Our News on Newswise

Newswise: noirlab2106a.jpg

Shining a New Light on Dark Energy

The Dark Energy Survey has released a massive, public collection of astronomical data and calibrated images from six years of work. Containing data on nearly 700 million astronomical objects, this second data release in the Survey’s seven-year...
14-Jan-2021 11:05 AM EST Add to Favorites

Doubling the Number of Known Gravitational Lenses

Data from the DESI (Dark Energy Spectroscopic Instrument) Legacy Imaging Surveys have revealed over 1200 new gravitational lenses, approximately doubling the number of known lenses. Discovered using machine learning trained on real data, these...
13-Jan-2021 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

Mapping Our Sun’s Backyard

Astronomers have curated the most complete list of nearby brown dwarfs to date thanks to discoveries made by thousands of volunteers participating in the Backyard Worlds citizen science project. The list and 3D map of 525 brown dwarfs — including...
13-Jan-2021 4:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

Giant Map of the Sky Sets Stage for Ambitious DESI Survey

Astronomers using images from Kitt Peak National Observatory and Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory have created the largest ever map of the sky, comprising over a billion galaxies. The ninth and final data release from the ambitious DESI...
13-Jan-2021 4:35 PM EST Add to Favorites

The Earliest Supermassive Black Hole and Quasar in the Universe

The most distant quasar known has been discovered. The quasar, observed just 670 million years after the Big Bang, is 1000 times more luminous than the Milky Way. It is powered by the earliest known supermassive black hole, which weighs in at more...
12-Jan-2021 2:05 PM EST Add to Favorites

Deep Dive into a Galaxy Cluster

A stunning long-exposure observation from the Kitt Peak National Observatory reveals the spiral galaxy NGC 1003 in glorious detail. The deep observation also shows a treasure trove of background galaxies spread throughout the image.
8-Jan-2021 1:55 PM EST Add to Favorites

NSF's Inouye Solar Telescope Releases First Image of a Sunspot

The U.S. NSF’s Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope just released its first image of a sunspot. The telescope’s four-meter primary mirror will give the best views of the Sun from Earth throughout the next solar cycle. This image is an indication of...
4-Dec-2020 9:45 AM EST Add to Favorites

Dark Energy Camera Snaps Deepest Photo yet of Galactic Siblings

Images from the Survey of the MAgellanic Stellar History (SMASH) reveal a striking family portrait of our galactic neighbors — the Large and Small Magellanic Clouds. The images represent a portion of the second data release from the deepest, most...
1-Dec-2020 4:55 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: dunn_sun_image.jpg

Sunspot cycle is stabilizing, according to worldwide panel of experts

A consortium of solar science experts, including Dr. Gordon Petrie of the NSF’s National Solar Observatory, declared consensus on the next solar cycle. The astronomers predict the next solar cycle will be very similar to the last one.
17-Sep-2020 12:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 47 US institutions and 3 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craftery@nso.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xzhang@gemini.edu

Twitter

close
0.59731