Our News on Newswise

Newswise: 65bac0bf68fc3_hal-gatewoodunsplash.jpg

Likely next steps for Neuralink as first human trail gets underway

Neuralink's brain-computer interface technology is going to be a game-changer -- first for patients with paralysis and then for those with a more broad spectrum of neurological issues.
1-Feb-2024 8:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 65b016d26ddd4_NationalGrid240IStock.jpg

DOE program aims to enhance, protect America’s power grid

ASU is developing an underground construction tool that would deploy medium-voltage electrical cables and conduits simultaneously underground with a lower risk to existing utilities, also reducing costs and schedule impacts from reaming and duct...
23-Jan-2024 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 659c78b48315e_Resizedreefimage.jpg

Protecting coral 'nurseries' as important as safeguarding established reefs

When imagining corals, the picture that comes to mind is usually a stationary one: a garden of rock-like structures covering sections of the ocean floor. Reef conservation efforts typically focus on preserving established coral and protecting them...
8-Jan-2024 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 6581dfb6c613b_pexels-Reef.jpg

New research models critical climate collapse conditions in ecological and biological systems

ASU's Ying-Cheng Lai and team sought to find the probability of rate-induced tipping in the whole state space, then used the corresponding data to build a mathematical theory that could be applied generally to systems in the ecological and...
19-Dec-2023 1:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

ASU research reveals regions in U.S. where heat adaptation and mitigation efforts can most benefit future populations

New research published in the January issue of Nature Cities examines, for the first time, the potential benefits of combining heat adaptation strategies with mitigation strategies to lessen heat exposure across major U.S. cities. It also identifies...
15-Dec-2023 12:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 657a0b58dfe11_BradleyGregerAi.jpg

Artificial intelligence is revolutionizing medical research

Biomedical engineering researchers at Arizona State University are using artificial intelligence to accelerate medical advances.
14-Dec-2023 11:00 AM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: 656f7767a216a_ScreenShot2023-12-05at11.48.37AM.png

NIH awards $9 million for Indigenous-led Tribal Data Repository to improve community health in response to COVID-19 pandemic

In an effort to improve the health of Tribal communities and Indigenous people, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) has awarded $9 million in funding for Native scientists at Arizona State University and elsewhere to create the first...
5-Dec-2023 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Arizona State University’s research expenditures neared $800M in fiscal year 2022

ASU’s research enterprise has leaped forward again, according to the National Science Foundation’s Higher Education Research and Development (HERD) Survey. With $797.2 million in research expenditures for fiscal year 2022, ASU ranked No. 38...
4-Dec-2023 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

ASU expert says executive actions to support caregivers a step in the right direction

A set of executive actions by the Biden-Harris administration include directives to reduce childcare and long-term care costs, improving access to home-based care for veterans, addressing care workers’ rights and expanding support for family...
20-Apr-2023 5:45 PM EDT

Newswise: 63f53d54baca8_ChatGPTShakarian.jpg

Do the math: ChatGPT sometimes can't, expert says.

ASU Associate Professor Paulo Shakarian details results of a study in which he tested ChatGPT on 1,000 mathematical word problems. He's not sold on its reasoning ability.
21-Feb-2023 5:05 PM EST

Holiday humbug hits workforce this year

The holiday season is upon us once again. That means gift purchases, time with family and friends, and good tidings all around. But thousands of workers are part of a year-end trend that seems to be emerging: mass layoffs.
12-Dec-2022 5:20 PM EST

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

Arizona State University has developed a new model for the american research university, creating an institution committed to access, excellence and impact. ASU measures itself by those it includes, not by those it excludes. As the prototype for a New American University, ASU pursues research that contributes to the public good, and ASU assumes major responsibility for the economic, social and cultural vitality of the communities that surround it.

Experts

Contacts

Nikai Salcido
Media Relations Officer

nikai.salcido@asu.edu

972-821-2275

Suzanne Wilson
Sr. Media Relations Officer

Suzanne.Wilson.1@asu.edu

480-965-9681

Meenah Rincon
Public Relations Manager
ASU Online

herminia.rincon@asu.edu

480-727-3116

Joe Caspermeyer
Manager, Media Relations
Natural Sciences

Joseph.Caspermeyer@asu.edu

480-727-4858

Skip Derra
Director, Media Relations

skip.derra@asu.edu

480-965-4823

Theresa Grant
Sr. Media Relations Officer
Engineering

Theresa.Grant@asu.edu

520-907-2248

Robert Ewing
Marketing and Communications Manager

Robert.ewing@asu.edu

4424002672

Patrick McCann

patrick.mccann@asu.edu

Eliza Robinson
Sr Manager of Communications and Marketing Strategy

eliza.robinson@asu.edu

4807276193

Lanelle Strawder
Sr. Communications Manager, Engineering

Lanelle.Strawder@asu.edu

480-727-5618

Sarah Mason
Marketing Content Specialist, EdPlus
LightWorks

email@email.com

480-620-3129

Laura Fields
Marketing and Communication Manager

Laura.Fields@asu.edu

Elena Bras
Media Relations Officer, Media Relations and Strategic Communications

elena.bras@asu.edu

Annie Davis
Public Relations & Editorial Manager

annie.davis.1@asu.edu

361-425-9609

Kimberlee D’Ardenne
Science writer

dardenne@asu.edu

Steve Filmer

stephen.filmer@asu.edu

Jerry Gonzalez
Assistant Director, Media Relations and Strategic Communications

Gerardo.Gonzalez@asu.edu

480-727-7914

Kelly Jasper
Director, Content and Communications

kellyjasper@asu.edu

602-543-8062

Nicole Pomerantz
Communications Specalist

Nicole.Pomerantz@asu.edu

David Rozul
Media Relations Officer

david.rozul@asu.edu

480-727-8627

Veronica Sanchez
Director, Media Relations

Veronica.Sanchez.3@asu.edu

602 359-1138

Jay Thorne
Assistant VP, Media Relations and Strategic Communications

jay.thorne@asu.edu

Gary Werner
Senior Media Relations Officer

gary.werner@asu.edu

Twitter

close
1.27373