Our News on Newswise

Newswise: NOIRLablogo.jpg

Nighttime U.S. / International Astronomy Gets New Identity

NSF’s National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory, which in 2019 brought together NSF’s optical and infrared nighttime astronomy under one entity, will now go by the shortened name of NSF’s NOIRLab (no-wah-lab), abbreviated from...
3-Apr-2020 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Gemini South Telescope Captures Exquisite Planetary Nebula

The latest image from the international Gemini Observatory showcases the striking planetary nebula CVMP 1. This object is the result of the death throes of a giant star and is a glorious but relatively short-lived astronomical spectacle. As the...
24-Feb-2020 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

NSF’s Newest Solar Telescope Produces First Images

Just released first images from the National Science Foundation’s Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope reveal unprecedented detail of the Sun’s surface and preview the world-class products to come from this preeminent 4-meter solar telescope....
29-Jan-2020 1:50 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: oir2004a.jpg

NEID Exoplanet Instrument Sees First Light

The new NEID instrument, now installed at the 3.5-meter WIYN telescope at Kitt Peak National Observatory in Southern Arizona, USA, has made its first observations. The NSF-NASA funded instrument is designed to measure the motion of nearby stars with...
8-Jan-2020 3:15 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: A-frb_trim2-clean-CC-2K-enlarged_TARv2_A.png

Fast Radio Burst Observations Deepen Astronomical Mystery

Observations with the 8-meter Gemini North telescope, a program of the NSF’s National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory, have allowed astronomers to pinpoint the location of a Fast Radio Burst in a nearby galaxy — making it the...
6-Jan-2020 4:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

A Galactic Dance

Galaxies lead a graceful existence on cosmic timescales. Over millions of years, they can engage in elaborate dances that produce some of Nature’s most exquisite and striking grand designs. Few are as captivating as the galactic duo known as NGC...
12-Dec-2019 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: Mercury_Transit_trace-CC-1200-2.jpg

Mercury Transit Observed at Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory

About 13 times per century, fleeting Mercury can be seen passing directly in front of the Sun in what is called a transit. The most recent Mercury transit occurred on 11 November 11, 2019. While the path of Mercury across the Sun in fact traced a...
27-Nov-2019 5:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: oir1903a.jpg

DESI’s 5000 Eyes Open as Kitt Peak Telescope Prepares to Map Space and Time

A new instrument on the 4-m Mayall telescope has opened its array of thousands of fiber-optic “eyes” to the cosmos and successfully captured the light from distant galaxies. The milestone marks the beginning of final testing for the Dark Energy...
28-Oct-2019 2:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Our experts are coming soon...

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 46 US institutions and 4 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craferty@nso.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xzhang@gemini.edu

Twitter

close
0.73991