Add to Favorites Newsroom RSS Share
fb-shareAssociation of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA)
Washington, DC USA

Our News on Newswise

Newswise: CTIO-Sunset-2000.jpg

A Stroke of Astronomical Luck for Solar Science

On July 2, 2019 a total solar eclipse will pass over Chile and Argentina, and through a stroke of astronomical luck, the path of totality crosses directly over the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory located...
5-Jun-2019 4:25 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: blanco-mc-fireworks.jpg

Cosmic Fireworks in the Clouds: Volunteer Detectives Sought for Magellanic Clouds Cluster Search

Caught in a cosmic dance, our nearest neighbor galaxies, the Magellanic Clouds, are cartwheeling and circling each other as they fall toward our galaxy, the Milky Way. The gravitational interaction between the Clouds sparks cosmic fireworks—bursts...
27-Mar-2019 3:55 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: fig1color.png

Ultra-sharp Images Make Old Stars Look Absolutely Marvelous!

Using high-resolution adaptive optics imaging from the Gemini Observatory, astronomers have uncovered one of the oldest star clusters in the Milky Way Galaxy. The remarkably sharp image looks back into the early history of our Universe and sheds new...
26-Mar-2019 8:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites


see all news

Our Experts on Newswise

Our experts are coming soon...

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 46 US institutions and 4 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Ranpal Gill

rgill@lsst.org

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craferty@nso.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Twitter twitter-icon

Chat now!