Our News on Newswise

Dark Energy Survey Releases Most Precise Look at the Universe’s Evolution

In 29 new scientific papers, the Dark Energy Survey examines the largest-ever maps of galaxy distribution and shapes, extending more than 7 billion light-years across the Universe. The extraordinarily precise analysis, which includes data from the...
27-May-2021 4:35 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: SWPCGONGBfieldandHalpha.jpg

Critical solar observations from NSF’s GONG network now maintained by NOAA’s Space Weather Prediction Center

Recently, NSF's NSO successfully transitioned the processing of these important observations of the Sun’s magnetic field and lower atmosphere to the operational control of NOAA’s Space Weather Prediction Center (SWPC), a move that will ensure...
24-May-2021 4:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

By Jove! Jupiter Shows Its Stripes and Colors

Stunning new images of Jupiter from Gemini North and the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope showcase the planet at infrared, visible, and ultraviolet wavelengths of light. These views reveal details in atmospheric features such as the Great Red Spot,...
11-May-2021 2:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

An Astronomer’s Menagerie

This image of the dwarf galaxy Sextans B, taken with the Nicholas U. Mayall 4-meter Telescope at Kitt Peak National Observatory, a Program of NSF’s NOIRLab, contains a menagerie of astronomical objects, from bright stars in the foreground to...
29-Apr-2021 2:45 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: NSO_habitat_houses_1.jpg

NSF Donates 21 Housing Units to White Sands Habitat for Humanity

The prefabricated units are designed to be taken completely apart. The walls and roof fold down into two sections. Once disassembled, the houses can be shipped flat with each house fitting on two trailers.
12-Apr-2021 9:00 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Caught Speeding: Clocking the Fastest-Spinning Brown Dwarfs

Astronomers at Western University have discovered the most rapidly rotating brown dwarfs known. They found three brown dwarfs that each complete a full rotation roughly once every hour. That rate is so extreme that if these “failed stars”...
7-Apr-2021 2:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Black Hole Pairs Found in Distant Merging Galaxies

Astronomers have found two close pairs of quasars in the distant Universe. Follow-up observations with Gemini North spectroscopically resolved one of the distant quasar pairs, after their discovery with the Hubble Space Telescope and Gaia...
7-Apr-2021 2:10 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Unrivaled View of Galaxy Messier 106

This spectacular image highlights the majestic spiral galaxy Messier 106 and its diminutive neighbors, as well as a dense field of background galaxies and foreground stars. This may be the best view yet of Messier 106 in its entirety, showing both...
16-Mar-2021 5:05 PM EDT Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Newswise: dunn_sun_image.jpg

Sunspot cycle is stabilizing, according to worldwide panel of experts

A consortium of solar science experts, including Dr. Gordon Petrie of the NSF’s National Solar Observatory, declared consensus on the next solar cycle. The astronomers predict the next solar cycle will be very similar to the last one.
17-Sep-2020 12:40 PM EDT

See All Experts

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 47 US institutions and 3 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Kimberly Davis
Senior Administrative Assistant

kdavis@aura-astronomy.org

202-204-1340

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Amanda Kocz

amanda.kocz@noirlab.edu

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craftery@nso.edu

Vanessa Thomas
Public Information Officer

vanessa.thomas@noirlab.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xzhang@gemini.edu

Twitter

close
0.36372