Our News on Newswise

UMN commercializes new variety of fast-growing tree

On the market for fast landscaping and more; research is underway for pollution clean-up, carbon capture, biomass feedstock crop.
1-Aug-2023 9:30 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: 632a0839d8d22_Low-ResDSC1913.JPG.png

Octopuses prefer certain arms when hunting and adjust tactics to prey

Famous for their eight arms, octopuses leverage all of their appendages to move, jet through the water and capture prey. But their movements can look awkward and seemingly unplanned at times, more closely resembling aliens than earthly creatures.
20-Sep-2022 2:40 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Research brief: diet type can increase potentially harmful gas in the gut

Published in Clinical Nutrition, researchers from the University of Minnesota Medical School looked at colonic hydrogen sulfide — a toxic gas in the body that smells like rotten eggs — production in people in response to animal- and plant-based...
3-May-2022 4:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Protecting local water has global benefits

A new paper in the May issue of Nature Communications demonstrates why keeping local lakes and other waterbodies clean produces cost-effective benefits locally and globally.
11-May-2021 3:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

U of M trial shows hydroxychloroquine does not prevent COVID-19 in health care workers

University of Minnesota Medical School physician researchers studied hydroxychloroquine as a treatment to prevent COVID-19 for those with high-risk for exposure to the virus - health care workers.
22-Oct-2020 2:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

UMN trial shows hydroxychloroquine has no benefit over placebo in preventing COVID-19

Today, University of Minnesota Medical School researchers published the results from the first randomized clinical trial testing hydroxychloroquine for the post-exposure prevention of COVID-19.
4-Jun-2020 3:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

New UMN Study: America's Wars Take Uneven Toll

In today's wars, Americans who die or are wounded in battle are disproportionately coming from poorer parts of the country, according to a new study released this week.
30-Aug-2016 12:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: spatial_skills_cover_cropped.jpg

Transit and Training Crucial to Connecting Unemployed with Jobs

According to a new University of Minnesota study, the mismatch between unemployed workers and job vacancies is a serious problem in the Twin Cities region and it appears to have worsened since the turn of the millennium. The biggest concentrations...
29-Jul-2016 10:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Our experts are coming soon...

About

About section not configured. Is this your member page? Login to edit, or contact member@newswise.com to configure this module.

Contacts

Ann Aronson
Chief Marketing Officer

aronson@umn.edu

Becky Beyers
Communications Director

bbeyers@umn.edu

612-625-1759

Sarah Bjorkman
Director of Communications, School of Public Health

bjor0180@umn.edu

Roger Boleman

bolemarp@morris.umn.edu

Kit Breshears
Assistant Program Director
College of Pharmacy

cbreshea@umn.edu

612-626-4211

Martha Coventry
Senior Editor at the School of Public Health

coven002@umn.edu

612-626-3750

Martha Douglas
Communications Director

mdouglas@umn.edu

612-626-9712

Martha Douglas

mdouglas@umn.edu

Tessa Eagan

teagan@umn.edu

Dan Gilchrest
Communications Director, Research Vice President Office

dang@umn.edu

Nora Hayes

nhayes@umn.edu

Jennifer Hedtke
Media Contact

jhedtke@umn.edu

612-624-5005

Robert Krueger
Professor of Clinical Psychology

krueg038@umn.edu

612-626-8541

Amy Leslie

johns423@umn.edu

Lisa Marshall

earle052@umn.edu

Jake Ricker
Director of Public Relations

rick0127@umn.edu

Brad Robideau
National Media Relations Consultant

brobidea@umn.edu

+1 612-625-8431

Glynis Shea

sheax011@umn.edu

Jerry Smith

smith495@umn.edu

Chuck Tombarge
Chief Public Relations Officer

tombarge@umn.edu

612-625-8510

Andria Waclawski
Assistant Director of Public Relations

andria@umn.edu

612-624-5551

Christie Wells
Communications Manager

cwells@umn.edu

(612) 626-3734

Michael Winikoff

michaelw@umn.edu

close
0.27168