Our News on Newswise

Newswise: A-DistantQuasar700MillionYears.jpg

Monster Black Hole Found in the Early Universe

Astronomers have discovered the second most distant quasar ever found, using the international Gemini Observatory and Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory (CTIO), Programs of NSF’s NOIRLab. It is also the first quasar to receive an indigenous...
25-Jun-2020 11:05 AM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: A-GPI-Gemini-collage-3.png

Young Planets Bite the Dust

These orange swirls of dust are snapshots from the largest collection of sharp, detailed images of dusty debris disks around young stars — published this week by an international group of astronomers. The images — captured by the 8-meter Gemini...
24-Jun-2020 12:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Gemini Gets Lucky and Takes a Deep Dive Into Jupiter’s Clouds

Researchers using a technique known as “lucky imaging” with the Gemini North telescope on Hawaii’s Maunakea have collected some of the highest resolution images of Jupiter ever obtained from the ground. These images are part of a multi-year...
7-May-2020 3:00 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Small but Mighty

Barnard’s Galaxy, a dwarf galaxy neighboring the Milky Way, is revealed in this stunning image from the Victor. M. Blanco 4-m telescope at the Cerro Tololo Inter-American Observatory, a program of NSF’s NOIRLab. The image reveals regions of...
17-Apr-2020 4:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Gemini Detects Most Energetic Wind from Distant Quasar

Researchers using the Gemini North telescope on Hawaiʻi’s Maunakea have detected the most energetic wind from any quasar ever measured. This outflow, which is travelling at nearly 13% of the speed of light, carries enough energy to dramatically...
15-Apr-2020 6:30 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: hill.jpg

Frank Hill Retires from the NSO

One of the National Science Foundation’s National Solar Observatory’s longest serving scientists, Frank Hill, retired March 30, 2020, capping more than 35-years of tenure. He held a variety of roles including assistant astronomer, scientist,...
7-Apr-2020 12:20 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Newswise: NOIRLablogo.jpg

Nighttime U.S. / International Astronomy Gets New Identity

NSF’s National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory, which in 2019 brought together NSF’s optical and infrared nighttime astronomy under one entity, will now go by the shortened name of NSF’s NOIRLab (no-wah-lab), abbreviated from...
3-Apr-2020 3:50 PM EDT Add to Favorites

Gemini South Telescope Captures Exquisite Planetary Nebula

The latest image from the international Gemini Observatory showcases the striking planetary nebula CVMP 1. This object is the result of the death throes of a giant star and is a glorious but relatively short-lived astronomical spectacle. As the...
24-Feb-2020 3:05 PM EST Add to Favorites


See All News

Our Experts on Newswise

Our experts are coming soon...

Our YouTube Videos

About

The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a consortium of 46 US institutions and 4 international affiliates that operates world-class astronomical observatories for the National Science Foundation and NASA. AURA’s role is to establish, nurture, and promote public observatories and facilities that advance innovative astronomical research. In addition, AURA is deeply committed to public and educational outreach, and to diversity throughout the astronomical and scientific workforce. AURA carries out its role through its astronomical facilities.

Contacts

Ranpal Gill
Head of Communications

rgill@lsst.org

+1 318 520 8509

Shari Lifson
Corporate Communications Coordinator Washington D.C.

slifson@aura-astronomy.org

1 202 769-5232

Dionne Makila
Corporate Office Bussiness and Administration Manager

dmakila@aura-astronomy.org

202-483-2101

Kristen Metzger

KMetzger@lsst.org

Peter Michaud
PIO Manager & Managing Editor, GeminiFocus
Astronomy

pmichaud@gemini.edu

808-974-2510

Joan Najita
Chief Scientist, Press Officer

najita@noao.edu

Mark Newhouse

newhouse@noao.edu

Leonor Opazo

lopazo@ctio.noao.edu

Manuel Paredes

mparedes@gemini.edu

Claire Raftery

craferty@nso.edu

John Williams

jwilliams@nso.edu

Xiaoyu Zhang
Librarian

xzhang@gemini.edu

Twitter

close
0.65257