avenues for scholars across a variety of colleges; and professional development for alumni.
21-Oct-2019 6:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: oaktree.jpg

UK Partners With Bourbon Industry Leaders to Map White Oak Genome

Bourbon isn’t bourbon without the mighty white oak. Distillers have been aging bourbon in oak barrels as far back as the Roman Empire. Oak barrels give bourbon its unique caramel, vanilla, nutty and toasted flavors. Kentucky distillers rely...
17-Oct-2019 12:15 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 191005104915-01-herculaneum-scrolls-exlarge-169.jpg

Researcher Brent Seales Using Light Brighter Than the Sun to Read Herculaneum Scrolls

For nearly two decades, Brent Seales has doggedly labored to do the impossible — reveal the elusive texts within the carbonized Herculaneum scrolls. Now, he believes new scans are the best chance yet at revealing the mysterious contents.
10-Oct-2019 12:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: joeb222.png

UPK Releases New Joe B. Hall Memoir

One would be hard-pressed to find a member of Big Blue Nation unfamiliar with Joe B. Hall. For many, his name is synonymous with both the university and the UK Men’s Basketball team. In “Coach Hall: My Life On and Off the Court,” his new...
9-Oct-2019 10:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 190314VANELDIK32.JPG

$2.8 Million Grant Will Fund Preclinical Study of New Dementia Treatment

The Sanders-Brown Center on Aging at the University of Kentucky has received a five-year, $2.8 million grant to underwrite preclinical efficacy studies of a potential new treatment for dementia.
7-Oct-2019 7:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our YouTube Videos

About

The University of Kentucky is a public, land grant university dedicated to improving people's lives through excellence in education, research and creative work, service, and health care. As Kentucky's flagship institution, the university plays a critical leadership role by promoting diversity, inclusion, economic development, and human well-being.

Contacts

Ann Blackford
Dentistry, health sciences, nursing and public health

ann.blackford@uky.edu

859-323-6442

Jay Blanton
Executive Director of Public Relations

jay.blanton@uky.edu

859-257-6605

Katy Bennett
Marketing Specialist
Education law student government marketing

katy.bennett@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kelley Bozeman
Brand Management Deputy Director

kelleyb@uky.edu

859-257-3303

Grace Colville
Information Specialist
Family and Community Medicine, University Health Services

grace.colville@uky.edu

8595622294

Ryan Girves
Information Specialist

ryan.girves@uky.edu

Alicia Gregory
Video Producer

apgreg@uky.edu

859-257-2980

Gail Hairston
Public Relations Officer
Human resources, facilities management & sustainability medical

gail.hairston@uky.edu

859-257-3302

Whitney Hale
Senior Information Specialist
Fine arts and libraries

Whitney.Hale@uky.edu

859-257-8716

Kathy Johnson
Deputy Director, News Bureau
public safety

kathy.johnson@uky.edu

859-257-3155

Amy Jones-Timoney
Senior Informations Specialist for Multimedia News
Admissions, development and campus video

aljoneb@email.uky.edu

859-257-1754

Kristi Lopez
Director, Med Ctr. News Bureau
medical

kristi.lopez@uky.edu

859-257-1754

Meg Mills
Information Specialist
Education, Communication, Information Technology, Library Science, Human Development

margaret.mills@uky.edu

859-323-7978

Allison Perry
Public Relations Officer

allison.perry@uky.edu

859-323-2399

Lindsey Piercy
Information Specialist
Social Work, Humanities, Law, Engineering

lindsey.piercy@uky.edu

859-323-5613

Aaron Porter Jr.
Information Specialist
Podcasts, Video, Student Government, Student Organizations

appo223@g.uky.edu

Mallory Powell
Information Specialist Senior
Center for Clinical and Translational Science

mallory.powell@uky.edu

859-323-2395

Jenny Wells
Senior Information Specialist
Communications, financial aid, capital projects and audio

jenny.wells@uky.edu

859-257-5343

Laura Wright
Public Relations Officer
Neurology cardiology emergency medicine Alzheimer's Disease Aging

Laurawright@uky.edu

859-257-5307

Danielle Donham
Information Specialist - Law, Agriculture, Food and Environment, Graduate School, Public Policy

danielle.donham@uky.edu

859-562-2660

Mallory Olson

mallory.olson@uky.edu

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!
2.238