Our News on Newswise

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/publicationjpg/noirlab2210a.jpg

Tololo captura un ballet galáctico a 60 millones de años luz de la Tierra

El par de galaxias en interacción NGC 1512 y NGC 1510 ocupan un lugar destacado en esta fotografía que las muestra en un proceso de fusión de 400 millones de años de edad y que ha provocado oleadas de formación estelar. La imagen fue obtenida...
3-May-2022 2:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/publicationjpg/noirlab2210a.jpg

Galactic Ballet Captured from NSF’s NOIRLab in Chile

The interacting galaxy pair NGC 1512 and NGC 1510 take center stage in this image from the US Department of Energy-fabricated Dark Energy Camera, a state-of-the art wide-field imager on the Víctor M. Blanco 4-meter Telescope at Cerro Tololo...
3-May-2022 9:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/large/noirlab2209a.jpg

Strong-Arming a Galaxy

The overdeveloped spiral arm of the galaxy NGC 772, which was created by tidal interactions with an unruly neighbor, dominates this observation made by astronomers using the Gemini North telescope located near the summit of Maunakea in Hawai‘i....
22-Mar-2022 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/large/noirlab2209a.jpg

Un brazo galáctico extra grande

El abultado brazo espiral de la galaxia NGC 772, que se formó por las interacciones de las fuerzas de mareas con un vecino revoltoso, destaca en esta imagen obtenida por los astrónomos que utilizan el telescopio Gemini Norte, ubicado cerca de la...
22-Mar-2022 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

U.S. NSF’s Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope Begins Science Operations Commissioning Phase

On Wednesday, February 23, 2022, the U.S. National Science Foundation’s (NSF’s) Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope (Inouye Solar Telescope) commenced its first science observations, signaling the start of its year-long operations commissioning...
24-Feb-2022 2:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/publicationjpg/noirlab2207a.jpg

Journey Through the Universe 2022

NOIRLab's Journey Through the Universe — returning with an online program this year — will share the wonders of the Universe and career awareness in science and technology with Hawaiʻi students. In partnership with the Hawaiʻi Department of...
22-Feb-2022 2:00 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/publicationjpg/noirlab2208a.jpg

Galaxia del Bailarín Español se divisa dando giros desde NOIRLab de NSF en Chile

Esta imagen obtenida por astrónomos utilizando la Cámara de Energía Oscura, fabricada por el Departamento de Energía de EE.UU., e instalada en Cerro Tololo, un programa de NOIRLab de NSF y observatorio AURA, capta la galaxia NGC 1566 mientras...
22-Feb-2022 1:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

Newswise: https://noirlab.edu/public/media/archives/images/publicationjpg/noirlab2208a.jpg

Spanish Dancer Galaxy Twirls into View from NSF’s NOIRLab in Chile

This image, taken by astronomers using the US Department of Energy-fabricated Dark Energy Camera at Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory, a Program of NSF’s NOIRLab, captures the galaxy NGC 1566 as it twirls, flinging its arms through the...
22-Feb-2022 1:25 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: 30Jan19updateV2-1.jpg

Sunspot cycle is stabilizing, according to worldwide panel of experts

A consortium of solar science experts, including Dr. Gordon Petrie of the NSF’s National Solar Observatory, declared consensus on the next solar cycle. The astronomers predict the next solar cycle will be very similar to the last one.
17-Sep-2020 12:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 47 US institutions and 3 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Kimberly Davis
Senior Administrative Assistant

kdavis@aura-astronomy.org

202-204-1340

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Amanda Kocz

amanda.kocz@noirlab.edu

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

National Solar Observatory

outreach@nso.edu

Vanessa Thomas
Public Information Officer

vanessa.thomas@noirlab.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xiaoyu.zhang@noirlab.edu

Twitter

close
0.49469